We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of Top Storey B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Storey B&B
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ian and Jane provided the very best in hospitality a bed and breakfast can offer during our week stay., even the westher was good. We tested out the elderly friendly tag well and truly by dividing our week taking both of our elderly mothers for a few days each. Jane has the facilities set up eg bathroom which made them feel comfortable. For my husband and I we enjoyed the relaxed environment of the garden unit. We were able to enjoy the fruits from the vege and herb gardens, Ian's pride and joy. Thank you Ian and Jane - we hope to see you again someday. Di and Greg Adelaide

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the top apartment which was spacious and air conditioned. The bed was clean and comfy if a little bouncier than we are used to and the kitchenette was well equipped for self catering if you so wish. There is however a very good tavern at Parua Bay about 3ks distance, which serves good reasonably priced meals.
Breakfasts were sumptuous with fruit, cereal, yogurt and anything you liked in the way of a cooked breakfast. Jane's poached eggs followed by homemade preserves and toast were a great hit.
Tony celebrated his 65 birthday while we were there and Jane made him a surprise Birthday cake which was very sweet of her and we enjoyed sharing with her and Ian...they are two wonderfully friendly people who made our stay in New Zealand so memorable.
Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed one night at this B&B in Whangarei in January 2013. It is a very friendly place to stay, comfy beds, relaxed easy atmosphere and an excellent brekkie! Jane and Ian were very friendly hosts and made you feel very welcome. The home made Jams a treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abersoch
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Capacious top storey apartment with air con, 2 bedrooms, kitchenette, large lounge with pool table and all ameneties. House full of character and interest with gardens to match. Tranquil location with sea views. Hosts extremely friendly and welcoming. First class breakfast including full English if desired. An impressive array of delicious home made jams, marmalade and banana cake. A real pleasure to stay there. Thank you Ian and Jane from Terry Jean and Felicity

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is one I go back to time and again. The owners/operators are a lovely couple who pride themselves in looking after their guests. It's quiet, spacious and clean and the bed is comfortable. The home-made jams and juice are wonderful too. It's not right in town but it's worth the drive. Both rooms have a kitchen so you can make your own meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Jane & Ians establishment this last weekend.
The facility is excellent and their friendliness and service is very very good.
The breakfast and varieties of Jams was very enjoyable.
Highly recommended and we will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

neat small studio, very comfortable with all needed. friendly host couple with many interests, beautiful garden, excellent location out from city and onto Heads. great base for tramps.
wonderful breakfast with bay view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Storey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Storey B&B

Property: Top Storey B&B
Address: RD4 Tamaterau 73 Scott Road RD 4, Whangarei Heads 0174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei Heads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Northland adventure with us as a base. Located 20 minutes east of Whangarei in spectacular Whangarei Heads area. Spacious family home. Quiet and peaceful. Short drive to ocean beaches, walks, golf. Day trips to Bay of Islands, West Coast, Northland's coastal areas and attractions made easily. Top Storey two bedroom apartment with water views.Sleeps up to 6. Garden unit open plan.Sleeps 4. Friendly pets only allowed in Garden unit. Self catering facilities. Restaurants short drive. Continental/cooked breakfast. Enjoy our home and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing