We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa(Tejakula)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas Tejakula(Tejakula)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alam Mimpi Resort Penuktukan(Tejakula)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort(Tejakula)(Great Value!)
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ciliks Beach Garden(Singaraja)
$155
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
512
97
21
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
97
21
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagefoot bathour honeymoondaily treatmentsjamu makingcandle makingminute treatmentfoot soakpalm leafall inclusive packagelong drive from the airportblack sandfrozen fruitmartial artsylang ylangrefreshing drinktembok bali
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 645 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a gorgeous relaxed resort with amazing staff, beautiful spa treatments but the food (from breakfast to dinner) is terrible. Really terrible. Food was uncooked (gooey pancakes), not properly prepared (prawns weren't de-veined), over-cooked (fish and chicken), lacking in authentic balinese flavours and in weird combinations (canned baked beans served with chicken on Christmas night). If they can get the food right this place could be fabulous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahxxxAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great place if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The place was so remote but it was compensated by its beautiful scenery, stunning accommodation, well kept place and the finest place we have ever been and the people were warm, friendly, interactive, attentive and made our stay of just 3 days so wonderful.

The surroundings, the ambience, the spa treatments, and the personal attention - was so moving. The only setback is the menu is rather limited as they cook for small number of people. However food quality is good.

We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcanoes and the scenery was breathtaking. The Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to airport which was delicious and very kind! Thank you.

Go there. We will go back and our only regret is.....we should have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mork0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great area if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained, the staff very attentive. The pool staff continually offerwd chilled water and in the afternoons fresh fruit.

For those looking for night life, this is not the place to go. Also for those who drink a lot it could get expensive - a supermarket wine (Jacob's Creek) costs 100 euros a bottle. Fortunately this was not what we were looking for!
The menu is also rather limited as they cook for a small number of people but they do change it daily and are willing to accomodate requests. Towards the end, we said we would have really liked more "Indonesian food" but should have said it earlier as the chef then tried to help us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What do you mean Gede, that we have to leave. No, no, we live here now, please. Tembok Spa Village is heavenly and my love and I certainly did not want to leave. Our first taste of a spa resort but Tembok is not just that. First, it is the people - warm, friendly, interactive, attentive. They made our stay of just 8 days so wonderful. Learn the culture, the language, and interact. My love loves the Balinese culture and had a wonderful time interacting with the people and learning more of the language and their way of life. Then, the food, the ambience, the spa treatments - idyllic and blissful, and the personal attention - they made me a birthday cake and sang happy birthday, it was so moving. You can do as much or as little as you desire. The massages are incredible and invigorating and relaxing, such wonderful hands. Yoga with the joyful Ketut and martial arts with the other masterful Ketut are a must. The food was sensational, plenty of choice including many vegetarian dishes, and accommodating, with my love being gluten free. And the frangipani trees everywhere, and the setting looking over the Bali sea, just truly beautiful. Go there. We will go back - to say hello again to our friends.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 35, we are hiding under the bed!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went to three different hotels while on our honeymoon in Bali and this was the second place (first being Maya Ubud and then Oberoi in Seminyak). The hotel itself was beautiful and we were welcomed with a lovely foot massage. The swimming pool was lovely with the choice of beds to lounge around on as well as the sunbeds and there were a variety of activities throughout the day as well including yoga, temple offering makings, wood carvings etc. Every evening there would be a lovely personal message by the attendants. As a place meant to relax there was no tv which was fine.

All of this was lovely but unfortunately food was where the hotel let itself down and this actually was quite a big concern. We had only breakfast included - we were told by our travel agent that this was the only way they could do it (this may be the travel agents fault here as some other couples did seem to have all inclusive) and as the place was so remote there were no other places to eat at all. The menus for dinner were set already and quite pricey for Bali. As it is a highly rated hotel we didn't mind this, but the vegetarian choices were not very nice and if you did not eat egg then you would be in trouble. We asked a couple of times if we could order a variation or different food for dinner if we asked in advance (something simple like pasta) but were told each time that as the food was pre-prepared this was not possible - we could not make any alterations or adjustments to the menus. We were pretty disappointed with this as we thought it being such a small hotel which took care of its guests that this would at least be possible - we have heard of loads of other hotels doing this for guests (the Oberoi was very accommodating about this - our last hotel in Bali).

Everything else about the hotel was perfect - the staff prepared aloe vera for my husband when he got sunburnt which was great and I do feel if it was not for the food we would have given the place 4 or 5 stars. However food is an important factor of the holiday and unfortunately that is the main thing that we remember from this hotel. Therefore I do recommend that if you are vegetarian and especially if you do not eat eggs, think before coming here as there is not much flexibility and no other restaurants around to eat at in close proximity.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dipvandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a disappointment to hear that your stay was not flawless with regards to the food. However, it is valuable comments such as yours which help us to strive forward in giving our guests, the best possible service in all areas wherever possible. I am, however, delighted to hear the team met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we wish you a beautiful day!

Our Best,
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews