We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven on earth in Tofo !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Tofo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“heaven on earth in Tofo !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

we had a wonderful holiday in Mozambique and this is mostly thanks to Steffi and Gian who manage this lovely guesthouse perfectly.
we had bungalow 2 with stunning beach view and romantic terrrace where we had candlelight
drinks in the evening before going to delicious restaurants very close by.
Breakfast in the morning was super ! Everything we could ever ask for and all fresh made.
The view of the beach in the sunrise was an extra touch every morning.
All in all , we slept like babies, found the perfect place to fully relax ! no noisy TV nor airco.
Complete package for a perfect holiday !

Thanks Steffi, Gian-Luca ! Big kiss to Prabou, the lovely house dog!
And special thanks to the ladies and men from housekeeping, guard and garden.

We love you and hope to see you back in Mozambique !!
Luc and Martina
Belgium

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martine_delaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Luc and Martina,
thank you very much for taking your time to write such a marvelous review. It was so nice to hear you could bring back home some great memories of your stay in Mozambique and it was a honor to be your host during your stay in Tofo. We know how much we all look forward for our holidays and knowing that we met your expectations it's all we could ask for. We even showed and translated your review to our ladies and they were also very happy with what you wrote. Unfortunately we couldn't do the same with Prabou!!!!
Thank you very much
Gian and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
120
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful spot and by far the best in Tofo. Bungalows are large and spacious with great mosquito nets that are nice and airy. The management is fantastic and help you with everything from getting a massage to navigating the ATM situation to loaning you a surfboard. Terrace overlooking the beach is beautiful.

Room Tip: If possible choose a bungalow that doesn't have the breakfast deck right overhead. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycwanderlustgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Baia Sonambula is such a special place in Tofo. Everything about the guest house is wonderful. The location is ideal on the beach and a short walk to everything. Great dive shop (Peri-Peri) just around the corner as added benefit. The service is great and everyone that works there is so accommodating and wants to ensure a great stay. They have a lot of special touches including wonderful menu and buffet breakfast, fruit throughout day, tea and muffins every afternoon, and an honor bar with a nice selection of drinks. The rooms are lovely - I stayed in both options and they both have their advantages but the sea view is beautiful and a great treat. All the other guests were wonderful and so friendly.

Overall a great find at a beautiful beach! I was sad to leave...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegloberover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is a small paradise. You can tell that Stefanie and Gian are on a mission. We stayed in a garden view room, which was very nice and romantic. There are so many lovely details: the home cooked marmalade at breakfast, muffins for tea, the nice view overseeing the bay. We would always come back if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruehstuecksdirektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Baia Sonambula for 10 days in April/May and we absolutely loved it! The managers are great, the staff is extremely friendly, the breakfast homemade and delicious and the rooms are lovely. Everything is clean and the minute we arrived we felt welcome and at home. We recommend the sea view bungalow, it has a great view and a nice sun bed. Enjoy a drink from the honesty bar at the sun terrace with some cashew nuts - a great way to end a sunny day at the nearby beach. It is the basic comfort (no noisy tv, no pool, no aircondition except for a fan) that made this a very special holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view bungalow is worth its price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Baia Sonambula and for taking your time to review our guesthouse. It was nice to hear all those wonderful things about us, but the best thing was to know that the minute you stepped in you felt home. That's exactly what we want our client to feel. We were absolutely thrilled to read that.
Thanks as well for reminding our future guests what they will find if staying with us: the homemade breakfast, the honesty bar (24/7), the juices and cashew nuts... The reason why Baia Sonambula doesn't have a TV or aircon it because we truly believe that such thing would spoil the peaceful, quite, relaxing atmosphere that we spoil our client with. It also brings client to the common living area, and the terrace and it so nice to see our guests slowly getting to know each other and going out for meals together as old time good friends...
Thanks again
Steffi and Gian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved Tofo, and Baia Sonambula had a big impact on that. We loved this place, the staff is amazing, just like the view, breakfast and the muffins that are prepared daily and are available to the guests. The guest house is very cozy, the staff and hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served on the roof terrace, with an outstanding view to the sea, and is very very good (homemade jam and muffins, local and fresh fruit, etc). The hosts were very helpful and gave us really good advices for Tofo (restaurants - Casa de Comer, Tofo Tofo, What u want, ..).
We really loved our stay and recommend this place. We want to come back and, for sure, we'll stay in Baía Sonambula again!

Room Tip: Double room - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Only a 30 minute ride away from Inhambane, a little paradise awaits its visitors. We loved every little detail about it: our beautiful room with local art, nice lighting and rain shower, the view over the bay, the 1-minute distance to the beach, the friendliness and hospitality of all staff, the outstanding hosts (!!!), the homemade jams and juice for breakfast, the sun terrace, the decoration and beautiful garden, the afternoon muffins they bake every day, the free wifi... I could go on for another hour. It was a wonderful stay and we're very happy to have chosen this very special place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaLegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.8 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 16 in Inhambane Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#4 of 14 in Tofo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Sonambula Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Sonambula Guest House

Property: Baia Sonambula Guest House
Address: Praia do Tofo | Casa Barry Road, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baia Sonambula Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baia Sonambula Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing