We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mozambique”
Review of Casa Barry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Barry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tofo
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mozambique”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Barry Lodge on two occasions. Both have been absolutely marvelous. There beaches are fine white sand and the sea lovely and warm. If you love seafood this place is superb. High recommended for divers and all beach holidaymakers. Going again in three weeks. cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntanned2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    57
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
51
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying in a basic cabana it was a very relaxing way to spend three nights. We loved the location and the pricey restaurant overlooked beautiful Tofo beach. We were a late night walk-in and the negotiated rate wasn't that reasonable - but we really wanted to stay. Internet access depended upon the top-up of their prepaid account. The service was courteous until we encountered a problem. We thought our issue that we had taken up with two staff members had been resolved to everyone's mutual satisfaction. It wasn't until we checked-out that we realised it was all just lip-service. We left with a bitter taste of what had actually been a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Casa Barry is one of the best places in Tofo with a number of independant rather large straw cottages, most of them with a splendid view. It can be a bit noisy due to the straw roofs that let pass all sounds like a baby crying in the house beside you. You can stay there easiliy with a family and enjoy the nice food and very pleasant restaurant.
Some nights there are interesting presentations about he sea wildlife and protection programs.
I would absolutely recommend it, if it was not for the rather high price, even with discount they ask.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have visited Casa Barry 3 times now, and am already planning my next visit.
The Restaurant/Bar is the only place in Tofu that has all the sports coverage, and they have a great new menu. The food is the best in Tofu, and my mother-in-law says they have the best chips she has ever tasted.

We stayed in Chalet 2. It is so close to the beach & listening to the waves make it very relaxing. It is rustic, very clean and has all the essentials for a perfect holiday.

The regular Manta & Whale shark talks given by the Scientists from the Marine Research Centre at the lodge are informative & worth listening to.

We went on an estuary tour offered by Casa Barry, and were able to explore the area and see star fish, pansy shells & a number of other small marine life that wwe wouldn't have seen otherwise. They also offer Ocean Safari's where you can swim with the Manta & Whale Sharks - don't miss this wonderful experience.

I can't wait to visit again.
Thank you Casa Barry for a wonderful piece of heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Cabana was clean airy and spacious. Comfy beds. Slightly aged incongruous shower. Great view from balcony. Daily cleaning. Hand washing of clothes available. Kim in reception lovely and very helpful. Restaurant was biggest problem - very very very expensive compared to elsewhere in Tofo and the food was below average quality. Do yourself a favour, stay here but definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed during my overland tour with 3 others in a casita with 2 bedrooms, ablutions and kitchen. The got new beds and on the 14day trip I had the best sleep ever with the sound of the waves in the background. The rooms don't have separate ceilings below the casita rooftop. The place was clean and the service was good. The lodge offers wifi, but it is not working all the time. If you don't dive or surf there is not that much to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Casa Barrys big selling point is #1 its location being Tofu beach and 2# its specific location at the end of the bay. Otherwise, its main attraction for us was that it is location of the Marine Megafauna Foundation and venue for their 3x a week marine talks (very worthwhile and highly recommended). But you dont have to stay at Casa Barry to visit the foundation research centre (very modest little place) or to join the talks.
We stayed as part of an overall trip and I propbably wouldn,t choose to stay at CB again.
Overall the casistas are nice (we had a good beach view) but there is NO privacy at all given they are 2/3 room affairs - the walls don't come up to the ceiling so its privacy from view but not from sounds (includes the bathrooms!). So ok if you are a family maybe but for friends it might be a little too close for comfort.
The casitas are self-catering but we didn't use the kitchen save for the last night when we had a BBQ. The gas BBQ on the large veranda is a great asset - generally the kitchen was well stocked for equipement for a SC unit but we had to wash everthing before we used it - there was clear evidence of mice in the crockery cupboard - say no more!
The servicing of the room was great though they only seemed to have one key for the rooms so if you took the key with you it didn't get cleaned....
The restaurant was rather disappointing; VERY expensive (we are talking London prices for a burger and chips). The food was OK, perfectly nice, but the menu is fairly limited and the service was quite dire so there was nothing to justify the exorbitant cost. We only ate there when we really couldnt be bothered to walk to somewhere else further down the beach, or when it was raining! The service was very slow and often things got confused/mixed up but to be fair, we found this to be fairly standard in Tofu - just don't expect speedy service - which is fine most of the time as you are on vacaction! (its just a pain if you are actually on a deadline for getting to the dive centre for example!).

Overall - its not somewhere I would choose to stay again - the location definitely but not the accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDev_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.9 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 18 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 19 in Inhambane
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
4.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barry Lodge

Property: Casa Barry Lodge
Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Barry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Barry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing