We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is great, service not so much.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tahoe City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is great, service not so much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

When I booked online, I asked for a fridge in the Special Requests box. We checked in and got to our room and noticed there wasn't a fridge. When we inquired at the front desk they apologized and said there weren't any more fridges available. We explained that we requested one days ago and their response was that they try to meet requests, but they are on a first come, first serve basis and they were all given out. What? Hopefully the sunrise from the hammock tomorrow morning will make up for that!

Room Tip: Building D is close to the beach but not right on top of the live music that is quite loud on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    269
    118
    45
    38
See reviews for
323
337
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having our holiday to Honolulu cancelled because of storms was disappointing, but arriving at this hotel at Lake Tahoe was some consolation. It was extremely clean and beautifully furnished - there was no evidence of the shabby carpets that other people mentioned. We stayed in B Block, were able to park under our room and had stunning views of the lake. The staff were efficient and helpful and there were good restaurants within walking distance. I agree the soap dispenser was tacky and it would have been nice to have a table on the balcony, but these are such minor things that the location more than made up for them. The pool area is good and the late night films for kids were a good idea - people with an aversion to dogs may want to stay somewhere else, as although I'm an animal lover, I found it strange that dogs were allowed around the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhianastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent location and if lucky enough to have a room in Building B the views are awesome. Rooms are quite small but comfortable and clean. Upon arrival at 3PM we were told our room would not be ready for an hour, so we had to wait. In asking if anything could be done for our inconvenience we were told no by the desk clerk and then the manager. Not to accommodating. The next day our room was clean by 11AM and we were not even checking out. Also I would definitely pass on the restaurant on the pier. Food was good when we finally got it an hour and a half after being seated. When we inquired because 3 tables coming in after us were served first (and we did have reservations) we were told there was a mix up because of a new cook. They did comp our dinner by $20.00.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for building B if you want a lake view that does not look out over a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank softballqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The beautiful part of this stay is the beach, and the pier. The hotel is built to take complete advantage of the beautiful beach, and views. They have done an excellent job of making the beach services accessible.

The room was acceptable. Small, and carpeting is in need of repair. There is a soap dispenser in the shower perfectly placed to hit you as you bathe, reminding you of how you really need to get back on the diet wagon. When I booked "lakeview" I presumed it would be a complete view, but the only that are unobstructed are "beachfront".
Our room was dirty. There was a dog collar wrapper left under the table from the prior guest, which was disconcerting, because as much as I like dogs, I always thought hotel rooms were separated by animal use. They have tried to combine decor for both beach and ski, and instead of seeming trendy and fitting both needs, just seems cluttered, and confused.

Upon check in, the staff barely made eye contact, and not even a 'how are you?'. The manager was within several feet and no one seemed to notice that the staff's body language clearly indicated, 'I don't care'. Upon check out, there was not one even pretend to care of "How was your stay?" or even, 'Enjoy your day".

Could have been worse, and we've paid far more for less in Europe. The management needs to be careful, and the staff would really benefit from an attitude revamp--they displayed very poor customer service skills.

Room Tip: Lakeview actually is partial, and Beachfront is full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjberms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved this place. The location, right on the beach, can't be beat. The views are fabulous. There is a great restaurant (The Beach) adjacent to the hotel. The rooms are dated, but we didn't care. They were clean, big, had great balconies, and the grounds were lovely. There are hammocks on the beach and a lovely pool and spa. The resort is pretty spread out, and there is an elevator. The bathroom had a huge tub/spa and an enormous counter - so handy. The bed was pretty comfortable (for me that means not too hard).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location and activities are really the best thing going for the place. The beach was great and we rented jet skis, paddle boards, and paddle boat. We walked from the back door of our room to the sand and had a great view from our beach front windows.

The rooms lacked micro wave, fridge, a tub, or much space. They have fridges avail if you check in early enough. The carpets were well worn which is expected with a location so close to the beach. Hotel staff were, with the exception of the bartender, mildly helpful. Over the course of our four day stay, we asked for recommendations for local restaurants, beach towels, and lounge chairs. Each time the front desk clerk promised a return call or delivery. Each time we had to fend for ourselves. Walking to the front desk was more successful than calling. One desk clerk was downright rude, the others were friendly, just lacking follow-thru. Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

So we booked a trip around California and scheduled 2 days at the beautiful lake Tahoe. Firstly, why did we choose the South side? Next, despite the reviews, why did we go for this shabby and outdated motel? The place is on a major road, so is never quiet. We went for the family suite, as this gave us 2 rooms and a mini-Kitchen. Sadly no bathroom: it was a shower and toilet, with a sink in a separate room...for 4 people!!! I have never seen a bathroom so small in a regular hotel. Beware that "garden view rooms" are really car park view rooms. Air con is so loud as to be unusable at night. Yes, the TVs are circa 1980 design. The room was clean but run down...needs a refurb. Breakfast was strangely peaceful...until you eat it and understand why everyone has gone over the road/4 lane highway to Safeways to buy food...indigestible. Son was ill. And the place is quite pricey in July. The positives are all outside. Lake Tahoe is beautiful. The hotel is right in the beach and the beach is clean, the water is cool, clear and fresh...very safe to swim, infact you can wade out a long way and see the bottom, it is so clear. Next door to the hotel is the pier restaurant where the food is average, but the drinks and atmosphere are great. We hung out in the pier most evenings, once seeing a sunset and moonrise within minutes. We ate at the restaurant, which has great service, but average food (rare steak comes as well done).

So if this hotel was anywhere else in America it would be one star / poor and I might even be asking for a refund. But this is harsh, and the local area around Lake Tahoe is so magical that I'll be nice enough to give 2 stars.

Room Tip: Refuse a garden view room...they're just car park view rooms and are noisy. Go for lake front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing