We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family reunion”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grand Estate 4 Master Suites, plus 3 other bedrooms, 1280 sqft game room, and two Family Rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Grand Estate
4 Master Suites, plus 3 other bedrooms, 1280 sqft game room, and two Family Rooms
Private, beautiful and large back yard for entartaining
Ms Pacman and 2000+ other Arcade Games
Defender and 2000+ Arcade Games
Play pool on our stainless steel table
Galaga and 2000+ other Arcade Games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lordlmj2
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
“Perfect for a family reunion”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We wanted to celebrate our 50th Anniversary someplace where we could have the entire family together but still have privacy. After an extensive search on line we found The Bigger Essence of Tahoe. The photos looked so inviting and since we wanted something special for the family, we booked it. Everyone was excited for the big day and when we arrived everyone was amazed at the space, and luxury throughout and all agreed it was way above their expectations. Something to do for everyone but the main attraction was the "Disco" room. WOW. The children and adults had a ball and didn't want to leave.

The location of the Bigger Essence was ideal for the many activities, such as boat rentals, bicycle riding and a huge surprise from my children was an evening on the MS Dixie wit a Champagne dinner cruise on Lake Tahoe.

Communications with the owner "Hutch" were always pleasant throughout the process. He was always very accommodating and wanted to insure we had everything we needed.

I highly recommend the Bigger Essence for anyone wanting to a SPECIAL place for a memorable experience. You won't regret it.

You All Come Back Now....


Stayed:

June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O
1 review
“Incredible home! Wonderful vacation!”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We recently stayed at The Bigger Essence of Tahoe and it is everything we expected and much more. The spacious home was in immaculate condition upon arrival. The amenities were top-notch. The location of the home is ideal. I would absolutely recommend this home to family and friends and will definitely be coming back next year for our annual trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomadicpo...
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Impressed all 3 generations”
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Bigger Essence of Tahoe was a wonderful fit for our group of ten (+ can accommodate more)! Surprisingly cozy for such a spacious property, with plenty of room to explore and several inviting spots for us all to gather, or even spread out solo when needed... This place had options! That was top priority for our three generations of family, and we really appreciated + made full use of the space.
High marks for proximity too -- while located in a quiet neighborhood, everything we wanted to do and see (skiing, restaurants, Stateline, etc.) was a very short drive from the house. Luxury bathrooms, kitchen, hot tub and other amenities, and a wide range of entertainment options for adults & littles alike made it easy to relax and unwind all week long. Any questions we had during our stay were promptly answered by the helpful Drew. Would surely recommend this house, esp. to groups with a busy mix of kids and adults. Will book again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Home in Tahoe”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A year ago, our family made the decision to spend Thanksgiving week together in Tahoe. There was much searching of web sites to find the home that would be the perfect fit for our family. To say that I am a bit picky about where we would stay is an understatement. Lucky for us the home “Greater Essence of Tahoe” was available. Our experience with the home and its owner Hutch was fantastic!
The home itself was beyond our expectations from the beautiful open concept kitchen, great room, and formal dining area to the spacious media room with its comfy recliners in which we could relax and enjoy our favorite holiday movies. Great entertainment was had playing pool, darts, and arcade games in the recreation room, and the massage chair was amazing. The bedrooms were large and numerous (6) and could accommodate 18 people, and easily provided space for our 12 adults and 3 children.
Of special importance to me was the kitchen with its high-end appliances that included the large Viking range on which we cooked the Thanksgiving meal, the built in refer that held all the food we couldn’t have eaten in a month (luckily there was a secondary fridge as well), and two dishwashers. Our sit-down dinner was an amazing opportunity for all of us to share a special meal together.
Close by is shopping (remember all that food that required two huge refrigerators), casinos and shows, and at this time of year a chance for the little ones to sled in the snow.
I could go on and on regarding the toasty warm fireplaces, impressive large screen TV’s, luxurious bathrooms with steam and their multiple shower-heads, but the best part of all was how comfortable my family felt, how much fun we had, and the special memories we will share of our time at the “Greater Essence of Tahoe”. Thank you Hutch for sharing your fabulous home with us we will definitely want to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFab
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This place was excellent! More like a compound than a house. Plenty of room, including a spacious great room and lots of outdoor seating to accommodate our group of 14 dining al fresco. Well-appointed and cozy at the same time. Great location just a couple minutes to Pope's Beach and a few minutes to Heavenly Village. There was no A/C, but that was not an issue, because of the cool nights and the refreshing breeze during the day. The owner, Hutch, was very helpful and professional. A great time was had by all! I would highly recommend this jewel for a large group, and I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxury Resort - Personalized in a home”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family LOVES to vacation and being owners at Marriott Time Share we are accustomed to a certain level of expectation/service. Since our traveling party for this trip had grown to 3 families - we rolled the dice and picked out this location. Past experience has made me skeptical of property pictures, however the property pictures for this location was ON POINT and only began to describe the experience we would have. As soon as we arrived and explored the home we fully appreciated how IMMACULATELY CLEAN it was (which is extremely important to us). The home was massive and had ample ​living spaces/bathrooms/Kitchens (yes plural) at the house. Utilizing the steam shower, hot tub, and massage chair were thoroughly enjoyed after skiing the the slopes all day or snowmobiling. The house had two family rooms with built in surround sound and massive TV's where we finished off the night watching family movies! The property is big enough that you can fully enjoy being together as a family in one room and then retreating to your own space for some quiet time to recharge your batteries. We also loved the fact that we were ​centrally located/ within 5-10 minutes to everything (shopping around heavenly for the wives, ice skating/movie theaters for kids, & poker tournaments at Harvey's Casino for the gentlemen). Hutch (property owner) was also available to us within minutes when we had trouble navigating the surround sound/satellite TV (with HBO, Cinemax, Showtime ect). I would absolutely recommend this property to friends/family and will definitely be coming back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keri R
2 reviews
“Stunning home, w/ ample room for large groups”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had an amazing time during our stay. Hutch was easy to work with and quick to respond to any needs we had.

We stayed with 2 other families with young children and needed a place with ample room for different sleeping schedules & activities. We had 3 sets of parents, 1 grandparent, and 6 children ages 2-7. We could all eat/play/hang out in the same room if we wanted, or we could each find our own space to find solitude if need be. One parent was studying for exams and needed quiet time occasionally, and that was easily obtained.

The kitchen was a dream come true. The Master bed was the most luxurious bed I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping on, with heavenly linens and the mattress was unbelievably comfortable. Everyone took turns melting away into the massage chair, which was the most thorough massage I've received without the use of human hands. From watching movies, to playing video games, billiards, darts, there was never a child who said those dreaded words... "I'm bored".

We wanted to have a place where the little kids could be outside to play in the snow, and that is what they did, building snowmen, snow balls, and even sledding nearby. But even more importantly, building fabulous memories.

A few things that we learned regarding staying with young children that might be helpful to others is that the top level of the bunk beds has an open side, so it wont prevent someone from rolling off. Also, the 3rd and 4th Suites are only accessibly by going outside and up a flight of exterior stairs. One suite is above the secondary detached garage, and the other, above the main floor. In the winter, these stairs can get a lot of snow, and icicles hanging overhead. Also, you wouldn't be able to put a baby down for a nap/sleep and have the parents join the rest of the group in the main house. We ended up not using those suites at all since it didn't quite fit our needs based on them being separated. Thankfully there was plenty of space elsewhere to accommodate our whole group in the main house.

Everyone had an amazing time and would absolutely consider staying here again on our next trip to Tahoe. Maybe next time, in the summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing