We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Top Storey B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Storey B&B
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A great location with very congenial hosts. Jane and Ian have a lot of information to make your stay in the area enjoyable. A great garden. Make sure you try the good food at the nearby Parua Bay pub.

Room Tip: Upper floor has all the facilities and room that you could need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I needed somewhere I could space out (usually I go to a motel) but my usual accommodation was booked out. I need peace and quiet after work so I can write reports... and this accommodation is indeed very private. I had everything I wanted: TV, wifi, a full cupboard of dishes and utensils. Undercover parking. Easy access for bags etc. A lovely back garden which the dogs and I enjoyed. Very peaceful! And fresh fruit: feijoas, guavas, yum! Some lovely walks in the area and a great dog playground up the road at Pohe Island. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our stay at Top Storey was definitely one of the highlights of our road trip! Jane and Ian were some of the most loveliest people we have ever met. They were kind and welcoming and super duper friendly! Our rooms were cosy and welcoming! We stayed upstairs and pretty much had the whole space to ourselves. We enjoyed a game of pool and watched some tv in the lounge area. There was a kitchnette with teas and coffee which was perfect for my father who tends to wake up around 5am in a desperate search for coffee while most people are still fast asleep! Breakfast was absolutely divine! I truly looked forward to that and wished we had stayed longer then just 2 days. Ian is an absolute character and a fantastic builder....if Nadeem and I move up north we will contact you to build us our dream house ;-) Jane is just the greatest thing since sliced bread and even made sure we left with some homemade jam! We love it!!! Nadeem, Mike and Jess hope you enjoyed our company, even the elusive Mike, he's better now! and we hope you liked our dinner together as much as we did! Looking forward to spending more time with you in the future! Cheers xx

Room Tip: Place upstairs is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Jane and Ian are wonderful hosts, they are really enjoying having guests. the house is very cozy,
It was great fun playing billiard with them. Breakfast was delicious, all fresh made by Jane.
Our son had bad back problems, they got us an immediate appointment with the local physio.
They really care about their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at top storey apartment one night. The rooms were nice, clean. The hosts Jane and Ian very friendly, we enjoyed our little conversations. Good value for money and beautiful location. Would recommend the ocean beach 25 min from the B&B

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had booked for one night in the Garden Unit and were upgraded to the Top Storey Apartment, we loved the location and the hospitality and booked a second night. Ian gave us the grand tour of his garden and we got to eat bananas from his banana palm :)

Breakfast was great, lots of options with cereals, spreads, yoghurt, fruit and along with a cooked option that kept us going all morning.

Jane and Ian were very helpful with their local knowledge of the area and gave us lots of tips on places to see and things to do.

Would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked 2 nights in the Garden Studio at Top Storey B&B as a base to explore Whangarei and the Northlands. The room was comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchenette, spacious bathroom and also a nice little outdoor area that overlooked the garden. The heater and hot water bottles in the room made it very cosy when the cold winter nights drew in, and they had a small DVD library for those that fancy a night in watching a film.

Jane and Ian were amazing hosts and made us feel very welcome. Their knowledge of the local area was vast and they gave us many useful tips about things to do during our stay and we learned a lot about the native wildlife over our breakfast chats - they made us a wonderful breakfast of cereals, toast, homemade jams, bacon, eggs and hash browns - delicious! We also got to sample some of their home-grown fruits in their garden - the small bananas and oranges were very tasty!

We would definitely recommend Top Storey B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Whangarei region and would like to thank Jane and Ian for being such lovely hosts - we definitely hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_B_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei Heads
2.5 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Top Storey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Storey B&B

Property: Top Storey B&B
Address: RD4 Tamaterau 73 Scott Road RD 4, Whangarei Heads 0174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei Heads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Northland adventure with us as a base. Located 20 minutes east of Whangarei in spectacular Whangarei Heads area. Spacious family home. Quiet and peaceful. Short drive to ocean beaches, walks, golf. Day trips to Bay of Islands, West Coast, Northland's coastal areas and attractions made easily. Top Storey two bedroom apartment with water views.Sleeps up to 6. Garden unit open plan.Sleeps 4. Friendly pets only allowed in Garden unit. Self catering facilities. Restaurants short drive. Continental/cooked breakfast. Enjoy our home and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing