We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$108
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
L'heureux Hasard(Contres)(Great Value!)
$35
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Vieux Fusil(Soings-en-Sologne)
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
105
26
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
26
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall towndecent pricecomfortable roomsbeautiful gardenpavilionvictorcharmhostschateauxloiresalonweather
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 143 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2015

We booked this place on Booking.com and saw the photo of the rooms. We were even asked if we wanted a ground floor room. When we got to this very impressive looking place, the owner told us, that they will never give the good rooms to Booking.com, and we got a small room in the attic for 144 euros a night..(the real price is 184 euros). Not looking like the photo!! We did tell the owner we are not happy. The room is small, number 8. The bathroom is big. We could not open the windows at night, because of all the pigeons there...sitting at the window. Dinner was not impressive, we chose the lobster, it was tough. Breakfast nothing special!! We did find the lady who could speak English very helpful and kind. This place we cannot recommend at this price!

Room Tip: not the rooms 7 and 8.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank diplomatBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Canada
11
Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to this Manoir for a romantic weekend and it was perfect ! Food was simple yet very good, the room was very comfortable (hadn't slept like that in some time) and the breakfast was very nice. Perfect for a relaxing weekend far from the city bustle. The whole place has a great atmosphere and since there are only a few rooms (8 I think) it doesn't get loud. In the evening the ground floor is also a restaurant which gives it a warm atmosphere and in the morning there are fewer people so perfect if you need a slow start. The activities around are mainly visiting castles (the Chateaux de Cheverny is only 10 kms away). All in all: perfect weekend !

Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights: 10th - 12th August 2014.
Do not look any further if you require a quality, small, family-run hotel in the Loire Valley where the dining is the "unique selling point".
Only time and distance holds us back from returning to this absolute gem of a hotel and especially the restaurant!
We stayed in three hotels across central and south west France during August 2014. The other two deserve 4.5 or so ratings - but this was easily the hotel which deserves a 5+ rating. A hotel which we would recommend to good friends and we long to return to. ( It might not be the "done thing" to mention other Reviews, but I really cannot understand or support a recent review here, entitled: “Lovely manoir - dining average”. I guess it's all about expectations and the context of where you have stayed before... Our context: Hotel Manoir de Contres was our first 'proper' hotel experience in France in three holidays there. )

Manoir de Contres is a small, family-run hotel - the home of Maria and Victor Orsenne and their friendly dog, Otello. Lovely hosts. Welcoming. Friendly. Helpful. I hate to admit that my French is still poor, but Maria and Victor did not seem to mind speaking English with us.

The couple are experienced, semi-retired Parisenne hoteliers and restaurateurs who lovingly restored this “mock” châteaux, close to the centre of Contres. Beautiful grounds, full of tall trees. Set well back from the main road. Peaceful. Relaxing.

We stayed in bedroom no. 5 on the second floor. Modern and comfortable, but sympathetic to the old manor house. We particularly liked our bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Crisp linen on the bed and thick towels. Free Wi-Fi.

The lounge and dining room (just sixteen covers) are traditional, charming, with a relaxed, peaceful, warm and welcoming feel. After a relaxed and interesting day in nearby Blois and the grounds of Châteaux Beauregard, we returned to the hotel for, quite possibly, the most enjoyable, romantic, relaxing and tasty meal I have ever eaten: Victor's Fois Gras is deservedly legendary! Followed by delicious lamb cutlets, then excellent local cheeses, and rounded off with truly fresh, local raspberries for dessert. Preceded by relaxing drinks in the lounge, and followed by a quality cognac and coffee - a late night. This is France, so we ate many good meals during our two week holiday, but this was easily the best meal. We will certainly dine there every night when we stay at Manoir de Contres again.

Breakfast on the terrace (which we did not take until nearly 11am!) was also very good: genuinely fresh orange juice, delicious 'proper coffee', excellent homemade compote (jam) to accompany fresh croissants.

Tips:
1. Sunday evenings: be prepared for the hotel restaurant not being open on Sunday evenings and, in August at least, there are just two, small pizza restaurants open in Contres on Sunday evenings.
2. The hotel is on a bend, on the right, just a few hundred metres south of the centre of Contres. Easy to miss.
3. We highly recommend the wine cave which Victor recommended to us in Saint-Romain-sur-Cher: Le Domaine du Chapitre, a few kilometres south of Contres. We love their Loir-et-Cher wines.

Thank you Victor and Maria for a perfect two day break on our journey to SW France.

Room Tip: Room 5. Second floor. Rear. Overlooking garden. Lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2014

There is no doubt that this is a lovely manoir - an oasis in a rural area. The rooms were spotlessly clean and in good decorative order. It was a wonderful relief to have a hot bath in a long tub, very relaxing. The Patron was very welcoming and preferred to speak in English- fair enough as his English was better than our French. He is very proud of the lift, which he demonstrated to us and showed how the doors automatically opened at each floor- only they didn't with us, they kind of got stuck. If you have got legs it's probably best to use the stairs. The dining room is fine if you don't mind sitting cheek by jowl with the French clientele. Food good- a bit of a wait between courses. If you like mashed potato and carrots with everything then you will feel at home here. They accompanied all the mains - except the steak which came with frites. So the pork, lamb and scallops! all came with mash and carrots, a bit limited really. The patron was droll and charming and his wife resembled a tall aristocratic English lady, and she also was very charming and spoke perfect English. So, like the curate's egg, good in parts! But the dining is not the best part- however breakfast was good and fresh even if- yet again- we had to wait.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColinF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights when attending a friend's birthday celebrations at Chemery. It's a beautiful looking stately old home in the very quiet town of Contres. We had a wonderful stay. Maria and Victor looked after us very well. We had an enormous room with an equally enormous bathroom and large bath. The interior of the hotel is charming with a very relaxed, warm feel to it. We only had one dinner at the hotel and it was excellent. Breakfasts were also very good.
I can highly recommend this hotel as an excellent spot to base yourself when exploring the Loire Valley (providing you have a car). But try and avoid Sunday as the hotel doesn't do dinner on Sundays and there seemed to be nothing open in Contres on Sunday nights.
This is not the cheapest place to stay in the area but it has to be one of the best.
I will happily stay there again.
Charlie, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews