We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Trip Advisor's 5 Star status”
Review of Old Pond Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Pond Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Excellent B&B in a lovely location with easy parking. Warm and friendly hosts, clean and tastefully decorated room with extra added touches of home made shortbread and fresh milk. Pure luxury....you may not want to go home!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. The hospitality was great and very welcoming, thanks Sandie. The room was beautifully presented and we were very well looked after. It’s a picturesque part of the country and we will definitely return. Really good weekly farmers market, 2mins walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikau22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have just visited Old Pond Cottage for the third time (its an annual event). The welcome is warm and friendly. The accommodation is excellent and just like being at home. The breakfast is a true delight with supprises such as their own made grenola. Locally there are a number of good pubs and restaraunts within the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter9000red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

A wonderfully warm welcome on arrival, and an ease and kindness throughout our stay that made our hosts seem more like old friends we hadn't seen for some time. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent. Definitely somewhere to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuddhaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Sandie & Brian gave us such a warm welcome. The bedroom was beautifully warm and cosy but spacious, the bathroom was luxurious and spotlessly clean, the dining room was very homely and the food at breakfast was simply marvelous! All around were those little touches that made the whole place feel like a home from home and the village setting is so picturesque, a real slice of old England. When we're down that way again to see friends, we know where we're staying!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vmaxbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Old Pond Cottage B&B with Sandie and Brian for just two nights; we wished it could have been more, next time perhaps. By chance our stay coincided with the hot air balloon festival at Wisborough Green which simply put “the icing on the cake”.

Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming and the room and facilities could not have been better and the breakfasts were first class . The village of Wisborough Green is the quintessential English village with a cricket pitch on the green and two first class pubs and of course the picturesque duck pond.

Wisborough Green is centrally located on A272 with lots of really interesting spots to visit. Our time was limited but we managed to fit in the Roman Palace at Fishbourne and the Mary Rose museum at Portsmouth.

All in all an excellent B&B, strongly recommended. I’m sure we will stay here again when we next visit the UK.

Barry & Maureen Payne
Winnipeg, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildrosebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Just a one night stay during our week holiday in the south of England but the best one we had. To be compared with a 5-star hotel we would say. Also the people are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppjheisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Pond Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pond Cottage

Address: Old Pond Cottage Billingshurst Road | Billingshurst, West Sussex, Wisborough Green, Billingshurst RH14 0DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Wisborough Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wisborough Green
Price Range: $114 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Sussex, on the edge of the South Downs National Park, and within easy reach of the coast, Petworth, Chichester and Gatwick Airport. The ideal stop-over with all the local amenities of this timeless village just a short stroll away. Set between the church, the village pond and the village green, there are two lovely pubs in the village, for your evening meal - or perhaps to watch cricket on the beautiful village green. If you want to explore Sussex whilst staying a quintessentially English Village, then this is the place for you! Whether for one or two nights, or longer, we will do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We have plenty of local knowledge, and use local, organic ingredients in our breakfasts, which are included in the price. We have three rooms, a double (also used as a single at reduced rate, a twin with bath and shower, and a larger twin, which also has two large sofa chairs, which are not only lovely and comfortable to watch the large flat screen television, but are so useful as beds for extra guests, whether a family, or a larger group of people wishing to stay. All rooms have bright clean en-suite bathrooms, fluffy towels and complementary toiletries, radio, alarm clock and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Pond Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing