We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Absolutely great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
1 review
“Absolutely great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

My stay at 968 Park Spa resort one one of my most enjoyable trips ever! The staff were very courteous and helpful. The rooms were top notch! The bed was the most comfortable I had ever felt plus knowing it was organic made me feel even more assured! Everything about the hotel was great! I loved the Kangen water as well!! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    225
    98
    32
    24
See reviews for
134
360
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

First off, the exterior of the hotel is beautiful and unique and that theme resonates throughout the hotel. From the staff's unscripted warm conversation to the beds that snuggle you throughout the night, this place has all the elements I wish I had at my own home. The balance of comfort and style, sustainability and convenience, my stay here truely captured the Tahoe experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffySkiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

What a lovely place! This cozy hotel gives you the real feel of being at a ski resort. Firstly, it is eco-friendly - using glass bottles, organic toiletries and fire places that do not use up natural resources. So what is luxurious about it - the friendly people who work at the desk and help you effortlessly, the short elevator ride, the delicious breakfast of coffee, fruit and croissants, the great towels, big armoires and a fire-lit lobby and bar to enjoy trading ski stories from the day on the slopes. Great service all-around!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delacroix9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I was very impressed by the whole green concept of this hotel. I am happy to reuse my towel or not have my sheets changed. But the Park Hotel has stripped down their rooms worse than a motel 6. There are no cups or glasses, none, not even a plastic cup. No hair dryer, no tissue, no ice bucket. We were able to get some glasses and a hair dryer, but I don't think we should have to request these simple items; they should be in the room. They have a regular household fridge downstairs which is the only place to get ice. You feel like a hog just filling the bucket because it takes most of the ice.I can't imagine that using a home ice maker saves more energy for a 50 room hotel than having a professional ice maker!! But by far the worst thing is, they took the fabulous Lake Tahoe water and "improved" it. Now it tastes nasty and mineraly. I love the water up there, it is by far the best tap water I have ever had, the new "improved" version has a distinct taste to it, besides, how are you supposed to drink it with no glasses!! It is true that the beds and linens are very nice, great flat screen TV with lots of channels, a good sized room, however they put old barn wood on the wall behind the beds, it snags your hair and I was afraid some icky old termites were going to jump on me!!! They advertise free wireless, but their system was locked and we weren't given instructions on logging in. I am sure they would have told me how, but I didn't call, just logged into the hotel across the street. I agree with blyvoor, tried it once, not going back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessJess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968Park, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Thanks for your response. We always appreciate guest feedback.

I wanted to clarify a few things.

-In addition to the ice machine you mentioned we also have a commercial ice machine on the second floor.

-All of the water comes from the well serving our neighborhood. We did not improve upon it. What you tasted was actually unadulterated Lake Tahoe ground water. The only water that is different is in the lobby where you have the option of trying Kangen Alkaline water.

-The wireless does require a password to assure neighboring hotels do not use it thereby maintaining a high performance speed for our guests. The password is printed on the back of your key card sleeve.

-Finally we do have cups, hairdryers, and and ice buckets in every room.

-As for the wood behind the beds, this is recycled wood which has been milled and treated, so I can assure you that no, "icky old termites" will crawl out on you.

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Green, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My family and I travel frequently and I can't remember any place or staff that has made me feel more welcome. The hotel's charming decor is complemented by a staff that can't do enough to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Thanks for everything! I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ready2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

By far one of the coolest places in South Lake. The rooms were super cool with re-purposed materials which made a very nice decor and a huge flatscreens in the room. The beds and sheets we're amazing! Super friendly and relaxed, the place has a unique feel, not like other chain hotels. We skied all day and hung out in the hot tub for hours. I heard that they do glasses of wine with check-in, but we didn't get that. We'll definitely be staying here more often anI highly recommend it for anyone who wants something a little different than your run of the mill hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I found out about this hotel from a friend that lives in the area. From the second I walked inside I fell in love. The lobby is cozy and welcoming with comfortable seats and fireplaces. Not to mention the extremely friendly and inviting staff and complimentary glass of wine with check in. The bed was the most amazing thing I have ever slept on and every room has a 42 inch tv!! I almost didn't want to go snowboarding or out at night, I could've just stayed in my room the whole trip!! The staff was super helpful with getting me any information I needed and I felt right at home. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Tahoe. And since it's a new hotel, they're just getting better and better every day!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Property: 968 Park Hotel
Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing