We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little room (small)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little room (small)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice price, clean, close to everything and staff very nice. Did not stay in a themed room....thought about it, however, decided to save the few dollars for a bottle of wine. Continental Breakfast was what it should be...juice, yogurt, cold cereal, bread, etc.. Lite sleeper...road noise. Usually sleep with white noise (fan). No fan in room...thank goodness for Internet connection. Downloaded a white noise application and slept through the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to book the theme suite and it was one of the best places we stayed on our whole 5 1/2 week trip. The staff was great and they even called the night before to straighten out our reservation, as the site I reserved from kept putting down that we had 3 children. This motel is spread out across another road so it was involved getting to our suite. But when we checked in, he said it would be worth it and it was. I was anxious to see what our suite was and upon entering you could see it was Egyptian. The theme was carried on through out the whole suite, which included the bedroom up the stairs. Everything you could possibly imagine for your comfort was there, fluffy towels included. But the best had to be the hot tub. It was super size and the location was in the kitchen area, but it was so relaxing especially since they had a stereo system that I could hook up my IPad and have relaxing music while soaking. And it was so quiet and the bed so comfortable we had a great sleep.

Room Tip: Do spend a little more and get the theme suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had quite a few (35+) family and friends gather here for a 3 pm wedding. We did not stay at this hotel, but one close by. Ruth Ann and the whole staff was very helpful, and the wedding chapel is very beautiful; Victorian-themed, with nice light for pictures. I was surprised how easily it came together; they had a minister/notary come, all the paperwork was done very quickly, and we took our time taking pictures with everyone in the beautiful courtyard outside the chapel after the ceremony. We got lots of good pictures and beautiful memories out of the experience. We didn't feel rushed out, even though we may have exceeded our allotted time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroltypesetinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ok, everyone to his taste, but we didn´t like the Tahoe Chalet Inn. The rooms are dated and dark, but clean. Quite small (bed)rooms, but a large bathroom (strange combination, we put our luggage in the bathroom as there was more space there). Location is good, free parking and close to the attractions (gondola, the lake and the casinos).
The design is awful, but ok, as I said, different tastes. Breakfast is a joke, the continental breakfast is more of a "we have coffee for you" and the offer to give a discount voucher for IHOP instead is not a very good compensation.
As a summary: Ok, but overpriced for what you get. Clean, but that´s it. Wouldn´t stay there again if I had any other option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robert2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good location, close to casinos and shopping. Friendly helpful staff. The first room they gave us was a cave (tiny, dark, window looked out to a brick wall). We were then moved to another room which was so much better. They offer a free continental breakfast in the morning. No coffeemaker in our room and the office doesn't open till 8AM so if you are an early riser you need to go elsewhere for that 1st cup in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Had to check in late after traveling. front desk was pleasant. Went to room found it very very small. Went back to desk and asked had they anything bigger left. The guy upgraded us to a suite in their adjacent building for no extra charge. It was clean. Quiet. And location was awesome close enough to walk to lake,casinos and Edgewood golf. Didn't try their breakfast but they do offer a continental breakfast.

Overall would recommend to others

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ATHBOY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Tahoe Chalet Inn. Best of all, the service was great. Eric was kind enough to accommodate me for my very late check in, and the woman the next day at the front desk was very friendly and greeted all the guests, trying to ensure they were comfortable. Service far surpassed any comparably priced motels.

The continental breakfast was good, with more than enough cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and other things to fill you up.

As far as the room, nice touch with the poster bed, which again distinguishes this place from comparably priced options. The room was comfortable and cozy and most importantly, clean. I wasn't too crazy about the shower just because it was very small and tight, and the design of the bathroom actually would allow for a much larger shower (there is a lot of empty space in the bathroom). But overall the room was great.

Location is also very convenient.

All in all, I had a great comfortable stay at the Tahoe Chalet Inn and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#49 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#44 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#56 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Chalet Inn

Property: Tahoe Chalet Inn
Address: 3860 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8905
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tahoe Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tahoe Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing