We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of Lakeside Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Lakeside Lodge
Living Room & TV Living and Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Front of Lakeside Lodge
Living Room & TV
Living and Dining Room
Living and Dining Room
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with Fireplace
Master Bath
2nd Bedroon - Queen Bed
2nd Bathroom
3rd Bedroom - Two DOuble Beds
4th Bedroom - Queen and Single Bed
5th Bedroom
Bath to Lake/Beach
Stairs down to 'Private' Beach
Map of Location
Stateline casinos, spas and nightclubs 3 miles away ($10 cab)
Heavenly 2 miles away - on bus route
El Dorado Beach is 3 blocks away
El Dorado Beach food and shops
El Dorado Beach kayak, paddle board, etc. rentals
Summer concerts at El Dorado Beach
Regan Beach with kids playground is 4 blocks away
Regan Beach hosts many weddings
Dog friendly beach 1 block away
Edgewood Glof Course 4 miles away
Emerald Bay 20 minutes away
Zepher Cove 20 minutes away
Walk down to the sunset at the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom D
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained, poorly managed”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
9
people found this review helpful

My family and I have stayed in many vacation rentals, and we even own one, so I know of what I speak.

The owner appears to want to get as much money out of this place while doing the absolute minimum to keep it maintained. For example, several of the cook pans were absolutely disgusting. Another example, the electricity wasn't working in the dining room area. After many calls, and several nights eating in the dark, the owner finally sent over some extension cords for us to rig up a light near the dining room table. (The outlets still did not work.) When these cords were brought to us the excuse was, "he's got another house that has a hot water heater out." Really? So he will NEVER fix our electrical problem?? Nope, he never did. He did give us $100 for our not being able to enjoy meals at the dining room table as a family. Woo hoo.

The furnace in the main bedroom is screwed up and makes a horrible noise. That bedroom's closet is also filled with all kinds of junk, so it's basically unuseable. There were several other problems. Telling the owner about them wouldn't matter, as he refused to fix the electrical problem.

For us to pay thousands of dollars to stay at a vacation rental and to have to live in those conditions is reprehensible. I am sure that the owner is getting the going rate -- and good for him if he is -- but then to be so damn cheap as to not want to fix broken things is abhorrent. He can afford to do so he is just trying to squeeze every dime possible out of the tenants.

For our rentals we have people on stand- by, 24/7 to fix things that break. Our pots and pans, etc., are clean and new. If they get scraped up, we replace them. We don't force our tenants to cook with pans that have the non-stick coating flaking off and going into our food, as this guy did to us.

Shame on him. And shame on you if you rent this place for ANY reason at ANY price.

BTW, I took lots of pictures and am happy to share them with you, the prospective tenant, if you are interested. (But you should not want to be interested, based on what I am telling you.)

Trust me, I do not have the time to write this. I am far too busy. But I HAD to say something. The owner of this place should be ASHAMED of such a poorly maintained residence.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nothing. The poor quality of the place basically ruined our trip. Many got sick -- possibly based on the unsanitary pots and pans -- further adding to the misery
Liked least: Paying so much money for such a poorly maintained place.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2016
Mandy and I were shocked and saddened by this review, and were upset that this group felt this way after such a great holiday week in Tahoe (snow wise). However, there are so many inaccuracies in this review we had to respond.

When the group arrived they called and mentioned that 3 of the 14 ceiling "can" lights were not working. We called our property manager (who is available 24/7 - see other reviews) and she was there the next morning to replace bulbs, switch the breakers, etc. When she was unable to fix the issue, we called at licensed electrician who determined we would need to open up the ceiling and/or wall to fix the issue. I asked Tom's group if there was a day that they were away from the lodge so they could do the work and he said, "no, we are here every day". Since they only had a few more days at the lodge and did not want any minor construction being done, we agreed to bring in a five foot tall, 4 light "tree" that fully illuminated the dining area (the dining area was never “dark” as the living room and dining room are one room). On the other comments, we stocked the kitchen with a full set of new pots and pans 2 months ago, this group found 2 older ones that had been left behind by previous renters and decided to comment on those. Our property manager would have brought them what they needed if they had just called. We do not have a "furnace" in the master bedroom, but we do have a fireplace. If the fan is on "high" it can be noisy, but when on "low" or "off" it is silent. Again, if they had informed us of this issue, our property manager could have been there to help.

Basically this "1 star" review is over 3 of 14 ceiling lights not working and a few older pots that were left behind by prior renters. We responded quickly, and came up with an alternate solution so they could enjoy their stay without the hassle of light construction.
I would rely on the other 19 honest, and reliable reviews. This property is also listed with air b-n-b (property number 989431) and is one of the top rated properties on their website, with a 4.75 (out of 5) average from 39 guest reviews.

John and Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morenomir...
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
“great location”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The house is very welcoming and has the perfect homey feel. It is in a great location which made it easy to travel around Tahoe. The house came with pots, towels and extra blankets which made our stay even better. The owners John and Mandy are very clear with instructions and very helpful during our stay. The neighbors were so friendly and helpful as well. Will definitely book again and recommend it to anybody with a large group.
Thank you,
Miriam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the location and house amenities
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhey m
Fresno, California
1 review
“Exactly what we needed!”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked the Lakeside Lodge through Flipkey and had no issues.
The owner of this property is very swift in responding to any questions or concerns that I had. When I walked into the Lakeside Lodge, I noticed how nice and neat everything was. This place provided all the kitchen essentials that you would need to use. Our group was able to cook and eat all of our meals at the Lodge.
The instructions were very clear, from turning on the heater to gaining access to the wi-fi, there were no issues. The beds are cozy and the bathrooms are beautiful. The Lodge provided plenty of towels as well as extra linen if we needed. The new water heater made the showers super warm.

Overall, if you are looking for a nice place in South Lake Tahoe then this is the place. We were able to walk from the Lodge to the lake in minutes. The casinos are a quick drive away and restaurants were near. There is plenty of parking space and a hot tub right outside the door. I would recommend this place to all of my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike n
1 review
“The Best Tahoe Rental Ever - Hands Down”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We came here for a week with the family, and had a great time. We rent a cabin every summer, and this was the best of the 10 previous ones we have rented on the North, West and South shore. You are 50 yards to the lake and beach, El Dorado Beach is 3 blocks away, there was a great free concert on Thursday and they have BBQ grills you can use there for free, we rented paddle boards. You can even see the lake from some of the bedrooms. My wife travels for business and can be very picky when she is not at the "St. Regis", but she was very happy with Lakeside Lodge. The house was immaculate, clean, bedding was nice, everything worked. We asked for extra towels, and the property manager came by in 15 minutes, dropped off extras, took the towels we already used and returned them clean the next day. The owner was responsible and got back to us right away. We walked down to the lake for sunset every night and sat on the bench while the kids played n the water. We were concerned about the bad review the house got in March of 2015, but we experienced none of the issues mentioned. We will stay here every summer, plan to stay during the ski season and my wife is planning a corporate retreat here as well. 5 stars. Mike

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is crazy, right next to the lake and fun El Dorado Beach
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The weekend of August 1st 2015 we had a long weekend vacation for my extended family, 8 adults and 1 baby, and this cabin worked out great for us. The sleeping accommodations were comfortable and the cabin is very conveniently located to town and the beach. Everything in the cabin was as described and worked well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep S
1 review
“Quiet great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cabin was great clean and quiet. The rooms were nice expect for the kids room, it was a little creapy. The patio was nice but it be nice if they had a better BBQ girl. Overall I would recommend this place and would stay here again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AchimW
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unfortunately this was NOT what it seemed to be”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking soooo forward to our two night stay at the Lakeside Lodge. We rented the lodge using Tripadvisor. The owner was very responsive and friendly.
A week before our stay we received the information about the lodge. Address, how to get there, how to get in, house rules, etc.... There was an intial problem in receiving the document. It was not possible to download from the Tripadvisor rental site. Even though it said to be there. However, after I emailed the owner he promptly emailed the PDF to me. Problem solved! The owner's friendly response and the pictures on Tripadvisor made us look forward to a beautiful stay.
The first downer happened when we arrived and saw the property. It doe not look like on the Tripadvisor site. Those pictures were taken when the surroundings were clean and the lodge was freshly painted. The grounds were dirty and the paint has faded. It looked weathered. Then we saw that the trash cans were overflowing with trash, the lids couldn't even be put on. This was a concern because the house rules say: "If you have more than two trash cans of garbage, you must pack and take with you (Trash Day is Tuesday). And never leave large chunks of meat, chicken or beef bones, etc. in the garbage cans as bears will tear open and eat and you will lose your deposit. " We arrived on a Monday afternoon. See attached picture. As we moved in and inspected the lodge we found that the trash cans in the kitchen and the downstairs master bed room have NOT been emptied. They still had cans and used tissues in them. Gross! the house rules/instrutions further state "Linens – Additional blankets and bed linens are located in each bedroom’s closet. " Well, the closets are just storage area of all kinds of junk thrown in there. Then on to the second downstairs bed room. When we pulled back the cover we found dirty and hair in the bed! See attached picture. All towels in every bathroom were still damp and wet. I tried to call the owner immediately but was unable to talk to him. I could only leave messages. We looked at the other bed to search for bedding which was clean. We were lucky to find something upstairs. We replaced the dirty bedding downstairs with the clean stuff. Another problem solved. Thinking about cooking dinner we checked out the kitchen. Once we opened the kitchen cabinets and drawers to look for cooking utensils and pots we decided NOT to use the kitchen in the lodge. See picture of pots attached. I continued trying to call the owner but could only leave messages. Later in the evening I tried calling a second number they supplied. Again I was only able to leave a message. After about 30 minutes or so the owners wife called back. I told her about everything I described above. She said she would get in touch with their maintenance/cleaning people right away and call back. She called back after a while and said she was unable to get in touch with them. She offered a $100 discount for the mess we found and was really appreciative of our willingness to work out the mess. Replace the bedding, clean the inside, etc. B.t.w. we never received the $100.
Also, everything on the inside was covered with a thin film. Like when you wipe something off with a damp cloth and you never change the water.
Bottom line, the place was filthy and dirty. See pictures. Sitting outside not possible. Property cleaning not available. We will never stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving Wednesday morning
Liked least: Learing about the poor condition when arriving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
We were disappointed to receive our fist bad review on this property in 6 years. We accepted some of the blame, made some changes but much of the review is un-true. The trash cans were full from the prior renters when this group arrived, but were emptied by our trash service the next morning. We had the carpets professionally cleaned the prior day, and that is why there were a few items in the bathroom trash cans (the carpet cleaners placed a few items in the cans while cleaning the carpet). All of our towels and bedding are cleaned and changed prior to check-in, and as they mentioned we have extra linens and towels available. This group arrived in the spring during a very bad pollen season and that was the reason they felt the house was "covered in a thin film". We decided to get many new pots, pans and kitchen items after this group's comments. Lastly, we promptly sent the group $100 via PayPal to help cover the inconvenience of changing some sheets and towels - and the photos were taken 2 years ago, so all of the paint, furniture, etc. is fresh and updated. We asked for photos of any of the issues, but they refused to send (or post here on FlipKey). Best, John and Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing