We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quiet location”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arriving in May from England after the ski season the hotel was still busy. We paid a little extra to get a room over looking the lake and it was well worth it....The room was clean with a gas fire and A/C if needed....view from balcony was wonderful showing the lake and the mountains. Room was 20 seconds from the beach and hotel had a pool as well .....did not try the restaurant as Tahoe have plenty to choose from and the casinos are only 5 minutes away ....Overall an ideal location and hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Payable little extra and get a room on"B"block over looking the lake for a great view. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    295
    134
    54
    46
See reviews for
394
383
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked through Expedia - it was a GREAT DEAL and we were looking forward to what the trip had to offer. We were hoping to enjoy the beach! Unfortunately, the weather was poor (rainy and cold) and we did not get to take advantage of what the hotel had to offer.

PROS:
- Central location to South Lake Tahoe - easy access to lots of shopping, restaurants, and casinos
- Beach front property and very picturesque
- WiFi was easy to use and about 5mbps down 1mbps up

CONS:
- The room was EXTREMELY small (estimated 300 sq.ft. which includes the bathroom space)
- The service we received was below par and was unwilling to work with us
- The beach was littered with goose and duck droppings
- The tv seemed like it would die at times
- No microwave and mini fridge
- Their sister restaurant did not offer room service and Kitchen34Eleven seemed pricey
- We charged a $50/day deposit, which was not disclosed upfront

Given that the weather was not cooperating, we had to spend more time in the room than we had previously planned. When we got there, it looked like they did NOT have full capacity and they had their "VACANCY" sign lit up the whole 4 days we spent there. We were placed in the 2nd floor - to which we had concerns about noise. We requested for us to be moved to the 3rd floor and we were told that "they did not have anything available". When we got to our room, we were wondering where our "Lake view" was - but the lake was visible from the porch toward the back. As mentioned, we tried to order room service... We were happy that we got pizza delivered without issue.

The fireplace/heater worked great - but can get loud when you are sleeping. Between that and the noise from the guest above, sometimes falling back asleep was futile. We found out the next day we were charged a "$50/day deposit" - which wasn't an issue, but would have been nice for the front desk to divulge that info when we first checked in.

The place has a lot of potential. It has a great location and very romantic setting. I think hotel service could be better - and despite the small room, better amenities can be offered.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel, try to get a room on the 3rd floor as noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValerioV122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ValerioV122,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We apologize that our services did not meet your expectations and want to do all that we can to remedy that. As you may know, we have a new name and new ownership as of December 1, 2012. We are in the process of making a lot of changes, both to the physical property and to the service standards. We are currently renovating our rooms, so that may have been the reason a 3rd floor room was not available. I am curious as to which room you were in, as the fireplace should not make any noise at all, and we want to make sure the one in your room is repaired.

You are so right when you say that the property has a lot of potential. Over the next several months, a lot of changes and updates will be happening, including launching a summer program with daily activities (rain or shine!). I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again. If so, please ask for me or for our general manager as we would like to apologize in person and see if there is anything we can do to make your next stay absolutely delightful.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Sundt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked my reservation from the living social I purchased. Being a business owner who has worked with groupon I understood the compromises you make with purchasing a discounted service. I called to schedule my dates and was sooooo happy with the service I received from the staff. Soo accommodating because it will be my honeymoon! After reading all the reviews and after experiencing such amazing customer service I can't wait! I never travel without my ear plugs so I am definitely looking forward to this amazing trip! My trip will be May 13-16

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was traveling with my 85 pound German Sheppard dog. It's not easy to find hotels willing to accept large dogs. This hotel was GREAT. A perfect location on the south end of Lake Tahoe with easy access to Stateline. I'd stay there again with or without the dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CanukChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a group of 10 and booked 5 lake view rooms. All of the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Allthough small, we all thought they had a warm and cozy feeling. The setting is lovely, right on a private beach with access to water sports and activities. There is a nice little restaurant and bar located on their pier which is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the spectacular Tahoe views. I don't recommend the lobby restaurant though, we had breakfast there and the food and service was not good. There are alot of other places to go within walking distance. There are some things you should consider before booking this place.
-Bring ear plugs, the heaters are really loud and you might have a barking dog next door.
-If you don't REALLY like dogs, this probably isn't the place for you. There are alot of them running around. We were there at low season so the price was good, I'm not sure the high season price is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms in building B, they are right at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places on earth and when I visit, I prefer to stay right by Stateline, but sometimes that just can't happen and this time, I'm glad I couldn't! I ended up staying at The Beach Retreat & Lodge and I loved it. When I drove up, I was a little concerned because it looks a little old and maybe a little outdated, but I was pleasantly surprised all the way around. The room was nice with a gas fireplace and nice hardwood molding throughout. The bathroom is small but plenty enough room to clean up.

I loved the location right on the beach and the nice pier and restaurant on the pier too, but the real gem for me was their restaurant located i the lobby! The food was good, the prices extremely reasonable and the staff was very nice.

While this might not be a 5 star location, I would highly recommend this location for all types of travelers, as I believe they have something for everyone, including free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank im2tlkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice hotel for an average stay with a friend before hitting the slopes. Friendly staff, clean rooms, a queen is really for 1 person only. Enjoyed the hot tub, and almost enjoyed sleeping too, if the air vented heater was not turning on super loud every 15 minutes. The only option was turning it off, then found ourselves freezing. Wonder how other guests could sleep, noone mentioned the issue.
Result: slept about 2 hours and went to ski exhausted. Solution: stay here in the summer only, or bring ear plugs, or get so wasted that no noise will bother you, or try to warm up in some other ways... or just take the ski bus.

Room Tip: Bring earlplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing