We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 968 Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
968 Park Hotel
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
West Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall the owner did a good job of modernizing an older property. The decor is contemporary hip-modern. The room was comfy, clean & quiet. We liked the thoughtful additions of clothes hooks and a multi-outlet extension cord. Our room lacked A/C, but proper use of the blinds and the supplied fan kept us comfortable on a 83-degree day. The soap, shampoo, conditioner & lotion were first-rate. To improve the experience, management could (a) operate the hot-tub at 100+ degrees (it was about 90-degrees), (b) our room that slept four only had one hand-towel & one wash-cloth. Location was excellent - an easy walk to the mountain lifts and to the large casino hotels.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms face west & get evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif0rniaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    227
    99
    34
    25
See reviews for
136
361
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived, there was a power outage in the entire area. We got checked in with a flashlight and thankfully had flashlights of our own, as no one offered any help in finding our room in the dark. The room was somewhat sparse, but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The sink area was very small and a bit hard for two people to get ready. The location was great--walking distance to area restaurants,casinos and beach. Staff was nice but seemed a bit overworked--the bartender was running back to check people in and answer the phone. Seemed like they were trying to make it an intimate boutique hotel but just didn't quite get there. Hot tub/sauna not working; wifi rarely worked; cable was out all evening one night. Nothing terrible, but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just back from a fantastic weekend and part of it was spent at 968 Park Hotel. My friend got married nearby atop Heavenly and she suggested her guests stay here at a discounted wedding rate they'd arranged, for good reason. The rooms are very comfy and spacious (and clean), the beds are very comfortable (high-quality mattresses), and they have fun things down at the bar in the eves if that's your thing (live music, happy hour, etc.). Note: the hotel itself is not fancy, more restored and cozy (it's a motel-style layout with updated interior).

It's located in a very convenient spot so you can walk to restaurants and even the casinos.

Warning for those who require air conditioning: only certain rooms have air con so definitely make your case when you call to reserve for summer! The rooms can get stuffy if you don't have it, but thank goodness they provide big fans. The suites (definitely the 08s) do NOT have air conditioning; it's what I stayed in.

Last but not least, the service (all employees) are very nice and willing to help you with whatever you need.

Room Tip: If you require air conditioning - ask ask ask upon booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful basic room in a great location. Reception was cherry and polite. Hotel is about 2 blocks from the main centre. Room was very modern and rustic, as usual everything was white so had to watch out for makeup marks. Stayed for a single night, would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A good price in a great location and a very comfortable bed in a clean room helped overcome some bothersome traits. 1) At check-in, we had to sign an agreement to abide by a few rules, one of which was that I would use makeup remover pads provided in the room, and not a towel. I do not like using unknown products, and dark face cloths should be provided like most hotels. Or in the case of a recent inn stay, I was asked to use a white face cloth for makeup because the proprietor could bleach it clean if necessary. 2) The bathroom light automatically turns on a loud exhaust fan. Forget about a relaxing, quiet bath if you want the light on, and it would probably wake up a spouse/partner in the night if you use the bathroom and turn on the light. 3) Not much noise insulation from the hallway and neighboring rooms, although it was quiet late at night and we slept well.

I could appreciate the recycled wood aesthetic, and some of the modern touches, but I found some of it was too stripped down to be attractive. Overall, nice for one night, but would not want to have an extended stay. We did not use the pool or spa so I can’t comment on that.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and didn't notice any lack of air conditioner issues that others men...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel boasts its environmentally friendly building materials and practices. Because of that, the decor is designed with mixed woods.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelerFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

made reservations three months in advance for 3 rooms, received a phone call the morning of our check in date notifing us the rate we were quoted, and already paid for had now tripled...clerk (Niles) was unwilling to work with us with a kind of a "sucks to be you" attitude. You can take your hotel and shove it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
968ParkHotel, General Manager at 968 Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
There was some misunderstanding with the product this guest had purchased. We would never increase a rate for a guest after the reservation had been made! What happened here is the guest purchased a voucher from Travelzoo which offers a deep discount for specific dates in our shoulder seasons. However they wanted to use the voucher for a day it was not valid. We offered to honor the price paid for the Travelzoo voucher toward the stay plus offered a 10% discount for the high season date requested. However the guest turned this down and never stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

968 Park is a charming, attractive hotel with a rustic look and modern amenities. The design couldn't be more appealing to my tastes. Staff is also supremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable. When I asked for a toothbrush at 6:30am staffers Niles and Jordan went out of their way to buy me one at the local store even though one of them wasn't even on the clock yet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 968 Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 968 Park Hotel

Property: 968 Park Hotel
Address: 968 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 968 Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to embody Lake Tahoe. To hand deliver to you by Tahoe locals a genuine Tahoe experience. We take pieces of the Tahoe culture, our style, the way we speak, our wood, our stone our history and we share it with you. You'll see it in the rustic industrial look of the hotel, a look that gives it hints of Tahoe's rich mining and ski history but we do it with a modern twist. We are located steps to the Heavenly Ski Village, beautiful Lake Tahoe and just a few blocks from the Stateline Nevada Casinos. You will see our dedication to sustainability in the design of the hotel along with the countless awards and certifications recognizing our efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your 968 Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 968 Park
968 Park Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing