We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, brilliant managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Tofo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place, brilliant managers”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to Baia Sonambula on our honeymoon in August. After Maputo and then an eight journey we were in need of a peaceful place to kick back and enjoy, and the hotel was just perfect. A beautiful setting on the hill overlooking the bay, just on the edge of town so nice and quiet, and the bungalows were lovely. Stephanie and Gianluca were brilliant hosts, a fountain of local knowledge, and very reliable with tips for local places to eat and scuba dive. They also helped us with planning out onward journey, and arranged transfers to connect with our bus up the coast.
We were planning to stay for a couple of nights but ended up there for nearly a week! There aren't many nicer places to enjoy an afternoon drink than on the roof terrace, watching whales and their calves frolicking in the bay.
This place is a real find.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgegreenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
132
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We landed in Baia Sonambula after spending three harrowing nights in a shack in Tofo. It was new years and therefore everything was supposedly full. We managed to get a room in the main house on the second day of January and boy were we relieved!

As said by everyone the managers Stephanie and Gian are warm and welcoming, and did their best to ensure that our stay was comfortable.
The view and the location is fantastic, the lounge terrace is a treat to lie on and watch the sea and the stars. The rooms are not air-conditioned but fans do quite well there. The wifi is a complete treat in Tofo as hardly any places have that. Waking up in the morning and looking out straight at the sea is irreplaceable.
Loved the bar with the honoring system as the items were all reasonably priced and you did not need to think twice before pulling out a bottle of water or wine!

Definite must stay recommendation at a chic little place in the heart of Tofo...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
What a nice view to start another great year at Baia Sonambula. Thank you very much for the nice words you spent about us and Baia Sonambula. It was a joy for us to have you and your friends around since from the moment you walked past the gate you brought with you a great amount of positive energy that spread around the guesthouse. It was nice to see our guests becoming friend with other guests and enjoying the view and the drinks from the terrace. It made us happy because that's exactly what we want this place to be: a place where you come as guest and leave us a friend.
Thanks a lot
Steffi and Gian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at Baia for 6 nights in early Dec and enjoyed the room, management and location. As a general note for people traveling to Tofo, it is still very much a developing country, so expect to have random black outs, not the cleanest water, ants and bugs here and there and lunch from places that have a dirt floor and a tin roof (in town). If you are looking for a built-up resort town, Tofo is not for you. If you are looking for a rustic, still-developing, off the beaten path, beautiful spot to enjoy some diving, then Tofo is for you.
The rooms here are very nice and well designed. The patio has tables and lounge chairs that overlook the bay, which is great after a long day of diving or for breakfast in the morning. They have free, reliable wi-fi and a good breakfast spread as well.
The location is just off the beach and about a 5 min walk to town. Peri-Peri divers is about a 2 min walk and the Diversity Scuba is in the middle of town. I walked alone at night a lot and never felt unsafe.
The managers, Stefanie and her boyfriend are very nice and accommodating. I was only supposed to be here for 3 nights, but after I went to the other hotel across the bay and saw their rooms, I came back to Baia right away and cancelled my other room.
As a side note, I left my credit card one night at Casa de Comer and the server gave it to the owner (he owns Baia and Casa Comer), who recognized my name and he returned my credit card to me the next day. I couldn't have been more grateful.
So, come to Tofo, stay at Baia Sonambula, enjoy some amazing diving, see some Manta Rays and Whale Sharks (which I missed!).

Room Tip: I had a garden style room (#4), but the sea view rooms are worth the extra money if you can afford i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZTraveler_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It never stops to please us when we read one of our client had such a great stay with us, and it was also good to know your experience about Tofo. You're right Mozambique and Tofo are still developing, but we don't have to forget about the locals and how nice and wonderful people they really are. As baia sonambula and casa de comer we are very proud of our workers (it was Karlos who found the credit card) and we try our best to create a team that will make all our guest feel at home.
Thank you again
Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a couple of days in October. Gianluca the manager is very concerned to provide a comfortable place. He even mixes drinks with ingredients you can only get from the capital. Location is also good. I really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights and it is a great place. Location is perfect. beach is fantastic.
very quiet and calm but near the tofo center (with only a few restaurants - we recommend tofo tofo! - the best restaurant)
Thanks to the manager of the Hotel Italian - Gianluca. Really friendly That help us a lot with recommendations, etc
Ciau to Gianluca and the ladies of the breakfast!
Miss Tofo a lot!
;)
Rui, Luis, Ana and Catarina

Room Tip: The bungalow are perfect but much more expensive than the normal bedrooms If you have the budget, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmingportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you guys very much for your review. It was a great pleasure to know that you had a great time with us and in Tofo. It was very nice to have you around and I really enjoed the conversations about our respectives guesthouse, what works what could be done better and so on... Hope to see you in Colombia or Portugal, not before i've seen all my projects come to reality here in Baia Sonambula.
Thank you very much
Gian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Baia Sonambula has great location with amazing views on Tofo beach. Breakfast on the terrace in a delight and the young couple of managers are extremely helpful and will do everything to make your stay perfect.
However the rooms (we stayed in a sea view bungalow) are very expensive and offer basic comfort (no air conditioning and no natural ventilation, outdated bathrooms ect)

Room Tip: Sea view bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We are on our honeymoon in Mozambique and this is by far the best accommodation we have found throughout our trip. Gian and Stephanie are wonderful hosts and really are dedicated to making your stay as comfortable as possible and attending to your every needs. Throughout our stay they were taking the opportunity to paint some of the rooms and improve the garden area so divers have places to hang their wetsuits and equipment at the end of the day. The guest house is perfectly located just set back from the beach but with wonderful views of the bay. There is a great sun deck complete with comfy sun loungers and a lovely breeze so you dont get too hot. Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of choices and some incredible home made delights including several different flavours of locally produced marmalades together with homemade peanut butter and granola. Hot food is also made to order and guests can use the kitchen over the rest of the day and help themselves to tea and coffee. I cannot recommend this place enough and if possible try to stay in one of the rooms at the front with sea views which although slightly more expensive is worth the extra money. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and for all your help with organising an incredible massage and transfers to Inhambane.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and continually redecorated and very well cared for. If possible try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.8 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 18 in Inhambane Province
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
172 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
75 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Sonambula Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Sonambula Guest House

Property: Baia Sonambula Guest House
Address: Praia do Tofo | Casa Barry Road, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia Sonambula Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baia Sonambula Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing