We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want something simple but stylish with a lovely atmosphere this is the right spot. It is out of the way but for us that made it all the more appealing. The owners are lovely and interesting to talk too they bring their diverse talents in design, cooking, building, yoga etc... to create a fantastic resort. Although ideal for couples we found that the owners and staff were fantastic with our children and the group dinners were very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for something unique and special without you feeling uncomfortable about the level of luxury you are enjoying.

Room Tip: Go for the traditional huts at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Viv F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    28
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
144
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good place to relax.
Best massage ever, great food in the evening.
And we did enjoy there brand new bikes, thanks for that.
Its great to have your own bikes in Bali. But do not forget 80Km takes 3 hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a 5 night stay at Cili Emas. Our holiday started well with our driver waiting at the airport with bottles of water for us in hand, ready for the 3 ½ hour drive to the resort.

Once you get out of the Kuta chaos, the drive to Cili Emas goes relatively quickly, with lots to see on the way. At the resort, we were greeted by Nyoman (Manager and cook) and given the run down on our room and the meals.

Our room was small and basic but we were located at the front of the resort which was wonderful. We spent a lot of our time sitting on the verandah, listening to the waves crashing on the beach only 50m away. Meeting the kids on the beach in the afternoon was also a highlight.

The pool area and massage pavilion are beautifully presented and very relaxing. I had 3 massages whilst there, my husband had two.

We hired the kayaks one morning and paddled up the coast. This was a great experience especially first thing in the morning before the wind picks up. We also did the sunrise boat trip with a local fisherman. From the ocean, you can see the full extent of the rugged terrain behind Cili Emas. An amazing view to be seen.
We visited the salt production area on the beach north of Cili Emas (about a 15 min walk) and even walked up to the early morning market one day to have a look.

The staff at Cili Emas are wonderful, especially Nyoman and the kitchen staff. My husband and I are not vegetarians, but the food was so tasty and plentiful, we didn’t miss meat at all.

The communal dining has its pros and cons. At times we did struggle as four out of the five nights we were there, we were the only non-German speaking guests. If you are on the quiet side, you might need to put yourself out there if find yourself in the same situation as us. We did however meet some wonderful people and made friends that we will stay in contact with. We made the most of the experience and came away feeling very positive.

This was my 12th visit to Bali and my husbands 8th but our first to Tejakula and we will definitely go back.
If you still love Bali but had enough of the touristy areas, then this part of the island is worth a look. Tejakula is a quiet town. After three walks through the town, at no point were we asked if we wanted to buy something. Bliss!!!.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs as the animal noises at night might keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoupleDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I discovered this property on tripadvisor as did all the other guests at Cili Emas. We stayed 3 nights and just loved our time at this amazing property. Right on black soil beach - stunning scenery, great food, competant staff, beautiful pool, massage, cooking classes, yoga. Not a tourist area at all. I really enjoyed just getting there - so scenic and interesting. I liked eating with the other guests who became our friends. Worth an early morning walk to the local markets - the villagers are not used to seeing tourists wandering around so I felt like a bit of a novelty but I enjoyed the experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: in the afternoon all the locals, children have a swim at the beach - join in! the children loved int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robynfrombroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you come here knowing what to expect you will absolutely love it. Otherwise you risk disappointment. We stumbled into Cili Emas on the Internet and came knowing not what to expect other than having found the positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. After having spent over two weeks on a luxurious live aboard dive boat we were a little concerned by what we saw when we arrived at the end of a 3 hour long drive from Denpasar. There was rubbish everywhere (except within the boundaries of the resort). There was rubbish on the beach. Rubbish on the streets and alleys. However, there is no rubbish at all in the character of the people who live here and that made a huge impact on the pleasurable nature of our visit here. Tejakula itself is definitely NOT a tourist destination and as such it is not manicured in any way. Rather it is a fishing village full of people that are understandably more concerned with living their daily lives than catering to tourists (which was good with us). It seemed that most Balinese had never heard of the place whenever we mentioned the name of the town where we were spending the last few nights of our honeymoon. I don't know that I have ever seen smiles as big anywhere else in my travels as those in Tejakula. Whatever this place lacks in luxury is made up for in attitude. Of course, the people of Bali in general have an amazing aura of happiness about them. There is a sense that they do not suffer from having too many expectations or a sense of entitlement that is so prevalent elsewhere in the world.

The resort itself is very nice though I would definitely characterize it as an "eco-resort" rather than a luxurious destination. When we booked the room we did so knowing there was no AC. We feared we may be hot trying to sleep and we were. Nightly, there were a number of ants in our toilet for whatever reason but that kind of thing does not bother us so we never even mentioned it to the staff. Had we done so I feel sure they would have bent over backwards to take care it. There was a gecko that joined us for dinner every night when dessert was served. He would sit there licking the small piece of watermelon we set for him while we were amused. We walked to a waterfall that is 50 meters in height a 15 minute motorbike ride from the resort. Fantastic! Take a 10 minute walk west on the beach westward and you will find sea salt makers toiling away. We bought a kilo for 20k rupiah and enjoyed the antics of the friendly gentleman trying to explain the process though we do not understand it now any better than by our own speculation. Nyoman (the manager of Cili Emas) was very attentive to everything. The food was amazing. Very artfully presented. I loved the way each meal was described in detail before we ate it. The spa was excellent and oh so affordable. 2 hours of Thai massage for less than 30 dollars. 1 hour of traditional Balinese massage for about $15. My wife had an hour long facial for about $15. The food was absolutely out of this world!! Each meal was a masterpiece from beginning to end. Dinners are served at one big long table so there is great opportunity to make new friends though there was never more than 6-8 of us staying at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Shortbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

At the end of a 3-weeks trip through Sumatra, Java and Bali we spent 5 most relaxing days in this beautiful small resort. It is nicely located, direcly by the sea, very quiet, in a village which is not yet spoiled by tourism. The bungalows, the pool area and the open dining hall are very well designed and spacious. Everything is kept very clean. The food is excellent; everyday creatively prepared with fresh local materials (in particular the fish from the fishermen "next door"). The owners Nicole and Jochen are most kind and helpful, and all staff is very friendly. Also, one can feel the spirit to make a difference, in particular with the emphasis on a "green", sustainable way to develop the resort. Overall, a place which can be highly recommended to relax and to enjoy the closer and also the more distant attractions of northern Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel just two weeks upfront. As there was no double room available anymore we got an offer to have a big family bungalow for the same price as the smaller one. We really appreciated. Email communication was very quick, never more than one day to get a reply.

Our stay in Cili Emas then was wonderful. After spending three days in Ubud in the south of Bali where we were confronted with aggressive merchants everywhere, Tejakula was a real relief. It’s a small village on the north coast with few tourism services. This also means that you can get a lot closer to normal Balinese life than in the south. When we were there, e.g. there was a burial ceremony happening which you could observe closely just by walking to the village.

We really liked the peace and quiet of Cili Emas. There are several kinds of little houses instead of just hotel rooms. Some of the houses also have outdoor bathrooms (of course you cannot see inside from the outside!). In front of most houses is a private open-air bed to lie down and relax. All the facilities were well-maintained. Everywhere around the place are bottles with fresh, free drinking water. As drinking tap water is a health hazard in Bali, having free water is a really nice way to quench the thirst during the day. Of course you can also get all sorts of drinks and coffee specialities during the day from the bar (but this will cost extra). To see Bali you should use the services of a private driver who can take you to wherever you want to go. You can either arrange for this yourself or let the hotel make the arrangements.

For breakfast, dinner and lunch the freshly prepared meals are eaten together on a long table in the central part of the hotel. You have a view of the sea there. It’s also a very nice way to get to know the other guests. We used our chance to join a tour with a friendly couple the next day which also split the costs for the tour. Would we have done that in a regular hotel? I doubt it. Another nice thing was that upon arrival we were asked whether we had any food allergies or things we would not like to eat. Indeed I had some, and whenever a part of the meal was not ok for me, there was automatically a replacement served. I have never experienced such careful attention to this in any other hotel. Our compliments also to the friendly assistant manager Nyoman who not only speaks good English but also helped us resolve any issues quickly.

One of the highlights for us was the nice secluded swimming pool. We used it every day and enjoyed it a lot. It was clean and well-maintained. Every deck chair around the pool offered a big towel if you forgot to bring one. You could also go there at night which gave us a memorable swim under the stars. If the sea is not too rough it’s also possible to swim in the sea, but due to the stony beach it can be a bit challenging to get in.

On our second day we also met the owners, Nicole and Jochen. We enjoyed a lot of nice conversations with them and they would also join in during dinner when they had the time. They cared a lot about our honest feedback regarding the place and offered to help swiftly with every problem we might encounter. You can also get helpful recommendations what to do and what better not to do during your stay.

Reading the not-so-good reviews on TripAdvisor surprised me a bit. How can you go to an explicitly non-touristy place like Tejakula and then complain that the place is too isolated? I would say just book a hotel in Lovina, which is also on the north coast but much more „developed“ for tourists. The food at Cili Emas is definitively not cheap by Balinese standards (more comparable to a good restaurant there) but the quality is very good, you get a set meal for dinner - soup, main course and desert - and everything is prepared fresh. If you want something else you can just go to the village and buy some food from there. No one forces anything on you in Cili Emas! Just say no if you don’t want something.

I guess what some people miss is that this resort is not your average tourist spot, but it’s there to help people relax from a busy life. It has a concept. If you consider spending time in Cili Emas have a look at their website ciliemas.com first and find out whether it fits for you. For us it was a very unique, satisfying experience even though we only stayed for about three days and did not use the wellness offers.

We hope we can return to Bali some time the next years and come again. If we had had more days, we would have extended our vacation just to have more time at Cili Emas. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Thorsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
3.8 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
15.6 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
5.6 mi away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
7.5 mi away
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Property: Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula 81173, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Bali/Tejakula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing