We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the wooden villas for nearly one week. Everything was impeccable, living up to high standards. I am pretty sure that there is no such place in whole Bali and I am so glad that we found it (by chance). The resort is a bit in the middle of nowhere but that is actually a good thing. It has direct beach access (listening to the waves while falling asleep is utterly amazing) and getting around is not a big deal at all. Drivers are great (day-tours as well!) and affordable but you can also rent a scooter.

The food is super delicious, super fresh and I particularly liked the different jams/marmalades they serve for breakfast. The resort is very clean and the design is impressive with great attention to detail (oh man, let alone the furniture, so beautiful! That is probably due to the owners' former life :-) ). The staff was very friendly, but without actually overdoing it. Hence, it did not seem artificial but rather welcoming and kind. We loved chatting with them.

I wish we could go back... :-)

Room Tip: Go for the wooden villa, pays off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    28
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
139
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summit County Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My mom and I just stayed for 2 nights at the Cili Emas Resort for a north Bali experience. I had stayed in this same village 5 years ago and really enjoyed the area. I stayed at Gia Oasis back then and wanted to experience another similar family style dinner arrangement to meet some nice people again. Plus, I love the waterfall and the Bali Sea is a change from the hussle and bustle of the southern part of Bali.
We stayed in a little villa with two twin beds, and a large bathroom. The welcome is amazing, and there are flowers everywhere! The food is also wonderful and fresh. The sunset is so pretty here, and locals on the beach were adorable. We brought American gifts to share with the local children which was a big hit!

The owners are very friendly and even walked us to our car after our stay. The manager "Yoman"- is so helpful and kind. We booked a trip to the Waterfall for the day, they packed my mom and I snacks and towels, umbrellas and water in a little bag.
The resort is very environmentally friendly, clean and has cute personal touches. For instance, a little battery light and mosquito incense lite delivered each night at our veranda. The bathroom is so "Bali" stones, flowers, outdoors, roomy... and a bit slippery- so be careful! The décor is also quite charming. There are special touches of charm everywhere at Cili!

We loved the ponds, the pool setting, and people that we met at the Resort.

The resort is little hard to find, so make sure you carry the phone number with your driver. There is a small "creek" to cross which my friend bottomed out and cracked his bumper getting to Cili.

I did book the yoga for one hour- it was not worth the 200,000R, she needed more training. so make sure you ask who the instructor is.... I hd others to share the cost, but it was a bit disappointing. The yoga room is so beautiful. I wanted to practice there, but could have done my own practice in there and saved the $. The spa is charming, and make sure you get a table with a head face rest- or it's uncomfortable.

This resort is a great value too. They have a really good system in place with food and beverage- It's so fresh and delicious. The staff seems happy and organized.

I would go back there in a heartbeat.

No A.C.- nice fan in room and ocean breeze. VERY HUMID! Great laundry service too! Thanks for a wonderful stay in North Bali:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brookegoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

What a great few days my partner and I had at Cili Emas. It was really nice to leave the hussle and bustle of Ubud and come somewhere so tranquil. We arrived with really bad Bali belly and the staff looked after us from the get go. The bungalow was clean and beautiful and the sound of the ocean eased us to sleep. I love the communal meals where you can meet fellow travellers.
My only criticism of the area- and this is nothing to do with the hotel- would be the state of the beaches and water, we went for a snorkel trip and to put it bluntly we were swimming in effluent! There is so much plastic floating around it just made me really concerned and sad. That said, the staff and owners are doing their bit to help try and change things for the better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is a great place to stay if you head to the North of Bali. From there you can start fantastic tours which the staff will help you putting together.

The rooms are lovely and very clean. Food is amazing!!! And all staff are extremely friendly and make you immediately feel home.

I will be definitely going back to this great place.

Many thanks to Nicole and Jochen for a memorable week!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_federle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We knew when we booked our return to Bali that Cili Emas must be central to our itinerary. The past two visits had been superb, and for this one we were hoping to have the help of the owners and their wonderful staff to observe the ceremonies centered around Galungan, the sacred Balinese-Hindu celebration that occurs every 210 days. Of course we looked forward to good food and stimulating company, as well as many hours to read and doze by the pool -- and great massage -- but seeing more deeply into Balinese life has been a life enhancing experience.

By coincidence, the morning following our arrival a priest came to conduct a simple ceremony in the small resort temple, where we were able to join Nichole and Jochen, the owners, and a few of their staff in an intimate blessing ritual. The next day, Nyoman, the manager, translator and all around fixer, went to some trouble to find out when and where we could see the full moon ceremony -- this year an especially important one, the day before Galungan. Appropriately clad in sarongs we traveled a few miles to a dramatic temple on the sea and spent 4 fascinating hours watching -- and filming -- a lively festival with balloons, food stalls and games of chance, side by side with a moving religious ceremony and gamelan orchestra. And on our final morning we walked into town to climb the hillside temple which had been empty when we last visited, and now on Galungan teemed with ceremonial life.

After each of these adventures we returned to the serenity and beauty of Cili Emas, to delicious meals served at the long communal table, and to the little room with ocean breezes that we loved. Many thanks to Nicole, Jochen, Nyoman and everyone there who once again made these days so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have visited Tejakula, north of Bali for a couple of days and had the great pleasure of staying in Cili Emas. I have not much to say - amazing place, great service and fantastic food. The owners are the nicest people who created this beautiful hideaway. They have paid a lot of attention to details, so Cili Emas is full of balinese art. The pool area is fabulous and has this unique secret-garden atmospere. Every corner of Cili Emas feels special. I hope to go back. I felt as Bali was my home. Everything was easy at this place and time passed by soooo slowlyyyy:)

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaPaulaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed three nights in a double room located by itself. The accomodations of the room were very nice and AC is provided for good night sleeping. Pool, yoga room and spa are well dectorated and very nice.This resort is oceanside on a volcanic rocky beach with a smooth sea. The water is not for swimming, because of the trash floating near the shore and the water is not clear like South Bali. The owners are trying to educate the community to get better with this. There is no TV for movie watching, but can do via internet or on your computer. The main dinner meal is the same for everyone and all the hotel guest/owners eat the same meal offering together at a long table. This is good for conversation with a diverse group of people. The staff is very nice and accomodating. This resort is very quite and off the beaten path. You will need to bring a book or magazines of your liking as most offered are not in English. Also bring shower gel, shampoo, hair dryer and other bath needs as these are not provided like other hotels. You will also need an electrial adapter from U.S. 3-prong to Asian plugs. I forgot mine, but the resort had one for me to borrow during our stay. There are day trip offerings available or you can design outings of your own. Overall if you are looking for a very nice, quite, beach front resort that has a great deal of local Bali atmosphere then Cili Emas is worth looking at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WhiteLightnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
20.4 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
21.0 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
5.6 mi away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
3.8 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 9 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Property: Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula 81173, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Bali/Tejakula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing