We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISSAPOINTED THEY GOT RID OF THE FREE BREAKFAST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here 3 times before when it was the Best Western (not sure why it's not anymore). Anyways, one reason why we stayed at the Best Western before, was the fantastic complementary breakfast buffet. We were very upset that when the hotel was sold, they no longer offer the breakfast. They wanted to charge like $16 for adult and $8 kid for breakfast. Ridiculous! The restaurant was 100% empty (breakfast and dinner) the entire week we stayed there. The breakfast was very convenient before, especially with kids, and also for eating before hitting the ski slopes. The jacuzzi is too small also. It would be nicer if they added a second jacuzzi out by the pool. Great views, very convenient parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Retreat over the weekend and booked it through Expedia. Great place. Great view. Great price. Pet friendly hotel. Our room was on B-109 and you can see from my image below that your view of the lake and the Boathouse. The TV can use some upgrade - still have the "tube" and unable to connect any external devices, such as Xbox. The bed size seems to be more of a full size bed instead of two queen size beds. The room we stayed in had fire place (gas) kept us warm in our room.The place is near Safeway, CVS and other restaurants, all at a walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rheaigarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Paid extra to get a lake-view room. Was worth it. They have full size beds in their double beds though. The fireplace was fantastic! Parking is pretty convenient. The hotel also has beach access. Would be even better in the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Location was great, room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace was a nice touch. Service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for simple clean convenient stay while In Tahoe.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaytonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great place to stay for a view of Lake Tahoe. Kids were able to play on the beach and in the snow. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms have gas fireplace and are very cozy. The beach is very nice and in the winter there is a small hill to sled on. The longest pier out into the lake is right at the hotel and is a nice walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor with a view of the lake open right up to the Lake Tahoe beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked online at the hotel website for a beach facing 2 double bed room. Arrived at the hotel, and they couldn't find reservation. They have 2 systems (pegasus and their own) and my reservation didn't get recorded on their hotel system. They commented that this is a constant issue for them and next time please use expedia or call directly. Half an hour later, I got keys to a single bed room. Went back and this time got keys to two double bed, parking lot facing at the price of beach facing. Went back and corrected rate. I thought that they are having growing pains after converting from Best Western until I saw my credit card bill. I was billed twice, once by the hotel and second time (their claim) pegasus. I have called and left message for their manager 4 times so far. No return calls. Now I am working with credit card company to remove fraudulent charge.

Room Tip: Watch your credit card for fraudulent charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NalNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

My apologies for what you recently experienced while staying with us. Though I am so sorry about the series of things that happened, I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know, so that we can address each of these issues, discover the breakdown, and fix the problem.

As you mentioned, we are going through many changes and one of those is to work to ensure that each guest is relaxed, feels take care of, and has a fantastic experience. This obviously is not what you experienced, so if you would please call me and leave your email or phone number, I would like to chat with you and discuss. Neither myself nor any managers I have spoken with have received any messages, so please ask for me directly. Thank you, and I hope we will see you again as a guest at The Beach Retreat.

Steven Scheck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Plus: Parking in front of room door makes ski gear loading/unloading easy
Room is not horrible once you're inside. Think remodeled 1960's TravelLodge with 2003 design.
Walk across parking lot for breakfast at Heidi's

Cons:
Well, it's not really even 3-stars now, is it?
It's a budget place. Next time I'll skip Hotwire and book a place I know for a few bucks extra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
521 reviews
1 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $113 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing