We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway, beautiful place and beautiful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We started our honeymoon at this spa village and it really was amazing. The location reflects Bali without the usual tourist trappings that end up taking over. Every part of the spa is of a very gigh standard and the food is first class. There are many extra day's out and activities that can be arranged through the spa, there is also an extensive daily activity programme which is complimentary for guests. We would recomend going out to the water palace and Ubud, on the way to Ubud there is an amazing temple carved into the mountainside and a beautiful organic coffee plantation. I would recomend the ginseng coffee, its really nice !. Honetmooners recive a private dinning experiance, we recomend upgrading at a very reasonable cost and have your meal on the beach, it's beautiful. We will return one day and would love to try the other hotels in this group.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikanemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 630 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

We booked this hotel via our travel agent in germany. The only mistake was, that we did not book the full board package (including the daily spa treatment) from there. Once you are on place, you notice there is really nothing around the hotel and full board bought in the hotel is quite expensive once there.

About the place itself. Just perfect to relax. High standart service, great food, really qualified poeple at the spa. Even the gardeners get a big up, then all is soooo clean.
All staff knows your name even first time seen. Staff is very friendly, present, but never intrusive.

Great pool area, nice creative activities, clean beach, not too far from diving locations (30 minutes).

An advise for travellers. I am (hyper)active person. So, this hotel is perfecr at the end of a bali/indonesia trip. If you intend to not stay all day long on the beach, come with a contact of a private driver or rent your scooter before.

From far the best hotel I had in Bali (6 visited)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepsodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is my fourth time to Bali but my first to Tembok and this hotel.
It is a long three hour journey from the airport but on arrival you are met with a warm welcome and a shoulder massage and foot bathing.
The hotel is small, 30 approx rooms and two villas with private pools. It has a boutique feeling to it but with a colonial style in the rooms.
The rooms are furnished with dressing gowns and pyjamas for guests to use plus a large woven bag to use during your stay. There is also a welcoming tray of tea on arrival.
This is a list of the various treatments and daily activities ranging from yoga, basket weaving, cooking classes etc available to guests.
The guest representative ( a lovely Japanese lady) prepares a program on your arrival, this includes a daily treatment program plus activities. This is not compulsory and can be easily amended to meet your needs.
The gardens are lush with frog ornaments dotted around representing the frogs that come out at night.
The pool area has four cabanas with day beds which are ideal to retreat from the midday sun.
The beach has black volcanic sand which is exceptional clean, with the sand raked daily.
There are some large pebbles close to the sea so "crocs" are available for guests.
There is a large gym and tv room which are both open 24 hours. There is also free internet access at the main lobby area.
The spa experience is exceptional and pre treatment is bespoke to this hotel. YTL always get this right!
The staff are attentive from providing cool towels, drinks and snacks around the pool to the restaurant. The quality of the food is delicious especially the fish dishes by Ben.
Some evenings the meals are served around the pool area to entertain guests with local Balinese dancing or local music.
Star gazing is also offered, which involves lying on large mattress on the pool with music playing from your personal ipods looking at the night stars - this is amazing and so relaxing.
This resort is ideal to totally relax, sample excellent food and to visit the neighbouring area.
Sharon and her staff make so much effort for guests to make them feel welcome and to attend to their needs.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to Spa Village which has proved as special as the first. The location, sited as it is on the north coast offers a totally different atmosphere from the south coast venues, and although it takes around 3 hours to reach it from the airport, it offers an atmosphere which reflects the peace found in the local Balinese people whose villages surround Spa Village resort. The spa treatments available together with the pool and gym ensure that you are able to relax and escape from the stress of normal life. The food available is excellent and our accommodation was very comfortable. It is a beautiful location which is well maintained by the YTL management but for us the real pleasure is the local staff who demonstrate a multitude of talents in the daily demonstrations of local tasks such as weaving with palm leaves, making wax candles,local art and wood carving, and Balinese music. They show a real happiness in their work and the manner in which they provide a service for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Spa Village and feel we have many friends there who were as pleased to see us as we were to see them on our return. We hope to be able to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alleyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

As soon we were warmly welcomed to the Spa Village with a shoulder massage and foot scrub, we know that our stay was going to be special. The resort is small, but perfect. The rooms are on the small side, but very comfortable, with quiet a/c and doors leading out to the garden, to be honest you won't really be spending much time in your room.

We had already e-mailed the questionnaires back to the resort, so that yoga suits in the correct sizes were waiting for us and the chef knew that my daughter and I both required a gluten-free diet. We met the lovely Chef Danni on our first evening and he could not have been more helpful. We ate delicious gluten free food every day. He even baked different bread for us every day and really went out of his way to create new things for us to try. The food is healthy, using locally grown produce and the fish is freshly caught every day - we had some of the best tuna sashimi. The menu for breakfast is the same each day, but lunch and dinner are different every day and offer a lot of choice - I would recommend anyone to always order the fish - it was fantastic. The dining area is roofed but open on all sides and overlooks the beach. The most memorable lunch was when a pod of whales joined us about 25m from the beach. The larger ones breached out of the water and the younger ones played beside them. They stayed for about half an hour and it was really magical.

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters have never stayed in one resort for so long and I was a bit worried we might get bored during our 10 night stay.
Our days were quiet lazy - spent going for early morning walks along the beach, where we saw village life and fishing boats going in and out then spending time reading at the pool or by the beach. The days were punctuated by meals and craft classes led by local artists from the village and spa treatments. We took books and chatted to staff and other guests and never got close to being bored. We can recommend the yoga, craft classes, star gazing and the bike ride to the waterfall (uphill on the way - proficient cyclists only!) and snorkelling and diving trips to the Liberty wreck and especially Menjangen Island. Spa village uses Spice Dive, who were great and my older daughter did her first 2 proper dives and was really taken care of.

At night everywhere looked beautiful, subtle lighting - tea lights twinkled everywhere and frogs inhabited the lawns. On our last night we had a table specially laid by the pool, surrounded by bamboo lanterns and the table was beautifully decorated with flowers and candles. A local musician played a bamboo xylophone each night to accompany dinner and some amazing singers (about 50!) came one night and performed by the light of flaming torches.

The resort is on the beach, so there is the constant, hypnotic sound of the waves - relaxing and quite sleep inducing! Be warned, the beach is narrow and made of black sand and could not really be described as a swimming beach. You really need to take aqua socks as there are quiet a lot of rocks as you go into the sea. During our time there the sea was quite choppy, making it difficult to get in and out of the water, but once you were in beyond the waves breaking it was ok but deep. People do snorkel, but there is no coral and not much to see.

We had a package including all meals and a 50 minute spa treatment each, every day. It was well worth it. The spa was very nice and the therapists, very friendly and professional. All of the resort staff were wonderful and very friendly and helpful. Sharon, the manager was on hand at all times and found us each day to have a chat and make sure we were happy - we were!

This was the perfect place to relax. The majority of the guests were couples, mainly honeymooners, and it is a very quiet resort. We had spent a few days in Ubud and stayed at the Royal Pitta Maha and The Hanging Gardens (both highly recommended). Ubud is busy and we did an exhausting one day tour organised through Pacto Travel (local agents in Ubud), so the Spa village was the perfect balance.

We all fell in love with Bali and will definitely return to Spa Village the next time we are in Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malini1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

As others have said, I thought the reviews for this hotel were too good to be true! But they are not.

In fact, words can't quite express just how amazing this resort is. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect start to our married life together. Thank you to everyone at Tembok!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

All the good things that have been said are true. I did wonder - having relied quite heavily on these reviews when choosing this hotel, but it's all true. The only downside, if there is one , is the location but if you want to chill out, relax, be pampered and relaxed, you can't fault it and it's worth the 3 hour trip from the airport. We soon found that the short stroll from our room to the pool was becoming a bit of an effort! Bats and frogs at night. Swallows over the pool. A very snooty cat! Occasional villager walking past on the beach. 'Real' Bali all around. Nothing touristy. The resort is also really good value and staff do not lurk for tips or make it difficult for you NOT to spend money. For example, in the late mornings round the pool, staff would bring out iced water and snacks. They could easily not have done this, making it more likely that you would buy something from their pool menu. All the activities on-site are free, and there's an itinerary arranged for you on your arrival. However, you can change anything and the only activities they are concerned about in terms of whether you will attend or not are the spa treatments. The local staff were unfailingly gracious and genuinely positive about their jobs. The food was good and the chef was prepared to provide alternatives for you. I could go on, but you get the idea....!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
3.7 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
24.7 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
7.5 mi away
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 Spa Hotel in Tejakula
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tejakula
Price Range: $220 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and discover the rich heritage of Bali at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali. Situated on Bali’s North East Coast, this charming resort spa draws from age-old Balinese traditions that is wrapped in spirituality and gentleness making this beautiful and secluded resort the perfect place for relaxation, recovery and self-discovery. With the promise of an experience that honours the healing cultures of the region, each Spa Village provides an individual and authentic encounter combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the healing practices of the area. Here, at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali the experience extends far beyond its spa treatments. Every aspects from architecture to cuisine and lifestyle, resonates within its Discovery Paths. Cradling the soul, this spa resort heals both body and psyche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing