We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming people lovely room excellent breakfast”
Review of Old Pond Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Pond Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stay here and its like staying with old friends who make you feel right at home from the tea and cake on arival to the spacious room that is spotless and beautifully dressed. we slept sound after an excellent meal in the pub down in the corner of the green and had a breakfast that set us up for the day that was truly first class. I can only echo what every one else has said.

mike and emma the motorcyclists with lots of luggage stayed here on the way down to portsmouth on the way to spain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived to a lovely pot of tea and slice of cake, Sandie was helpful, polite & made us feel at home. Sandie suggested we book a taxi for the next morning if need be and arranged it for us. The room was spacious and beautifully designed, you could really see that a lot of care had been taken. The bathroom was of a very high standard.

We were able to have a lovely cup of tea in the morning thanks to the thoughtful flask of fresh milk left outside our door in the morning - it was these touches that made is special.

The breakfast was fantastic, so tasty & gorgeous homemade granola.

It was the perfect place to stay for a break in Sussex. Thank you Sandie & Brian

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Being ranked "1 of 1" might seem to not be saying much, but if there were 20 B&B's in Wisborough Green I think the Old Pond Cottage would still be ranked number one.

We stayed for 5 nights and it seemed a shame to leave.

The village is charming, and the location in West Sussex is simply gorgeous. It's also a pretty good location to stay if you're attending an event at Goodwood (as we were), since most people seem to stay on the Chichester side, which means traffic isn't likely to be a problem for you.

The Old Pond Cottage has everything you'd expect, and then a little more. Fresh quality bed and bath linen, rooms with en-suites, and perfect hosts. Brian and Sandie really went out of their way to make us feel at home, and took a genuine interest in us and our needs. Little things like home-made shortbread (very good!) in the room and fresh milk at your door each morning were thoughtful touches. Breakfasts were also a treat and if you can manage a hot breakfast every day you won't be disappointed with the quality and taste. Even if you stick with cereals and fruit you'll be content.

The cottage is right next door to a very good pub, and there's another pub just around the corner. Billingshurst is the nearest larger town and has a train connection with London (a bit over an hour).

Room Tip: The room at the rear of the cottage overlooks the garden and is also a little larger and quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was just an overnight stop on the long journey back from Cornwall and of particular interest to my N.Z. family staying with me in England for only a short time. I couldn't have picked a better B&B. Comfortable, friendly and so many little extras - for example - tea and delicious cake when we arrived and fresh milk for early morning tea - all so much appreciated. I stayed in many B&B's on my S.W.Coast path walk a few years ago but this tops them all. Thank you Sandie and Brian.

Maisie (and Kathy & Thelma)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had stayed here previously and it is just as nice as before. Clean rooms, great breakfasts
with a variety of choice. Sandi cooks really tasty breakfasts. Very nice, considerate hosts.
Lovely small village. There's a pub next door with good meals. Great for tired travelers.
Brian spent an hour on the computer with me trying to sort out an airline reservation issue.
Always found a parking place right in front from the B&B. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for an overnighter. The b & b is on the main road. I was concerned re road noise so requested a room at the rear. This room was very good, no road noise, and it was lovely overlooking the garden. The only noise you could sometimes just hear was a plane flying out of Gatwick. Bear in mind we sleep with the windows open, you probably wouldn't hear anything if it was shut. The double glazing is very good.
Sandie and Brian decored the room beautifully. It was quite a big room, with nice big chairs where you could sit and relax. Not very often you get that, so was greatly appreciated. The bathroom looked new, and was also extremely clean. Very well presented.
Its lovely when you have such a nice welcome after a busy day in the car, and our hosts certainly did that. We enjoyed a cup of tea and a piece of Sandys cake - very yummy. Nice thought.
Our breakfast was also very nice, and plenty to choose from. Parking was right out the front. We enjoyed a dinner next door at the local pub. Not bad, but there are a few places to eat not far away in the town of Petworth. A town we didn't get to explore, will next time. Very cute.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bells54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Back in Stockholm and reflecting on our journey in south England during the Easter, we have chosen the Old Pond Cottage B&B to our trip's top accommodation. The quality of the room, the range of the breakfast, Sandie's kindly helpfulness. The fresh milk in the morning outside the door for the cuppa was an evidence of the hostess concern for the guests. The value given far exceeds the price for the stay. Besides, a nice pub with decent food is close to the B&B, very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl G I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Pond Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pond Cottage

Address: Old Pond Cottage Billingshurst Road | Billingshurst, West Sussex, Wisborough Green, Billingshurst RH14 0DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Wisborough Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wisborough Green
Price Range: $114 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Sussex, on the edge of the South Downs National Park, and within easy reach of the coast, Petworth, Chichester and Gatwick Airport. The ideal stop-over with all the local amenities of this timeless village just a short stroll away. Set between the church, the village pond and the village green, there are two lovely pubs in the village, for your evening meal - or perhaps to watch cricket on the beautiful village green. If you want to explore Sussex whilst staying a quintessentially English Village, then this is the place for you! Whether for one or two nights, or longer, we will do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We have plenty of local knowledge, and use local, organic ingredients in our breakfasts, which are included in the price. We have three rooms, a double (also used as a single at reduced rate, a twin with bath and shower, and a larger twin, which also has two large sofa chairs, which are not only lovely and comfortable to watch the large flat screen television, but are so useful as beds for extra guests, whether a family, or a larger group of people wishing to stay. All rooms have bright clean en-suite bathrooms, fluffy towels and complementary toiletries, radio, alarm clock and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Pond Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing