We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place”
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful historic place in one of the most scenic places on earth. It can be very crowded during peak times though so go early for parking.. I would make a day of it as there is swimming on a nice beach and the waterfall to explore. If your adventureous It is nice to launch kayaks at Baldwin beach and paddle there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    200
    41
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely walk to a fascinating home”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The exquisite Emerald Bay hosts a fascinating home, Vikingsholm. The walk which was about a mile down and back up was not too arduous and well worth it. Mrs. Lora Knight was impressed with Scandanavian/Nordic architecture and created her summer home in that design. It fits beautifully into the natural setting at the end of Emerald Bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Myyodacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vikingsholm-St Park”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrive via boat or short hike down from highway 89, very interesting how much research went into construction and items included. Documentary available on line. Depending upon arrival time you might have to wait for tour and hour. Call ahead and ask about time and crowd expected. Beach is very nice, plan a picnic, paddlewheel boat from So. Shore passes by, however you can't off to visit home that way

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hike!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Traveling down to Vikingsholm was something I've always wanted to do. My husband and I took our 4 year old (YES, 4 years old) down this week. It was a beautiful hike down to one of the most photographed areas in the country, Emerald Bay. It was well worth the sweat. Touring the Vikingsholm "castle" was an added bonus with rich history. The beach is accessible for swimming. Next time we will be attempting another hike and bring food and make it a day trip. There are kayak and SUP rentals available to go to the island and this looks like fun! I think this is more of a day trip and we will make it a whole day next time. Tip-get there early as the parking lots fill up. We parked across the street at the Eagle Falls parking lot, for $5 dollars. I believe the Vikingsholm parking lot is $12. All in all- this is a must-do for Tahoe. I highly recommend it. Plan to stay all day and bring your own picnic lunch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFPEDS
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice break from hiking”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a 30 minute tour, which was enough time to explore the house and grounds, with a knowledgeable guide. The home is conveniently located near the beach, if that is in your plans. We went from there to Eagle Falls, a short and not too strenuous walk, with a nice payoff, and then trotted around the lake on the Rubicon trail, an easy hike. However, if you are not used to hiking then this is not an attraction for you; the walk back up from the lake to the parking lot was the hardest part of the visit. Parking was a problem when we went; we were able to find a spot in the full lot when someone left, but most cars wound up parking (I suspect illegally, but I did not see anyone get tickets) on the curving mountain road

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMFPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing