We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing overlooking the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Tofo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Baia with its beautiful decoration, umpretentious atmosphere and warm hospitality.
The hotel has only a few rooms and most have private terraces which makes it very intimate. Our terrace offered a wonderful view of the whole Bay and was a perfect place to relax and spot humback whales!
We liked a lot the simple architecture with little bridges joining the communal areas and the discreet decoration with local crafts. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the bathroom very large with a wonderful powerful shower. The beds are very romantic with mosquito nets which for once seemed to be only for decoration as we found no mosquitos - the staff put coils around which seemed to work.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fruits, yogurt, home-made jams and eggs (only hit and miss were the boiled eggs which were either too raw or too cooked!). They were very accommodating starting breakfast at 6am so we could fit it before our dives.
The managing couple (Gian and Stefanie) are very professional and genuinely nice who look very well after the guests!
We can't think of any suggestions! it was really perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location overlooking Tofo beach but high enough to be quiet in the evenings. The rooms were lovely, great big comfortable beds and the bathrooms were the best in Africa! The shared areas / sun loungers are really luxurious, you could be on a fancy roof terrace in Ibiza! But the best thing about Baia is without a doubt the food! The breakfast is phenomenal and ensures you don't need to eat for the rest of the day. There are also freshly cooked muffins and juice served in the afternoon. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the place was kept very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks again and again for taking the time to review our guesthouse. It's always a nice feeling to know that our clients went home with good memories and stories of their time at Baia Sonambula and beside that it's a great reward for our staff which has been working very hard to keep the standard you have mentioned.
Thank you very much from all of us!
Gian, Steffi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing time at this wonderful guesthouse! Special thanks to Stephanie and Gian for making our stay so welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakkie in the morning with unbeatable views over the ocean. A real gem of a place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Fi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Scuba diving with Diversity, Tofo Beach, during May, I was booked into the Baia Sonambula - a residence that rates as one of the best places of its type that I've stayed at whether on land or at sea. The Baia is modest in size but the "bed houses" are a boon to which to return after a morning of diving. The shower / bathroom is great. Free wi-fi off a mi-fi transmitter / no tv or invariable clutter that'd is found in orthodox hotels and who needs such clutter when the soft sand beach, great beach walks, sea breeze are all available. For a purely relaxing beach holiday I'd definitely return. Say hello to Gianni and Steffi - the managing couple who with their staff are unobtrusively available to deal with queries as they arise.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartouchewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a fantastic little gem, nestled unobtrusively amongst the casuarina trees and a lush, well-tended garden, with stunning views of Tofo Beach and the bay. This guest house has a lovely, secluded, rustic, restful intimate atmosphere; the bungalows are extremely comfortable and spacious, and the wooden breakfast and sun decks offer superb vistas. (Speaking of breakfast: delicious fresh fruit salad, home-made yoghurt and assortment of jams, fresh breads and muffins and eggs to order.) Stefanie and Gian are wonderfully warm, friendly, personable, helpful and hospitable hosts, as are the lovely local ladies who prepare the breakfasts and service the bungalows daily. You couldn't wish for a better B&B in this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What an amazing words to describe your time at Baia Sonambula. Gian and I, together with all the staff were absolutely thrilled by your review. We appreciated so much the fact that you took some time to write down a review and it never stops to please us to know that you really had a great stay at Baia. Speaking of breakfast we've just added a new jam to our selection: fresh and local Tangerine!!!
We all hope to host you again.
Gian and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

we had a wonderful holiday in Mozambique and this is mostly thanks to Steffi and Gian who manage this lovely guesthouse perfectly.
we had bungalow 2 with stunning beach view and romantic terrrace where we had candlelight
drinks in the evening before going to delicious restaurants very close by.
Breakfast in the morning was super ! Everything we could ever ask for and all fresh made.
The view of the beach in the sunrise was an extra touch every morning.
All in all , we slept like babies, found the perfect place to fully relax ! no noisy TV nor airco.
Complete package for a perfect holiday !

Thanks Steffi, Gian-Luca ! Big kiss to Prabou, the lovely house dog!
And special thanks to the ladies and men from housekeeping, guard and garden.

We love you and hope to see you back in Mozambique !!
Luc and Martina
Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martine_delaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Luc and Martina,
thank you very much for taking your time to write such a marvelous review. It was so nice to hear you could bring back home some great memories of your stay in Mozambique and it was a honor to be your host during your stay in Tofo. We know how much we all look forward for our holidays and knowing that we met your expectations it's all we could ask for. We even showed and translated your review to our ladies and they were also very happy with what you wrote. Unfortunately we couldn't do the same with Prabou!!!!
Thank you very much
Gian and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful spot and by far the best in Tofo. Bungalows are large and spacious with great mosquito nets that are nice and airy. The management is fantastic and help you with everything from getting a massage to navigating the ATM situation to loaning you a surfboard. Terrace overlooking the beach is beautiful.

Room Tip: If possible choose a bungalow that doesn't have the breakfast deck right overhead. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycwanderlustgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
0 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#4 of 10 in Tofo
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
180 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
25 reviews
2 mi away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 14 in Tofo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Sonambula Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Sonambula Guest House

Address: Praia do Tofo | Casa Barry Road, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range: $61 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baia Sonambula Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baia Sonambula Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing