We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa do Mar
Nearby Hotels
Sentidos Beach Retreat(Praia da Barra)
$299
$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane Province)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Barra Lodge(Inhambane Province)
Jeff's Palm Resort(Inhambane Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
97
19
2
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
19
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperi peri divershonesty barguest houseseafood platterswimming pooltop floorthe ownertofo beachcan't wait for our next visitplace to stayroom with sea viewenjoyed meetinggo fishingwith open armsfull lengthhome away from homeright next door
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 124 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I have travelled on many occassions to Mozambique - we have experienced a number of luxury lodges. From when you walk in you feel at home - from the front door of the guest house you have amazing sea views. We were welcomed and our enquiry and check in was very speedy and friendly. The room was beautiful with white and blue linen - the views from the room also amazing. There is an upstairs bar that you can chill at and have some wine while overlooking the ocean. The food is also great. The two hosts, Daphne and Jakkie, were very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, great sense of humour, helpful, and friendly - nothing was too much to ask. They gave us some recommendations for eating out which all worked out great. Jakkie also provided the biggest and best praws I have tasted in all our travels of mozambique. The price for accommodation is very attractive. What also appeals greatly about this place is the size - it has about 7 or 8 rooms - so it is private in that sense. The size of the rooms and ensuite is very generous and well decorated. I also had a massage from external therapist in the comfort of my room. We would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Having travelled to over 60 countries, from 5 star hotels to hostels, there are few places that deserve as much positive attention as does Casa Do Mar and owners, Jackie and Daphne. I do not write reviews often but do so when there is a place that i truly feel fellow travellers would greatly benefit knowing about.

This newly built guesthouse (right on tofu beach) is stunning (beautiful architecture with modern clean furnishings, big, clean rooms with a/c and ensuite, some with incredible sea views, cozy and spacious common spaces, great swimming pool, etc).

The location is great - perched up right at the beach in a quiet location and just minutes walk from the market/town - right next door to a dive and activity centre, etc).

The views are incredible (unobstructed views all along tofu beach).

The food, which is incredibly reasonable/cheap, is not only *very* tasty (prepared by an experienced chef) but also of generous proportions

The owners (Jackie and Daphne) are likely the friendliest, most helpful hosts i have come across is my many travels. They both continually work very hard to ensure that each guest is comfortable, has what he/she needs and, are very helpful in arranging transportation, activities, providing information, etc.

Casa Do Mar is only one of a very few places that have and operate a generator throughout the night when the city's electricity (which was incredibly unreliable throughout my stay) is not working - this proved to be a blessing when we still had access to a/c at night when many other people staying elsewhere had no power (and no generator) to run fans or a/c for many uncomfortable hours or even throughout the entire night.

The value is unmatched - the budget prices charged are well below what the owners could/should otherwise charge for this very high level (in my view 5star) b&b accommodation. I stayed at 2 other places on the beach, the second which was only 25$ less, but which did not have the pool, any breakfast, stunning rooms, swimming pool, helpful owners, tv room, food, etc etc etc that Casa Do Mar offers.

There is little doubt in my mind, that anyone staying at Casa Do Mar will enjoy their stay - very happy to have found and stayed at Casa Do Mar.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room if available
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dslvrstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Casa do Mar is a very confortable guest house, beautiful spacious rooms with balcony, amazing see view and airco. The accommodation rates are very reasonable compared to all the expensive neighbouring lodges. Jackie and Daphne are amazingly friendly, they really made us feel at home during the week we spent at the quest house. Breakfast was very good and served on the terrace with see view. Rooms are very clean.Highly recommended for those who search good price quality ratio, a stay at this guest house will turn your holiday into a fantastic Mozambique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house with see view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews