We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former BW Timber Cove Lodge, Great Summer Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
415 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Former BW Timber Cove Lodge, Great Summer Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This review is for the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, the old Best Western Timber Cove and it is for a summer stay.

It is a great summer location, right on the lake, close to golfing, Starbucks, Safeway and many other things that we found really helpful.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and it was ideal for a couple of days stay for us as we were up to visit friends in the SLT area.

it might not be my first choice in the winter for skiing, but then again, with the great rates they seem to give out for winter, I might live with the distance to the lifts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    221
    96
    39
    32
See reviews for
265
263
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My only gripe with this property was that they did not completely honor my original terms of booking, which was done when the hotel was still a Best Western Property. they did not honor the free breakfast, which was one of the primary reasons I had booked this place (since we were traveling with kids). That said, their in house restaurant 34-Eleven is plain horrible. The service blatantly inexcusable, and the food always arrived cold - so much for made to order hot breakfast!

The hotel room itself was very nice. Our sheet were done and towels replaced while we were out. Lake view and an in-room fireplace was just what we wanted. Everything about the room was as promised during the original booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apsinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed over late December for a ski holiday.

The lake view is unbeatable. Our room was 50 feet from the shoreline. True they do not have refrigerators, but in winter we just used the balcony.

It is 2 minutes from Ski Run Blvd. Has ski rentals next door, a CVS two doors down, and a Safeway across the street. It is 1.5 miles from Stateline, which has the casinos and two cinemaplexes.

The lobby is very nice, fireplace, comfy sofas, a bar and a restaurant. I went there in the morning when my wife was still sleeping.

I had the breakfast burrito in the lobby restaurant, 34eleven. Service from Hector was excellent and the food was very good.

The lodge is well staffed for a place the rents rooms for $100 a night. I saw them wipe down the doors and windows in the lobby at 7 am. They put out a water dispenser filled with ice and sliced mixed citrus.

The maintenance man works from dawn till dusk clearing snow and I saw him put on a guest's chains for them. My room needed some minor maintenance, so I filed a report on the way out. Remember to do that when you leave in case I get your room next time :-) The parking lot was much better maintained the lots at Harrahs and Harveys.

The lodge allows pets, which is not a plus for me and my tortoise, but the dog people seemed pretty happy. Suggest that the resort not allow pets in top floor rooms to keep them cleaner and fresher for non-pet people.

Was pleasantly surprised at the price. In summer they charge 2 to 4 times more than in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trakkarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was the first time for us as a family to go there & stay. We took all 4 of our dogs from the bully to the chihuahua & all of them were welcomed. We not only got a room to accompany all 6 of us humans but also the pets. They had access to the grass area right outside the room with front & back doors. Not only that we had partial view to the lake also. Just a few feet away from the pier & the sand area. Loved the place, loved the service & loved the view.

Room Tip: Have your utensils, water & plates with you in case you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blancetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#19 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing