We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza & great service.”

Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pizza restaurant! Dine In, Pick Up and Delivery. Easy online ordering- with free cinna or bread stix. Great for families and groups, free Wi-Fi, outdoor seating, slices, happy hour beer specials, TVs, deals and coupons, open late, 2 South Lake Tahoe locations
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pizza & great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed across the street at the horrible Forest Suites Resort, but loved this pizza joint. Watched the Blackhawks hockey playoff game there, sat at the bar. The service was constant but not intrusive. They were friendly enough even to let me switch my beer. The food was a little pricey but some of the better pizza you'll tend to have.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    107
    54
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Home-town atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went with a group and they served us in a timely manner. I had a chicken caesar salad but the others had pizza and it was all very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janmorsenavymom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst wings ever. Pizza was just OK, and definitely not "gourmet"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I really don't understand some of the higher ratings here. We stopped into this place and ordered a small order of wings and a small pizza. The wings don't come with wing-sauce already on them. Instead, they give you a little plastic cup of their wing-sauce which is full of black pepper (why?). The wings themselves were dry and overcooked and served in a plastic basket with old/limp/rubbery cuts of celery and carrots. They really couldn't serve fresh veggies? I drizzled their "wing-sauce" over the dried-out wings (which ran through the basket) and tried one, which tasted just as disappointing as it looked ... didn't eat the rest. The basil and sausage pizza showed up and didn't look very "gourmet", but instead was also very dry with very little sauce. It really was some of the worst food and my fiance and I couldn't believe something this simple could be prepared so poorly. We paid and left, and hope this review at least helps somebody avoid the disappointment and goes elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluerecursion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Blue Dog Pizza is a must, the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. The food is great - really fresh salads - we like the dog house salad. Try the Hawaiian Chips for an appetizer or meal. Their Pizza's are awesome - they do it up right. Great value too

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The service was great, the wings were very good, the beer was good, the pizza was ok. It wasn't the worst pizza I've ever had, but it wasn't the best either. The next time I'm in Tahoe I'll try Vinnie's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing