We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We traveled all around Bali In June/July 09. This was my fourth time there but I had never been to Tembok. I began to get worried when even some of the locals in bali had never even heard of Tembok let alond the Poinciana. From the minute we arrived in the driveway, we were greeted by the warm and friendly staff. We had just come from Amed where the diving is good. We found the reef right in front of the Poinciana to be better with many many more fish. Walking along the beach and just collecting shells not being asked to buy anything was such a great relief. The sunrise and sunsets right in front of the Villa is what dreams are made of. The food is good and I would recommend the house specialty roasted duck, but you need to order it the day prior so they can go out and get a duck. It is cooked with herbs and spices and it melts away from the bone. The owner Nyoman was away during our stay but the staff was still on their A game. The only thing bad I have to say is that we did not stay there longer! I loved the Poinciana

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

We spent three nights in this very well maintained and run boutique resort. We had two very large and nice bedrooms and a huge terrace (paradise 2+3). Some of the other Rooms/Villas seem to provide a bit more privacy and/or sea view as this house was a mid "in the middle" and just opposite of the restaurant - however if you managed to get the honeymoon suite (which is on the top floor of this house) you must have a great view of the bali sea.

The resort is absolutely beautiful - the plants, the rooms, the garden, the beach, the sunrise & sunset... priceless. All the staff was very helpful, always friendly and extremely client oriented.

I personally would have appreciated internet access - on the other hand the lack of any possibility to connect to the world forces you to relax even more...
Same is to say about the location - the resort is really deep in the middle of nowhere.

The only real downside for us was that there was a kind of a "praying"-thing going on from dinner time to later than 2am every night of our stay. Somewhere in the neighborhood there must be a mosque or something (yes, there is a muslim minority on Bali) from where they 'broadcast' via an old low-quality loudspeaker-system for hours and hours without any break. Wasn't loud but very disturbing to us. Especially as you otherwise wouldn't hear anything but the waves and the laughter of geckos. Might have been an exception - although it went on for all the three nights we were there. You might look at this as a crosscultural add-on to your stay in north bali; I could have done without. And maybe other houses are less affected?

Make sure to have Rupia or maybe U.S. Dollars with you as you will have to clear the bill in cash. To go to the next ATM would be more than an hour drive. And if you pay in other currencies you might get the worst exchange rate ever (which is what happend to us).

The pool is great for the kids. The beach is somewhat rocky but outstandingly beautiful. The corall riff just 20 meters or so out there is splendid. Watch out for the Jellyfishes - we got burned. Our kids loved the two little boats/kanus and spent hours on the water enjoying the soft waves in the shallow water. Make sure to book a traditional balinese massage -the ones we experienced here were definitely among the best ones we got so far. The food is good (slightly more costly than in other places in Bali) and they will cater for special dietry requests with a smile.

Have we mentioned the sunset and sunrise? WOW !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling-ibex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

What a surprise! We stayed 4 nights in a beachfront villa and it was our best stay in Bali this year. Never stayed in a villa where you could see sunrise end sunset from your own terrace. What a experience! The staff was so nice from welcome to our goodbye! The villa was great with a terrace in front and only 10 meter from the beach and the clear sea. Snorkeling equipment (reef just in front of the resort), watershoes and a kayak are provided for free. The two beachfront villas have there own terrace where breakfast and diner was served. So romantic to have a drink on your own terrace (the other beachfront villa was only occupied for one night) watching the sunset and afterwards enjoy a great diner. I told my husband that this was so romantic and then the very friendly and young waiter came every 5 minutes to ask if everything was OK, what we want for more, if we liked some more wine etc. It made us laugh so much, he was just so kind! The food was very well prepared. Ask for a Soto Ayam (not on the dinerlist) it was the best one we had! (IDR 35000). We had diner all nights (starter, main course, dessert, bottle of Hatten wine, water for +/- IDR 400.000). Lunch at the swimmingpoolside was great as well. Once we walked to the right (from the entrance) to find an internetspot. We found one at the Alam Anda. It's a pity that there is no possibility to use internet at the Poinciana Resort (we had to keep in touch with our son). It was just nice to walk and talk to the locals. I had a lot of pencils, colouringbooks, stickers, hair pins and so one. The kids were very happy, didn't realize there lived so many kids but I had enough for all!
On the resort there is a lovely beachfront family villa and some garden rooms as well. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

You won't believe it, even after you leave, this is the most friendly, clean, beautiful, serene place I have visited. If total relaxation is your thing then go see Nyoman at this resort. The staff were awesome, with the utmost hygeine, beautiful rooms, gardens and pool and right on the waters edge, with a nice reef for snorkelling. A bali massage is a must, the best we had in bali. Sensational food and service. Should be a honeymoon meca. Every trip to bali will start with a visit here for us. Thank you Nyoman. We'll be back with our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Had a fantastic time while staying at Poinciana Resort in Tembok. Absolutely stunning gardens, views and villas are gorgeous. Great place to unwind or get out and about to explore the surrounds around Tembok. We trekked to a nearby waterfall, went to an early morning village market and generally just indulged ourselves and our children into the Balinese culture and lifestyle. You will not be disappointed if you visit this place. We are going back in August this year for 3 nts.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexsta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

There is a Resort in North Bali called Poinciana Resort that is absolute paradise. Beautiful gardens, wonderful hostess, excellent friendly staff, snorkelling, relaxing by the pool, eating dinner on the terrace under the stars while watching the fishing boats on the horizon. Do yourself a favour and check it out i promise you wont be disappointed. I went for 3 days and ended up staying 2 weeks. 1 more tip have a massage

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Having travelled extensively around Bali for the past 20 years, "new" experiences are rare. On our most recent trip we discovered the tranquillity of the north-east coastline and happened upon a simply delightful place to stay - Poinciana Resort - located in Tembok (just south of Tejakula).

"Resort" is really a misnomer as the property has only nine boutique style suites. Compactly situated amongst a beautifully manicured tropical garden, all rooms provide ocean views and direct beach access.
Accommodation style is varied with 2 beachfront suites adjacent to the foreshore, 4 ground-level garden suites, 1 upper-level terrace suite and 1 three-double-bedroom family villa. All rooms are extremely large and exquisitely appointed with en-suite bathroom and air-conditioning.

We chose one of the garden suites which gave us our own private outside dining room. During our visit, as there were no other guests, we chose to enjoy our meals in the restaurant, getting closely acquainted with the wonderful staff.

The highlight of our two-day stopover was evening cocktails on the beach terrace overlooking the Bali Sea. On the first evening we witnessed an amazing thunder and lightning show and on the following night we were awed by the star-filled heavens.

Poinciana is neither a resort nor a hotel. It is in fact a tastefully decorated family home that has grown to accommodate friends and guests - in style and elegance. We were warmly welcomed by all staff into the Poinciana family.

If it is a unique, peaceful Bali experience you are seeking, Poinciana delivers it in "spades". No TV, no radio, no loud music, no hawkers; just the constant sound of waves lapping at the beach and birds twittering in the frangipani.

A point to note however, is the fact that your account must be settled in cash, as there is limited telecommunication infrastructure in this remote region. Poinciana does accept payment in all major currencies including USD, AUD and Euros.
In summary, Poinciana is a five-star experience with a three-star price tag.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
1.8 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
14.8 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
944 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
507 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre

Address: Jl. Singaraja Raya - Amplapura | Tejakula, Tejakula, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tejakula
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#3 Spa Hotel in Tejakula
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly natural... naturally perfect. Come experience Bali off the beaten track on the sunshine north coast of Bali. Whether you are looking for the idyllic paradise getaway or the ultimate retreat destination, Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre is the perfectly natural choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poinciana Hotel Tembok
Poinciana Resort Tembok
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre Bali/Tejakula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing