We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow to portions”

The Cricketers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wow to portions”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Six of us dined at The Cricketers last night and felt very welcome by the extremely friendly and pleasant staff. The inside of the pub was warm, comfortable and festive with a good atmosphere (some well oiled regulars seemed to be enjoying it too, without being intrusive or offensive). When the food arrived we all had the same reaction, hilarity at the size of portions - in fact insane. The starters would have been large as a main course, one tip might be to share (wish we'd known). When the main course arrived we almost exploded with laughter, does Billy Bunter live close or Desperate Dan? Cow pie could most certainly have been on the menu which was slightly dated. I would love this place to do well, it has all the right ingredients (nice pub, position and fabulous staff) but surely they could address the menu and portion control very easily.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere village pub”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Went here last week to celebrate my birthday with some friends. Sweet little village pub, with friendly staff; they'd set up helium balloons on our table and had everything organised for our evening. I had home-made steak and kidney PUDDING, which was delicious - and comes in two sizes! (I had the large one - it WAS my birthday!!). Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. So would recommend for family/friends get-togethers.

Helpful?
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Village Pub”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Super pub in all seasons, watch cricket on the greenduring the summer, or huddle around a log fire during winter. Good food, and beer, friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Not a cheap pub but the food was very good and friendly service would happily eat here again

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank zedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good but not outstanding”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Food was quite OK, but nothing to make it stand out from the crowd. Service varied a bit from friendly and uninformed to knowledgeable with attitude. Perhaps more popular for drinking than eating?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers Arms also viewed

 
Billingshurst, West Sussex
Wisborough Green, Billingshurst
 
Billingshurst, West Sussex
Billingshurst, West Sussex
 

Been to The Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing