We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel in the middle of china”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mengla County
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel in the middle of china”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

At first we where feedup and tired as we had to drive 45 min until we got to the hotel but we where imprese by the welcoming team waiting for us at the entrance of the hotel. The lobby was just incredible as it is just massive. Once they took us to our rooms the trip started perfectly as the rooms where massive probably the biggest bathroom I have ever seen my wife live them.

The food was great and we had a French chef that was always there to help and check on us.
In terms if English we where worried that no one would speak English in the hotel or at rhe airport but to our surprise they all spoke English what totally change our mind about traveling in china.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family visited the resort to relax at the end of an adventurous trip though Sichuan province. The resort is in a picturesque location overlooking a river and opposite the famous botanical gardens. There are few places that when you're shown your villa it is better than the photos but the villas are truly gorgeous. We had a mix up with our booking and had reserved the wrong villa. The resort management were wonderful in trying to rectify the problem even though it was not their fault. The restaurants serve good quality food - local, Thai and western. The manager is delightful and was very welcoming and helpful during our visit. Service was a little uneven as many staff didn't speak English but there were some gems amongst the staff, especially in the restaurants. I wish I had done this review earlier and could name the particular staff. The spa was also excellent with lovely staff and great products. Our villa had some issues with things like plumbing (ie mixers didn't work so showers too hot, tub overflow was directly below spout so water didn't make it into tub) which I'm sure will be ironed out. The only reason I haven't given a higher rating is the teething problems that were occurring as the resort had only been open a couple of months. We would definitely return and I'm sure the resort will be living up to it's potential. One of the few luxury places to stay in beautiful Yunnan province and quite a gem.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We six women flew to Xishuangbanna specifically to spend three days at the resort to relax. The hotel is new and lacks many of the finesse of an established five-star. The hotel had offered blend tasting coffee pods in the villas and instant coffee powder in the rooms. When we complained, the lounge staff came over with all his drip coffee varieties and offered us a free tasting. The staff set up a schedule to deliver the Yunnan fresh brew carafes twice a day free of charge. We could even go to the lounge at anytime to get more coffee. All the staff were authorized to take immediate and appropriate action to make sure that guests had a pleasant stay.

PRO
- Responsive service staff
- Resort is beautifully landscape and offers a good sense of place (resort was designed to fit in with local landscape and architecture)
- Good spa treatments with Thai masseuse but menu was limited (no facial)
- Public pool is 50 meters long with well-equiped modern gym
- Prices for airport Mercedes transfer charges are reasonable for five star hotel (CNY400, definitely recommend it given I was quoted same price for an old taxi)
- Villas are spacious and extremely private
- Thai restaurant food was good bur portions were tiny, Italian restaurant restaurant is good with generous entree portions.

CONS
- Wooden exterior doors contract and expand with the humidity and heat, sometimes hard to shut while stuck at times; door has a 1 cm crack on the bottom, allowing bugs and spiders in
- Missing nice amenities: bitter coffee pods, low-thread count bed sheets, no iphone 5 plugs for music player
- Restaurant choices was limited with repeat menu
- In three days, there was a two-hour period where a strong fertilizer odor from the banana plantation forced us to dine indoors
- Website offered bikes to ride to nearby waterfall but staff had no idea
- No other landmarks (only botanical garden) within an 1 - 1.5 drive of the resort

Room Tip: The river was extremely muddy while the garden villas offered a more tropical feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isaidokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 5 days in the newly opened Anantara Xishuangbanna resort and Spa. We have been very impressed by the beauty of the hotel (both common areas / rooms) and the overall services. We particularly appreciated the spa which is a stunning place within the hotel. The therapists are all very experienced and the complete experience was stunning. A special good point for the food as well: well presented, good and diverse.

This place is really a hidden jewel and absolutely perfect when you need to really decompress. It’s so calm and peaceful that you will come back home truly relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajuliabeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
178 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The new Anantara Xishuangbanna property is a 1.5 hr drive from Jinghong town and about an hour from the Wild Elephant Valley. It is located opposite the famous Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden, separated by a small river that is a tributary of the Mekhong. Local fishermen had some traditional traps set up during my stay which was very photogenic. On the other side the property looks out over sweeping, forested mountains. One corner fronts onto a local village.

The property is somewhat sprawling. The loop around the entire property during my morning run was 1.6km. There are expansive gardens and trails leading through them along the banks of the river and between the buildings. The reception area is inside a massive entrance hall.

There are no "standard" rooms. The room I stayed in was a well-appointed deluxe garden view room with large ensuite bathroom and stone tub, with charming decor reminiscent of Thailand; silk and tapestry cushions and curtains, and nice timber furniture and finishings. There are also river view rooms, and expansive villas with pools.

The breakfast buffet had a range of Chinese and Western offerings, and was tended to by no less than five chefs! The restaurant where breakfast is served is a cozy place off from the main entrance hall. An outdoor eating area fronts onto the river and where traditional Dai and western-style barbeques are served. This is a superb spot for a late afternoon beer and meal. We stayed until well after sunset when the mist drifted up the river.

As the property is new, the service staff are still learning the ropes and were not quite up to speed with the systems the day we checked in. Otherwise they were delightful and helpful. Overall, well worth the journey here to stay a few days.

Room Tip: A room to suit every taste in this property, all well-appointed and located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengla County
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Xishuangbanna Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Xishuangbanna
Ramada Plaza Xishuangbanna
#78 of 305 in Jinghong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angsana Tengchong Hot Spring Village
Angsana Tengchong Hot Spring Vil...
#1 of 146 in Tengchong County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
280.4 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jingmai Brilliant Resort & SPA
Jingmai Brilliant Resort & SPA
#1 of 5 in Lancang County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort

Property: Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort
Address: Menglun Town, Mengla County 666303, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Mengla County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mengla County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rugged beauty. Enchanting encounters. Unsurpassed luxury in a verdant retreat.Tucked away in the primeval forests of Yunnan Province, Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort sits at the threshold of a region rich in cultural experiences and astonishing natural beauty. This elegant hotel in Yunnan China blends contemporary style with awe-inspiring scenery in an evocative locale and is nestled along the banks of a sweeping curve of the Luosuo River. Lush tropical gardens filled with the sweet scents of passion flower and wild orchid. Elegant deluxe rooms and sprawling pool villas are inspired by indigenous art, with private plunge pools, state-of-the-art entertainment facilities and exclusive butler service.At this exclusive Xishuangbanna resort take in sweeping river views from our Mekong restaurant, enjoying Dai and Northern Thai cuisine. Meet Yunnan’s diverse people and take part in their colourful folk traditions on a village tour, and then learn to prepare Dai dishes yourself in an Anantara cooking class. Unwind with an indulgent world-renowned Anantara spa treatment after touring Wild Elephant Valley or Manfeilong, a Buddhist temple also known as the White Pagoda. Experiences of wonder and delight await you at Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing