We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was slightly above average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It was slightly above average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When I booked a King-lakefront; I guess I was expecting a little more.

The room was small. Not particularly a killer but again the expectations were much higher. And "lakefront" was really "lake-partial-view-at-a-slant". Kind of annoying on top of that is when you sit on the small balcony; the railing is right at eye height. So you either stand on the deck and enjoy the partial lake view or stare at the railing. And when I say small ... the bathroom reminded me of a cruise-ship.

However, I will say that our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It was enjoyable to walk the long pier in the evenings.

The other slight disappointments was the lack of small refrigerator and microwave. Also the TV was an old CRT ... which are starting to become dinosaurs in their own right. We stayed in an ~old hotel in Truckee the night before that had a HD flat screen.

So the question of staying here again comes down to cost. If BRL@T was a decent discount to other lakeside property, then I might stay here again. But at even money; I would find another option.

Room Tip: There are only 16 LakeFront rooms and most others are partial-view. If it matters to you, be specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaPeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    199
    88
    37
    26
See reviews for
234
250
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Beach Retreat as part of a family vacation in the Reno/Tahoe area. The hotel was in a great location right on Lake Tahoe with its own beach. The staff was helpful, pleasant, and exceeded what would be expected from a 2.5 star property. We stayed in a family suite, which provided room to spread out and a fireplace. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The property is not large so access to the beach is easy from any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
ElGuru71,
Thanks so much for staying with us and we are glad you had such a good time. Be sure to come back this summer for Summer of Sun and Fun, starting June 21. Later today, our website will have all of the details. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice king room w/fireplace & balcony - beautiful view of the lake & pier! The 2 restaurants on site had really good food & service! Enjoyed the private beach & pool, staff was friendly & helpful, nice room decor. We got a great value w/Travel Zoo deal, staying 2 nights w/a $40.00 food credit for $169.00!!! We checked into staying an extra night, but it would have been $139.00! Quick taxi service to casinos! Safeway is right across the street & there's a easy walking/bike trail out front that takes you to a nearby park w/awesome scenery & public beach. Can't wait to go back & would highly recommend-dog friendly too! :) Lots of amenities!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rini_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We bought a Bloomspot voucher for an upgraded King Lakeview room - but ran into some bumps because the voucher was not specific in saying that these rooms are not pet friendly (we were going to bring dogs). The hotel made an exception for us, which was nice, but the way the woman on the phone sounded, it was like she was bending over backwards for us and we should be SOOOO grateful (even though I had spoken to someone at the hotel when I told them I was bringing 2 dogs and was in a lakeview room and was not told anything that time about the room not being pet-friendly).

This property used to be a Best Western. If I had done my research, I would have known that before buying the voucher. Shame on me. The room was small and the carpet perpetually felt slightly damp. The bed was too soft and sagged a bit in the middle. Because the room opened to the outside, you can hear people in the parking lot.

Very disappointed overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Atlanta14,
Please accept our apologies for your less than fantastic stay. We do love having pets at the Beach Retreat, but we reserve specific garden view rooms for our four-legged friends. Thank you for pointing out the confusion -- we will make sure all of our staff members are up-to-date on all programs and policies.
We are in the middle of a guest room renovation, and it should be complete by the end of the month. We hope you will come back and give us another change, especially with all of the activities and programs we have going on this summer. Thank you for letting us know your experience and let me know if you return and what we can do to make that experience a much better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmersville, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at this hotel. The beds are comfortable and the linens seemed new. We suggest the beach rooms. The view of the lake is fantastic. The staff was extra nice and accommodating. Vickie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arriving in May from England after the ski season the hotel was still busy. We paid a little extra to get a room over looking the lake and it was well worth it....The room was clean with a gas fire and A/C if needed....view from balcony was wonderful showing the lake and the mountains. Room was 20 seconds from the beach and hotel had a pool as well .....did not try the restaurant as Tahoe have plenty to choose from and the casinos are only 5 minutes away ....Overall an ideal location and hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Payable little extra and get a room on"B"block over looking the lake for a great view. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked through Expedia - it was a GREAT DEAL and we were looking forward to what the trip had to offer. We were hoping to enjoy the beach! Unfortunately, the weather was poor (rainy and cold) and we did not get to take advantage of what the hotel had to offer.

PROS:
- Central location to South Lake Tahoe - easy access to lots of shopping, restaurants, and casinos
- Beach front property and very picturesque
- WiFi was easy to use and about 5mbps down 1mbps up

CONS:
- The room was EXTREMELY small (estimated 300 sq.ft. which includes the bathroom space)
- The service we received was below par and was unwilling to work with us
- The beach was littered with goose and duck droppings
- The tv seemed like it would die at times
- No microwave and mini fridge
- Their sister restaurant did not offer room service and Kitchen34Eleven seemed pricey
- We charged a $50/day deposit, which was not disclosed upfront

Given that the weather was not cooperating, we had to spend more time in the room than we had previously planned. When we got there, it looked like they did NOT have full capacity and they had their "VACANCY" sign lit up the whole 4 days we spent there. We were placed in the 2nd floor - to which we had concerns about noise. We requested for us to be moved to the 3rd floor and we were told that "they did not have anything available". When we got to our room, we were wondering where our "Lake view" was - but the lake was visible from the porch toward the back. As mentioned, we tried to order room service... We were happy that we got pizza delivered without issue.

The fireplace/heater worked great - but can get loud when you are sleeping. Between that and the noise from the guest above, sometimes falling back asleep was futile. We found out the next day we were charged a "$50/day deposit" - which wasn't an issue, but would have been nice for the front desk to divulge that info when we first checked in.

The place has a lot of potential. It has a great location and very romantic setting. I think hotel service could be better - and despite the small room, better amenities can be offered.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel, try to get a room on the 3rd floor as noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValerioV122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ValerioV122,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We apologize that our services did not meet your expectations and want to do all that we can to remedy that. As you may know, we have a new name and new ownership as of December 1, 2012. We are in the process of making a lot of changes, both to the physical property and to the service standards. We are currently renovating our rooms, so that may have been the reason a 3rd floor room was not available. I am curious as to which room you were in, as the fireplace should not make any noise at all, and we want to make sure the one in your room is repaired.

You are so right when you say that the property has a lot of potential. Over the next several months, a lot of changes and updates will be happening, including launching a summer program with daily activities (rain or shine!). I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again. If so, please ask for me or for our general manager as we would like to apologize in person and see if there is anything we can do to make your next stay absolutely delightful.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Sundt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#2 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing