We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise”
Review of Casa do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Mar
Ranked #3 of 11 Tofo B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Luxury in Paradise”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We did a group dive trip to Tofo Beach, so our travel organiser (Allways Dive, Melbourne, Vic) picked our accommodation. Not knowing what to expect, we arrived at Casa Do Mar after the usual horrendous hours-long trip from Oz via Jo'burg and were very pleasantly surprised. We had turned off the bitumen road up a winding sand track and were wondering what we'd got ourselves into when we saw the very attractive entrance to the guesthouse, where we were greeted by Edu and Adriano, a couple of the exceptionally good staff. My husband and I were shown to a beautiful room with private balcony overlooking the stunning vista of Tofo Beach. King-size bed, huge wardrobe space and large, well- appointed bathroom, with tea and coffee making facilities. I think we scored the best room, but the others in our group were all very happy with their accomodation, each of which had a sea view. The top floor is entirely made over to dining, drinking and relaxing, with numerous leather couches, full-length balcony, all-day classic rock station playing on the TV and the biggest, best-stocked bar and cold drinks fridge I have ever seen! All drinks were on the help yourself, honour system - you simply wrote whatever you had in a book and it appeared (accurately) on your final bill. Food was available from breakfast at 0700-1000, and then throughout the day you simply asked whoever was on duty in the kitchen for whatever you wanted. There was fresh seafood every day from the local fishermen's catch and more or less anything else you could want, within reason. Jakkie & Daphne were very hospitable and helpful with any queries - Jakkie even lent us his car to go into Inhambane (main town about 30km away) to get cash, etc. (This was very generous, as the car is usually available for rent). He also arranged a couple of fishing trips for the keen fishermen amongst us - they came back with huge Warhou (fresh fried that night - yum!) and Yellow Fin Tuna - which the staff sashimied and made into sushi.
The only down-side was that the beautiful view came at a price - the Guest House is situated at the top of the dunes, so access to the beach was down a fairly long stairway. Fine going down, but very hot and sweaty coming back up after a swim! The pool deck was fabulous, but the pool itself needed a good scrub (was tempted to don Scuba and do it for them!). No credit cards accepted, so make sure that you have plenty of local currency or $US to settle up your bill on your last day. (WARNING: ATMs in Inhambane Province only accept Visa, not Mastercard - couple of our group were caught out and had to do some quick negotiations with the rest of us!)
I thoroughly recommend Casa Do Mar, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay there again - but think it may not suit couples with children, who would probably be better off in one of the many guest houses along the beachfront, where the kids would have plenty of room to play in the sand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    16
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
47
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We planned our trip to Tofo to spend 1 week diving and relaxing, trough Scuba Mozambique.
When we arrived at Casa do Mar, everything seemed to be great, despite one of the rooms was not so good as the other ones, much smaller (we booked 1 double and 3 single rooms, paid in advance).
Most of he rooms were big, clean, nice, the view great, the staff very kind and nice. Food very well served and tasteful.
The problem occured in he middle of our stay.. When we arrived from the dive, one of us (my brother) could not find the key to his room, He asked the staff, and for his surprise, when he got into the room, there was someone else's luggage in there, and this other guest even took a shower, even though all my brother's stuff was still in the room. And nobody told us about it until the key was asked. What could be noticed is that they intended to leave the room for the new guest, and expel my brother. Wonder why.
They said an agency booked the same room twice, but isn't there a control made by the hotel: Did they not know this problem was going to happen one day before it did? It showed a lack of respect that I have never seen before. It doesn't matter whose fault it was, it certainly was not ours, the guests.
Our travel agent, Scuba Mozambique, called us and asked my brother to share the room with me, and the request was promptly attended. There was a financial compensation, but the stress we got through when we were supposed to have a relaxing dive trip was really not worth it. \he had to pack everything and move to my room.
And if we were not brother and sister and it was not possible to share a room? What would they do?
And the manager kept saying it was not his fault. I can believe that, but I cannot believe nobody could foresee the problem.
I wrote an e-mail to the owner, still waiting for the reply. Hope this never happens to any other guest there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
The agent booked the room in which her brother stayed as a twin room for the 2nd person to arrive later that is why the manager Adriano put the person in his room. That was definately not a mistake on our side and that is why I contacted Janeen the agent (Scuba Mozambique) to sort it out with the guest. You never send me an email you send an email to Janeen the agent who send it to me and I have respond to that email the same day.

I don't think we can be kept responsible for a mistake that was made by the agent. Though it was not our mistake we still gave him credit for the 2 nights stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This privately owned and run guesthouse is the Jewel of Tofo. Ovelooking the bay of Tofo the views are amazing. Watching hump back whales breach from your balcony at 6 am is a dream.
Nothing is too much trouble for owners Daphne and Jakkie and their great staff - I had a terrible tooth ache late one night and Jakkie found me some pain killers which allowed me a decent nights sleep. The cook rustles up some amazing dishes at a moments notice. If you are really lucky and Jakkie goes out fishing you may be in for an awesome treat that evening. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for the nice review cannot wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a very good 3 night stay in Casa Do Mar in Tofo (booked through Scuba Mozambique). It is quite a quirky place (in a good way), with the ground floor set out like a large house with open plan bar / sofa / lounge/ dining table. The kitchen is also open and you can see the chefs preparing your food. There is an honesty bar and TV / communal books which gives the place a very homely feel whilst still giving people space to do there own thing. Rooms are spacious and to a good standard and food was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danish1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the nice review it was nice having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We decided to stay in more 'upmarket' accommodation for our last 2 nights in Tofo and were quite literally blown away. From the warm welcome and tour by Jakkie to the poolside service to the comfortable rooms we were pleasantly surprised at every turn. We stayed in a sea view room - and what a view! Probably the best in Tofo - you can just about see all the goings on at the beach from here. It was really special to see whales breaching while eating breakfast on the balcony.

Nothing seemed like too much trouble for any of the staff. The guesthouse is relatively new, but we felt very welcome and more importantly at home. It was great to see Jakkie & Daphne putting so much energy into Casa do Mar - we believe it will be the secret to their success.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review Casa do Mar. It is always nice to hear that the guests enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Casa do Mar, and will definitely not be our last.

You could not ask for more friendly staff and a better location. Nothing is too much trouble for owners Daphne and Jakkie and their great staff - breakfast at midday after a morning dive is offered with a cheery smile instead of a groan! All the food was so good there is simply no need to go out!

Casa do Mar is the perfect place to stay if you are a diver, but enjoy some creature comforts. It is a 2 minute stroll to the Peri Peri dive centre and it is the perfect place to laze around enjoying the view and watching whales.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but ask if room 1 is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice review . Hope we see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We experienced Jakkie's and Daphne's sense of hospitality first hand when, although we couldn't stay at Casa do Mar as they were fully booked, they went out of their way to help us to get a rental car and alternative accomodation.
We passed by one night "just for one drink" but stayed much longer than that and in the end also ordered some food (although this is usually just for guests staying there)...the best pizza I have had in Mozambique and my colleagues' steak was also fab'. Wow, Daphne was not exaggerating when she said they had the best chefs in town!
Can't wait to come back, but then on a holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
168 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Mar

Property: Casa do Mar
Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse on Tofo Main Beach Airconditioned Private Bathrooms Swimmingpool Wi Fi Bar Restaurant Deep Sea Fishing Dstv.Stunning View of the whole beach.82 Kva standby Generator.9 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Casa do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing