We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Vikingsholm

Vikingsholm
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built as a summer home in 1929, this grand castle on Emerald Bay is considered one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the Western Hemisphere.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I viewed Vikingsholm both from a cruise on the lake and from the viewing area on the road above. Stunning setting and beautiful home that requires no extra effort to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UsaTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    205
    43
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The drive to the location of Vikingshold was beautiful with spectacular views of Lake Tahoe and Emerald Bay, when approached from South Lake Tahoe. The hike down the hill to see this gem was worth it but could be hard for some (because the only return is up this somewhat steep path with switchbacks). But this is a well preserved site and well worth the effort to make the climb. The extra cost to take the guided tour of the house was well worth it. The park ranger who conducted the tour was knowledgeable. There is a small beach and it is a great vantage point for seeing the paddle wheelers coming into the Bay to turn around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The architecture is interesting but you cannot go in unless you pay a tour fee. The hike down to the spot is very strenuous and harder going up. If you are not in shape, don't go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful location right on Emerald Bay”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wanted a fun, not-too-strenuous hike that would occupy me for a few hours prior to a wedding I was attending. A visit to Vikingsholm fit the bill. Be aware that parking is VERY limited. I got there around 10 and got one of the last spaces in the lot. It was marked "15-minutes only" but the ranger said I could park there as long as I paid the $10 fee. The hike down takes about 10-15 minutes and is very scenic. It connects to the Rubicon trail along the lake. You can bring your swimming gear and go for a dip if you want, but the water is quite cold (about 65 in August). I did not do the tour of the mansion, but I was content to explore the area on my own. Be forewarned that the hike back up to the parking lot is not nearly as easy, especially considering you are around 6000 ft. above sea level.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonmatt4nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We hiked down from the parking lot early and had time to hike the trails before the ticket office opened and the first tour was given. The tour was short and only took about 30 minutes, but it was beautiful. It's wonderful that places like this are in public hands so we can all enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikingsholm also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Vikingsholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing