We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, very charming”
Review of Top Storey B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Storey B&B
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, very charming”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at top storey apartment one night. The rooms were nice, clean. The hosts Jane and Ian very friendly, we enjoyed our little conversations. Good value for money and beautiful location. Would recommend the ocean beach 25 min from the B&B

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had booked for one night in the Garden Unit and were upgraded to the Top Storey Apartment, we loved the location and the hospitality and booked a second night. Ian gave us the grand tour of his garden and we got to eat bananas from his banana palm :)

Breakfast was great, lots of options with cereals, spreads, yoghurt, fruit and along with a cooked option that kept us going all morning.

Jane and Ian were very helpful with their local knowledge of the area and gave us lots of tips on places to see and things to do.

Would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked 2 nights in the Garden Studio at Top Storey B&B as a base to explore Whangarei and the Northlands. The room was comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchenette, spacious bathroom and also a nice little outdoor area that overlooked the garden. The heater and hot water bottles in the room made it very cosy when the cold winter nights drew in, and they had a small DVD library for those that fancy a night in watching a film.

Jane and Ian were amazing hosts and made us feel very welcome. Their knowledge of the local area was vast and they gave us many useful tips about things to do during our stay and we learned a lot about the native wildlife over our breakfast chats - they made us a wonderful breakfast of cereals, toast, homemade jams, bacon, eggs and hash browns - delicious! We also got to sample some of their home-grown fruits in their garden - the small bananas and oranges were very tasty!

We would definitely recommend Top Storey B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Whangarei region and would like to thank Jane and Ian for being such lovely hosts - we definitely hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_B_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My son and I stayed 5 nights in the Garden Unit. It was simply decorated but provided a great base with quite a bit of space, a flat screen TV, DVD player, kitchen with microwave and mini oven, and good black-out curtains. We were warm and cosy in winter with a heater and hot water bottles. The large shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Eco-friendly shower products are provided. Parking is under cover. There are many DVDs available to borrow and the wifi was great. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. Best of all are the caring and friendly hosts Jane and Ian. From the time we arrived they did their best to help us in every way, including local information but also being very kind to my young son, enjoying conversation with the guests at breakfast, and going above and beyond, for example offering to check my car's oil and water levels. We left feeling very taken care of, and would love to go back some day. We would encourage other families to stay in Top Storey! Thanks again Jane and Ian!

Room Tip: The garden room is a good budget choice, while upstairs has more space, just like an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ian and Jane provided the very best in hospitality a bed and breakfast can offer during our week stay., even the westher was good. We tested out the elderly friendly tag well and truly by dividing our week taking both of our elderly mothers for a few days each. Jane has the facilities set up eg bathroom which made them feel comfortable. For my husband and I we enjoyed the relaxed environment of the garden unit. We were able to enjoy the fruits from the vege and herb gardens, Ian's pride and joy. Thank you Ian and Jane - we hope to see you again someday. Di and Greg Adelaide

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the top apartment which was spacious and air conditioned. The bed was clean and comfy if a little bouncier than we are used to and the kitchenette was well equipped for self catering if you so wish. There is however a very good tavern at Parua Bay about 3ks distance, which serves good reasonably priced meals.
Breakfasts were sumptuous with fruit, cereal, yogurt and anything you liked in the way of a cooked breakfast. Jane's poached eggs followed by homemade preserves and toast were a great hit.
Tony celebrated his 65 birthday while we were there and Jane made him a surprise Birthday cake which was very sweet of her and we enjoyed sharing with her and Ian...they are two wonderfully friendly people who made our stay in New Zealand so memorable.
Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed one night at this B&B in Whangarei in January 2013. It is a very friendly place to stay, comfy beds, relaxed easy atmosphere and an excellent brekkie! Jane and Ian were very friendly hosts and made you feel very welcome. The home made Jams a treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Storey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Storey B&B

Property: Top Storey B&B
Address: RD4 Tamaterau 73 Scott Road RD 4, Whangarei Heads 0174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei Heads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Northland adventure with us as a base. Located 20 minutes east of Whangarei in spectacular Whangarei Heads area. Spacious family home. Quiet and peaceful. Short drive to ocean beaches, walks, golf. Day trips to Bay of Islands, West Coast, Northland's coastal areas and attractions made easily. Top Storey two bedroom apartment with water views.Sleeps up to 6. Garden unit open plan.Sleeps 4. Friendly pets only allowed in Garden unit. Self catering facilities. Restaurants short drive. Continental/cooked breakfast. Enjoy our home and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing