We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hike down...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Book In Advance
$80*
and up
Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hike down...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited during this Thanksgiving week so Vikingsholm was closed. However, we decided to do the hike down to see the Bay up close and walk around the house. We hiked down with our 4 and 7 year olds with no problem. There was no snow so the trail was well paved and easy to walk. Kids loved stopping here and there to jump on branches and enjoy nature.

At the bottom, we had lunch on the pier and were treated to spotting a BALD EAGLE swooping and circling overhead numerous times! So cool.

A beautiful bay and relatively easy hike in our opinion. Hiking back up is a little steep but you can just walk slow and rest. There were no slippery rocks or narrow areas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kirpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    175
    38
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful little hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We hiked down in the snow so we couldn't go inside - but it was beautiful!! Would be the best bed & breakfast!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“1 mile trek down. somewhat steep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

worth the trek if you can hang. I suffered a bit. the house is full of great detail even though there's no one there to give more history. great lake view from the coast

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank waitingtoexhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trekking to Vikingsholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The day we arrived a storm had finished dropping 2 feet of snow in the Tahoe Valley. Hiking was challenging, with snow and slush, but we had a good graded trail down to the shore from the lookout. Beautiful area with snow and fall foliage. The house is very distinctive with carved wood and stained glass. Woule like to go back and see the inside...closed for the season. Also visited via Tahoe Queen paddle wheel boat that cruised from South Tahoe to Emerald Bay...great views & history of the area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcploves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice place to stop by to take really beautiful pictures!!!Breath taking views. Really recommend for tourists.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing