We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I would go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Hut Cafe

The Red Hut Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“I would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Went for breakfast. In and out in 30 mins. Waffle and bacon were really good. Not great coffee. My husband liked their sausage and hash brown. Good size portions. Our bill was 23$

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    252
    75
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow, we ordered ice cream after a busy day hiking in the hills, thinking we'd thoroughly deserved the treat. Not only were the ice creams fantastic, they were so big we couldn't manage dinner. Nice staff too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had breakfast here each morning of our visit to Tahoe. Everyone of them were terrific. Our son is a coffee professional, and he love the espresso he got here each day. The servers were always attentive and courteous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank allenwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“YUM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love breakfast food. It is one of my most favorite things in the world! So, after reading reviews about the Red Hut Cafe and I told my husband we must go! I am SO glad we did. I had the waffle with chicken apple sausage. The waffle was amazing! It was cooked perfectly! My husband had pancakes, eggs and bacon and somehow managed to eat it all. He said his was delicious as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
“Poor food, poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family went to the new Red Hut Cafe on Ski Run based on the good reviews on this website. We couldn't be disappointed more.
1. We ordered banana waffle which was terrible. The waffle was so plain.
2. My cheese & avocado omelet had no taste at all. The cook simply blended the ingredients together and the outcome was a disaster.
3. My husband & daughter's hamburgers were very dry. The french fries were over cooked.
4. The waitress forgot about our coffee orders. Our coffee arrived with the meals. It's also very hard to get her to refill the coffee. The coffee was very week. Poor quality.
Although they did a good job in designing the cafe, it has a retro, cheerful style; however, you cannot eat the decor. Don't go there if you are expecting a decent breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Hut Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Red Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing