We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You can take the gal out of Texas, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Richardson Corral

Camp Richardson Corral
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Camp Richardson Corral offers horseback rides through Lake Tahoe national forest. All tours are guided and at a walk. Trail rides may include beautiful views of Lake Tahoe, Fallen Leaf Lake, Taylor Creek, along with beautiful mountain meadows and forests.We also offer hay wagon rides, pony rides, pack trips and boarding facilities.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can take the gal out of Texas, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can't take Texas out of the gal. We love to take a trail ride while at Lake Tahoe. It was our 3rd time to use the Camp Richardson Stable. Good riding stock tailored to fit your riding experience - or the lack thereof. Such a pleasure to breathe the mountain air - or dust, if you bring up the rear!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BoerneMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Won't come back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I made a reservation for a Tuesday ride at 12:00 noon for 6 people. I called the Sunday before my ride to see if I could add to my group and was told that at 6 people our group was full and could not add.

When our group arrived the day of our reservation i was told we showed up the wrong day and our reservation wasfor Wednesday instead. No apology or consolation for their mistake, I was just told that i showed up the wrong day and that my reservation was for Wednesday. Never mind we would have never made a reservation for a day some of us would not even be in Tahoe.

Mistakes happen and a sincere apology would have gone a long way. The corral uses a handwritten book to make reservations and it's easy to see how they can make a mistake.
They obviously have more business they can deal with and aren't too concerned if they mess up somebodys vacation.

I won't be back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't wait to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We plan on camping here within the next few summers. It is absolutely beautiful. There are more public (busy) beaches as well as more private beaches. The trails are well-kept. Bikes are readily accessible for rental. Cabins can be rented by the week for $800.00 which is fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelswillroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a fun ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The views are spectacular, the guides are well informed and concerned about your safety. A fantastic way to spend some time and "feel" the abundance of nature all around you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank coqui_coqui_jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Riding in Sierras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Horseback riding in the Sierras. If you have kids and would like to introduce them to these great animals known as horses, why not down at Camp Richardson. The trail ride is perfect for all abilities. Still to this day when I get on these guys they make me a little nervous. What stuck out to me with Camp Richardson is their guys seemed anything but nervous with me on their backs riding them. For the money, can't beat this ride.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLOSED Blacklig... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Richardson Corral also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Camp Richardson Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing