We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt right at home!”
Review of Top Storey B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Storey B&B
Michigan
2 reviews
“We felt right at home!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the garden unit for three nights and couldn't have asked for better hosts. Jane and Ian were so friendly and helpful by giving us suggestions on the best things to see on the island. Jane was very accommodating with breakfast on the days we wanted to be out exploring as the sun came up. The room was very large with a kitchen and direct access to the relaxing backyard. The location of the B&B was great for us to explore the North Island in day trips. We both will highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sing1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I had our original plans fall through, and we ended up crashing here last minute. It was the best accident of our entire trip!! They have 2 separate B&B areas, one downstairs and one up, and both are large enough for families of 4 - easily. My husband and I stayed in the downstairs, which had full kitchen, full bathroom, and it's own entrance if you want privacy. There's a tavern not too far up the road so we were able to catch a rugby match and a beer before bed. The couple that owns the place are wonderfully friendly and helpful, we left the next morning with full stomachs from a cooked breakfast, tons of advice on things to do in the area, and a dozen or so maps to get us there. I know if we end up in that part of the world again, we will be staying here! (This time we'll give you some notice :D ) Thanks Jane and Ian for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evil_redhead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Had a great two night stay. Great hospitality, assistance to locate restaurants and directions whenever we needed. Thanks Jane and Ian!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just had the pleasure of staying overnight in our first B&B in the Garden Cottage at Top Storey B&B Parua Bay.Thanks to wonderful hosts, and very clean and comfortable facilities, I will be recommending to friends heading North, and will most certainly come back. Julie Johnson....Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

After a few days in Auckland we stayed at Top Storey for 4 nights on our way up to the Bay of Islands. We were given a very warm welcome by Jane & Ian & were very pleased with our comfortable Garden Room. Every morning Jane provided a delicious breakfast which included home-made jams & tomatoes from the garden.
Jane gave us advice on places to visit in the area & on where to eat, both being invaluable. We went to a wonderful secluded bay at Matauri which was so lovely that we spent the best part of two days there.
We felt we had made real friends in Jane & Ian & would definitely recommend Top Storey as a B&B to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domski051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay here. The accommodation was spacious and the bonus for our 17 yr old son was the pool table-what more does a teenager need? As we arrived in the late afternoon of a very hot humid day our upstairs accommodation was very hot - however we soon enjoyed lovely cool rooms thanks to the air conditioner.
A very tranquil spot, close to everything and overlooking the harbour. We enjoyed the beautiful garden and Jane and Ian were the perfect hosts. A delicious breakfast awaited us next morning, either continental or cooked, with great choice including homemade jams. Thankyou Jane and Ian.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We made an online booking, paid in full and received a booking confirmation email.

Upon arrival Jane informed us that there was a double booking due to her using multiple online booking systems and that she'd arranged accommodation for us at a B&B around the corner. We'd booked two rooms with TV and A/C, this was one room without A/C or TV, although cheaper this would not have been our choice.

She promptly refunded us which was great, but she should have phoned us as soon as she realised the mistake rather than waiting for us to arrive first, and me having to drive around to draw cash to pay for accommodation as the second place did not take EFTpos wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanschalkwykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsjane, Owner at Top Storey B&B, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
I thank you for your comments and your initial booking. I accept your point totally, and apologise.This is the ONLY time this has ever happened since December 2005 when I started the B&B.

Both parties who had booked arrived within an hour of each other. I had not picked up the problem until the first party arrived. I had been extremely busy and realised with a jolt what had happened !!!! I did not telephone as it was really too late as you were due to arrive and I concentrated on finding some accommodation for you. I knew that accommodation was very scarce all over the area. I found some with a neighbour in her private home who sometimes does B&B. Luckily just down the road and closer to the beach. I am sorry it was not comparable with what you had booked with me - you did have a clean and comfortable place to stay without the hassle of finding somwhere late in the day.

Again my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Storey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Storey B&B

Property: Top Storey B&B
Address: RD4 Tamaterau 73 Scott Road RD 4, Whangarei Heads 0174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei Heads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Northland adventure with us as a base. Located 20 minutes east of Whangarei in spectacular Whangarei Heads area. Spacious family home. Quiet and peaceful. Short drive to ocean beaches, walks, golf. Day trips to Bay of Islands, West Coast, Northland's coastal areas and attractions made easily. Top Storey two bedroom apartment with water views.Sleeps up to 6. Garden unit open plan.Sleeps 4. Friendly pets only allowed in Garden unit. Self catering facilities. Restaurants short drive. Continental/cooked breakfast. Enjoy our home and hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing