We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$50
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas Tejakula(Tejakula)
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bondalem Beach Club(Bondalem)(Great Value!)
$103
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort(Tejakula)(Great Value!)
$57
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Selina(Bondalem)(Great Value!)
$27
$21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali au Naturel(Bondalem)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveler rating
533
99
22
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
99
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagesunset cruisefoot bathour honeymoonjamu makingdaily treatmentscandle makingminute treatmentfoot soakpalm leafall inclusive packagehour drive from the airportblack sandmartial artspool stafffull board packagebike ride
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 669 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were met with a foot and neck massage and knew this was going to be the relaxing holiday we'd hoped for.
The hotel is absolutely stunning, the staff are friendly and tentative, we couldn't have been made to feel more relaxed.
The setting is beautiful and the snorkelling just in front of the hotel is fantastic.
We stayed full board and were very grateful for this as the food was very expensive al a carte. With a 3 course menu to choose from every day for lunch and dinner we were spoilt for choice and the food was simply Devine.
Breakfast was also delicious but the menu could do with changing and giving different options each day, the staff will cater to you but we didn't realise this until late on in our stay.
The daily activities are not pushed on anyone and were great to break up your day.
The daily spa treatments were heavenly and made the whole experience so relaxing. Again these were included in our package and expensive if not.
Daily yoga with Adam was fantastic, I've never felt so at ease.
We stayed in a villa and would definitely recommend it! They were romantic, roomy and just beautiful, coming with their own private pool. That being said we did use the main pool in the afternoon which again was stunning. The only comment I would have is nets are needed over the beds to stop dropping from the thatch roof.

*** This hotel is a retreat, we we're on our last leg of honeymoon and it was perfect for us but we wouldn't do more than a week. The hotel is very isolated, there are no local restaurants or bars for entertainment.
Once you arrive at the hotel that's it, other than a few local stalls along the road or planned trips.
Alcohol and soft drinks are very expensive and there is no nighttime entertainment other than a local school dance a few nights a week during dinner, this is excellent but if you are young and want the option to party this is not the place for you.
If you are looking for complete relaxation and not wanting to leave the hotel then Spa Village is prefect! But I would highly recommend the spa and meal packages, to keep cost down and break up your day.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AVDAS2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauzi A, Room Division Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear JAVDAS2016.

Thank you so much for your time to visit us recently and for taking the time to share such a lovely review with the users of Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that both of you had a great memorable experience with us. Once again thank you so much for the great review. We have noted about your feedback to provide the net over the bed.

We all sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Room Division Manager,
Fauzi Abriansyah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Where do I start .... this hotel is perfection. We were recommended it by some very good friends and initially planed to stay somewhere more central, but the reviews convinced me it might be worth the drive from airport. I am beyond glad we did. We booked a car transfer though the hotel from the airport and I was glad we did; it may have been cheaper to book a private driver but it took all the stress away for us and worked out great; safe driver, snacks provided etc.

We arrived late at Tembok having been travelling from the UK for over 30 hours, and were understandable hot and exhausted. We entered the drive and I immediately noticed the smell of flowers and incense. We were greeted by the wonderful spa ladies, who bathed our feet in rose petals (I thought I might feel awkward about this but I didn't) and gave us a neck and shoulder massage, and a mint and ginger drink. We were then escorted to our rooms where a rose petal bath had been drawn for us, and there was a teapot of warm ginger tea on the bed with a welcome card. It was a phenomenal start.

From there it just got better. We were blown away by the beauty of the resort. The restaurant was divine; each course we had over the course of 5 days was delicious, the view was incredible and the staff were impeccable, always topping up your ice water and offering drinks etc. We had the included menu each meal and enjoyed it all.

The pool was wonderful and we enjoyed snorkelling with the equipment provided. There was never competition for sun loungers or canopy beds and ice water with lime was topped up by pool staff as soon as you drank some. We also took advantage of all the classes and loved them all, especially candle making and the cooking class. The real highlight was the yoga; we did sunset yoga and swing yoga and both were amazing. Seeing a whale splash in the sea as we did sunset yoga was just beyond. We are beginners at yoga and they were kind and helpful to us. We also loved stargazing on the pool at night!

And finally the spa! I considered the treatments a bonus when booking but they really made it. Each time you were given frozen strawberries before and a traditional Balinese drink afterwards and they were always superb ... especially the Malay massage and the cucumber wrap for me.

Tembok is wonderful; intimate, boutique, safe and so friendly. It smells amazing, there is soft music playing and candles everywhere and the staff treat you like old friends. They arranged our next transfer for us and even arranged a packed lunch for us when we left without us asking- they really do go above and beyond.

My only regret with this hotel is that we stayed here first; none of the other hotels we have stayed at since have lived up to it.
Thank you Tembok for a magical five days and I hope one day to come back!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauzi A, Room Division Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Catherine L,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share such a lovely review about your experience for the readers of TripAdvisor.

We are all happy to read that you had enjoyed the overall experience, the moment you checked in, until checkout. Thank you for your great comment that "thank you Tembok for a magical five days and I hope one day to come back" It is a great​ appreciation to the entire team.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Room Division Manager,
Fauzi Abriansyah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Tembok is simply the most relaxing holiday destination I have ever visited. It is couples oriented and serene, so if you are seeking a party holiday or have rambunctious children, Tembok is really not for you. But if you want relaxation, spa treatments and really good food (and I do mean *really* good food), then you will find this place heaven. The staff are uniformly friendly and the aspect of this place is stunningly beautiful. I recommend Spa Village Tembok without reservation and we shall be back next year without a doubt.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Perry_deH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauzi A, Room Division Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Perry_deH,

Thank you so much for your time to visit us recently and sharing your experience with the users of Tripadvisor.

We are all happy to read that you had a great stay with us. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with​ the entire team.

Please do get in touch when you are planning to your next visit as we all sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our Spa Village Resort for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Room Division Manager,
Fauzi Abriansyah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

If you need space for peace and quiet and to be totally pampered this is the place to visit.
The staff anticipate your needs and truely understand what good service is.
There is also the added dimension of experiencing a different culture - the hotel offer classes on Balinese craft , cuisine and even dancing.
We felt so lucky to have visited this special place

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sarahwF2742RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauzi A, Room Division Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear sarahwF2742RB,

Thank you so much for your time to visit us recently and for taking the time to share such a lovely review with the users of Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great memorable experience with us. Thank you for your kind appreciation to the staff for their service and we have disseminated your feedback to the entire team.

Please do get in touch when you are planning your next visit as we all sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our Spa Village Resort for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Room Division Manager,
Fauzi Abriansyah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

This trip and stay was a birthday gift and our 5th visit to Bali, and first time in Tembok, which is a 3+-hour drive from Ngurah Rai airport in Denpasar. We were quite apprehensive about the drive and weren't exactly looking forward to it.

We were greeted by the hotel staff outside the arrivals lounge and introduced to a smiling young man Nyoman Riden who proceeded to lead us to the car. It was a pleasant ride all the way as Nyoman told us about Bali, and in response to our questions, a little bit about himself. He also offered tips on where we could visit in the 4 days we were there (we didn't tell him it was our 5th visit). He even invited us to his house for drinks as we told him that we liked fresh coconut as his house has many coconut trees. When we were quiet, he also knew to leave us to our thoughts and give us our space and kept silent. What we liked most about Nyoman was that he's a very safe driver. There were many parts of the journey which had windy and downhill roads, and not once did we feel we were in any danger, as Nyoman drove carefully. Once a driver in front of us dangerously overtook a lorry at a bend, and Nyoman commented that that driver was not prioritzing the safety and looking after the wellbeing of his passengers. That was an indication of how seriously he took his responsibility. Do request for him when you plan to stay at the Spa Village Tembok, or contact him yourself at +62-821-46893325 or +62-831-14460433. Please note that I am not getting any referral fee from this :-)

We arrived at the Spa Village at night and were greeted like royalty. We were ushered to comfortable chairs and given a footwash with a welcome drink and a shoulder massage which were extremely welcomed after the long ride.

Our room (#13) was fairly large with a kingsized bed in the middle that came with a heart made with flower petals, a work table and a comfortable lounge chair in the corner. The bathroom was also big with a step-in shower in the bath tub. Very cosy.

There are daily activities like cooking classes, yoga classes, sunrise or sunset cruises, etc which you can participate in, or not, depending on what you feel like doing. We opted to go for daily massages or just lazed around in our room. My masseuse's name is Hesti (Sorry if I spelt the name wrong) and she is one of the best masseuse I've ever had. Strong and long strokes meant my every tired or sore muscle were treated and I was left wanting more when the session ended. Ask for her!!

The hotel package comes with 3 set meals a day with a great choice of Western or Balinese cuisine. The food is delicious and there is also an option for the famous Balinese dishes like Bebek Betutu (roast duck grilled in spices) or Babi Guling (roast pig) which you have to pay extra for. At IDR300,000 for 2 pax, it's really worth it. Both times, we could not finish the food as there was sufficient to feed 4, not 2. It is a must to try these yummy local dishes which also come with 2 glasses of wine or juice. If you're not sure what to eat, Abi or Awan will be most willing to recommend and explain the dishes.

Our package came with a massage daily, and since we had arrived so late at night on our first day, the hotel front desk staff arranged for a double session the next day without us having to ask. Also, we were hungry when we arrived, and they said we could still have our dinner after we had dropped off our stuff in our room, even though it was quite late.

We slept in the next day and thought we had missed breakfast which is from 7 to 10 in the morning, only to get a call from front desk to say that the restaurant staff had noticed we weren't there for breakfast and had kept it for us even though it was already 11am.

The day before we checked out, I informed front desk that we wanted to request for Nyoman to send us to the airport, and the time we wanted to check out, at 10.30am. I was then asked whether I wanted them to pack a lunch or sandwiches, or fried rice or noodles for our journey.

Aren't the staff just amazing??? It is SO very clear that the Spa Village is fantastic because of its people who take so much pride in their work, and who are willing to go the extra mile to ensure that their guests are well taken care of. I mean, which hotel will even ask if you wanted to pack a takeaway lunch if you leave earlier, even though it's included?? Most 5-star resorts will provide similar facilities like spa, gym, etc, but not every 5-star hotel will have such dedicated staff, from the security guard at the entrance to the grounds staff, housekeeping to restaurant staff and of course front desk. Every single one of the Spa Village staff seem to treat it like their own home, welcoming friends in. There is nothing they won't do for you, always smiling and asking if you've slept well, or needed more coffee, or if you're enjoying yourself.

Yes, it is a long ride to the Spa Village from the airport, but it is worth the ride. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we never bothered to leave the grounds the few days that we were there. Why would you want to go anywhere when you get almost everything you need at the Spa Village, and are treated like royalty???

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MWLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauzi A, Room Division Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear MWLing ,

Thank you so much for staying with us to celebrate your birthday and for taking time to share such a lovely review with the users of Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great memorable experience with us and our staff managed to serve you up to​ your expectation. We have conveyed your special appreciation to Nyoman Riden, Hesti, Abi and Awan. Thank you so much for the kind appreciation and great review.

We all sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Room Division Manager,
Fauzi Abriansyah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews