We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guesthouse in Tofo”
Review of Casa do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Mar
Ranked #3 of 10 Tofo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Guesthouse in Tofo”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Casa do Mar guesthouse is in a perfect location with stunning views of Tofo beach. The owners Jakkie and Daphne are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are large and well furnished and kept very clean. On the balcony outside the room there are big comfortable couches to relax and watch the whales breaching from the ocean. There is also a well kept swimming pool and deck area to lounge around.

We ate at the restaurant a few nights and the food was of great quality and well prepared. The omelette the chef made for breakfast is one of the best we have ever had!

The town is only a short walk so you can experience other restaurants and go to the market.

Having high speed wifi was great and the fully stocked bar was a treat.

Unfortunately the weather was not quite good enough for fishing but we would have loved to go out on Jakkie's boat. He runs fishing charters from the guesthouse.

We look forward to returning to Tofo and staying at Casa do Mar again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellGell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    16
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
47
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reut Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I would call it a Boutique guesthouse. Daphne and Jakke, together with there excellent stuff made our vacation at Tofo, a splendid and very unique. the hospitality and kindness together with a very nice accommodation made your "Casa Do Mar" a very unique place to stay and enjoy the tranquillity of Mozambique.
Yonit Kobi and Matan

Room Tip: Food is very good - both breakfast and diner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonithemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for the nice review hope we will see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I say this is a difficult place to review as we clearly had quite a different experience from alot of the other guests who stayed here.
I certainly would not say we were made to feel welcome at all by Jakkie and Daphne and sadly more felt a little like we were trespassing.
It was a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful spot. The chef is fantastic - we tried to eat other places but his food kept bringing us back.
A luxurious hotel, but a little ruined by the behaviour of the owners.
because of this I find it difficult to recommend it to others as I know I would never choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: ground floor next to the pool definitely the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Regarding the comment from Hayley we would like to comment as follow:
We had to address an issue regarding the use of the honesty bar with these guests as we have noticed that they did not book drinks to their account. As we run a honesty bar we should be able to trust our guests.

These guests will definately not be welcomed back at Casa do Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having stayed at Casa do Mar over December 2012, I can easily say that this remarkable Guest House simply made one of my absolute favourite holidays. Jakkie and Daphne are the warmest, most wonderful people, who made us feel right at home. Their staff were incredible too. And as for the delectable meals we enjoyed - let's just say everything on the menu was a winner! The freshest sea food, a killer fish curry, magnificent views, impeccable service and a spotless, spacious place to call 'your own' - there's no wonder I'm counting down the days until we visit again (with the whole familia).

Room Tip: A sea view room is definitely the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceLeiJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We didn't venture across all of Tofo Beach but from what we saw this is the place to stay! Daphne and Jakkie are great people and have a great thing going here. They would go the extra mile, literally, even driving us all the way back to Inhambane to find a working ATM. The place is beautiful with a Greek feel overlooking the great ocean view scenery of tofo beach. The chefs and all staff were great. I will only be repeating all other reviews by continuing on. We really enjoyed it and would recommend this place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was great. Nice view, nice room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot for work so am used to stay in all kind of hotels.
Casa do mar is a place that i recommend to anyone planning to go to inhambane.

Why,
When we arrived in Mozambique we had a bit of a worry as live is different there as we are used to in Europe :)
However when we arrived in Casa do Mar all was ok and looks like paradise.
After a short explanation about how things worked. ( bar works on honesty basis) we met with the owners who made us feel like we were home. The staf is great and also trustworthy. We were carrying a lot of devices but were not worried at all. Feel very safe there.

Then the view, it is amazing to overlook the ocean and actually spot the dolphins while enjoying a cool drink.
The food can be recommended as well.

daphne and Jakkie thanks for making our experience in mozambique so great.

If we ever come back we will definitely come back to Casa do Mar.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guidoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I and my husband stayed a week at wonderful Casa do Mar on a recent dive holiday. The lodge has great views of Tofo Beach, huge balconies where you can sit and listen to the waves hitting the beach. Rooms are absolutely impeccable, light ad airy with white furniture, modern bathrooms, great bed. Atmosphere is very casual and easygoing, in the upstairs living room you get your drinks from the bar and write it down, Owners are very nice people, indeed. Food is also good and if they don't have what you want on their menu they will offer to cook it anyway, if at all possible. Itu, the cook is a very friendly and service minded person. (sorry if I got the spelling wrong. My dive operator, Peri-peri divers is just a few steps away, which was fortunate
when I forgot my dive computer at the hotel. They don't take credit cards because of the big surcharge, but will take you to the nearest ATM if you need more cash.

If ever I go back to Tofo, I will not even consider any other place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
195 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
7 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Mar

Property: Casa do Mar
Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse on Tofo Main Beach Airconditioned Private Bathrooms Swimmingpool Wi Fi Bar Restaurant Deep Sea Fishing Dstv.Stunning View of the whole beach.82 Kva standby Generator.9 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing