We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!”
Review of Casa do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Mar
Ranked #3 of 10 Tofo B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed at Casa do Mar with some friends in January. We all had a fantastic time. The hotel is located on the beach with wonderful views. The food was delicious and the staff could not have been more helpful. Casa do Mar was relaxing and enjoyable and I would recommend it without hesitation, thank you Daphne and Francesco for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_Malawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Casa do Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

I live a very stressful day to day life, this year I decided to spend x12 days of my annual vacation scuba diving in Mozambique.

Tofo is the place to dive in Mozambique. (great reef's, plenty of variety for all levels of divers, great diving conditions)
The diving was booked through Tofoscuba, I will write a seperate review on them as Casa Do Mar really do deserve their own.

I found Casa Do Mar after paging through many reviews on google.
I convinced some mates to come along, we landed up booking x3 double room's for a period of 10-12 days.

When we landed in Inhanbane airport to find no conveyer belt, a combined arrival and departure hall, a manual entry system into the country we kind of new "we had arrived".

We then caught a taxi to Casa Do Mar. (20km's / R250 very reasonable!)
Driving to the Guest House I was ready to turn around and drive back to the airport.

Inhanbane is very primative and gives one a scary impression of what exactly you are in for.
My friend and I decided to make the call once we got to the guest house.
Having driven through a very rural area we finally arrived at Casa Do Mar.

Jakkie (the owner) greeted us upon arrival with a fresh, enthusiastic and motivating approach.
So much so that we took our first breath of fresh coastal air and instantly relaxed.

Casa do Mar is one of a kind.

The house is newly built, very modern, spacious and relaxing.
It has all the modern ameneties one would wish for.

In my opinion the best unique selling points:

1) The air con is a massive +. Very few hotels/guest houses in Tofo have aircon.
2) The amazing location. It is on the beach! Away from noise and very private.
3) It has a beautiful swimming pool.
4) A chef is always on duty and all food items are VERY well priced.
5) The house runs an honesty bar, you only need to take out your wallet at the end of your travels. The level of trust allows one to completely switch off and relax.
6) The Staff are very friendly and very trustworthy. I often left valuables lying around... they remained untouched.
7) The house has great shower pressure.
8) Power is a massive problem in Mozambique, Casa Do Mar have installed a very generous generator that even allows your aircons to run in the middle of the night when the power surges.
9) The swimming pool is another great plus! The beach gets very hot and can be busy at certain times, the pool is private and allows one the comfort of cooling down when you tired of reading your book in the sun.

Having mentioned all of the above which I believe are enough reasons to make your choice the greatest experience for me was having met Jakkie and Daphne.

We could not have asked for two better hosts.
Nothing was too much trouble.
They invited us as strangers into their beautiful home and we left as friends.

I was pleasantly surprised when I received my final bill. It was far less than I had expected.

This trip definately exceeded my expectation and I will recommend Casa Do Mar to everyone who plans to stay over in Tofo.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room... Incredible!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I have travelled on many occassions to Mozambique - we have experienced a number of luxury lodges. From when you walk in you feel at home - from the front door of the guest house you have amazing sea views. We were welcomed and our enquiry and check in was very speedy and friendly. The room was beautiful with white and blue linen - the views from the room also amazing. There is an upstairs bar that you can chill at and have some wine while overlooking the ocean. The food is also great. The two hosts, Daphne and Jakkie, were very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, great sense of humour, helpful, and friendly - nothing was too much to ask. They gave us some recommendations for eating out which all worked out great. Jakkie also provided the biggest and best praws I have tasted in all our travels of mozambique. The price for accommodation is very attractive. What also appeals greatly about this place is the size - it has about 7 or 8 rooms - so it is private in that sense. The size of the rooms and ensuite is very generous and well decorated. I also had a massage from external therapist in the comfort of my room. We would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Having travelled to over 60 countries, from 5 star hotels to hostels, there are few places that deserve as much positive attention as does Casa Do Mar and owners, Jackie and Daphne. I do not write reviews often but do so when there is a place that i truly feel fellow travellers would greatly benefit knowing about.

This newly built guesthouse (right on tofu beach) is stunning (beautiful architecture with modern clean furnishings, big, clean rooms with a/c and ensuite, some with incredible sea views, cozy and spacious common spaces, great swimming pool, etc).

The location is great - perched up right at the beach in a quiet location and just minutes walk from the market/town - right next door to a dive and activity centre, etc).

The views are incredible (unobstructed views all along tofu beach).

The food, which is incredibly reasonable/cheap, is not only *very* tasty (prepared by an experienced chef) but also of generous proportions

The owners (Jackie and Daphne) are likely the friendliest, most helpful hosts i have come across is my many travels. They both continually work very hard to ensure that each guest is comfortable, has what he/she needs and, are very helpful in arranging transportation, activities, providing information, etc.

Casa Do Mar is only one of a very few places that have and operate a generator throughout the night when the city's electricity (which was incredibly unreliable throughout my stay) is not working - this proved to be a blessing when we still had access to a/c at night when many other people staying elsewhere had no power (and no generator) to run fans or a/c for many uncomfortable hours or even throughout the entire night.

The value is unmatched - the budget prices charged are well below what the owners could/should otherwise charge for this very high level (in my view 5star) b&b accommodation. I stayed at 2 other places on the beach, the second which was only 25$ less, but which did not have the pool, any breakfast, stunning rooms, swimming pool, helpful owners, tv room, food, etc etc etc that Casa Do Mar offers.

There is little doubt in my mind, that anyone staying at Casa Do Mar will enjoy their stay - very happy to have found and stayed at Casa Do Mar.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room if available
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dslvrstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Casa do Mar is a very confortable guest house, beautiful spacious rooms with balcony, amazing see view and airco. The accommodation rates are very reasonable compared to all the expensive neighbouring lodges. Jackie and Daphne are amazingly friendly, they really made us feel at home during the week we spent at the quest house. Breakfast was very good and served on the terrace with see view. Rooms are very clean.Highly recommended for those who search good price quality ratio, a stay at this guest house will turn your holiday into a fantastic Mozambique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house with see view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank karinschk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 10 in Tofo
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
208 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Mar

Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range: $148 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse on Tofo Main Beach Airconditioned Private Bathrooms Swimmingpool Wi Fi Bar Restaurant Deep Sea Fishing Dstv.Stunning View of the whole beach.82 Kva standby Generator.9 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing