We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific family fun on the farm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bobs Farm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kookaburra Cottage Farmstay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific family fun on the farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked for three nights with our daughter and grandsons, from the word go there was fun and adventure to be had. Charlie is 7 years and Oliver is 4 years, not once did they ask for T.V and not once did it go on. We had a fantastic time, the boys said it was the best holiday ever... Better than Sea World !!!!! We went to the beach in the morning and fun on the farm feeding the animals and finding the eggs in the afternoon, come five o'clock all the kids( adults too) went around with Scott, Louise and Bob the dog feeding all the farm animals, milking the cow and having the best tractor ride ever. We stayed in Cow Cottage and the verandah was great, played table tennis and relaxed .with a BBQ ... Didn't want to leave so we booked for an extra night ..... Had to return for work commitments. We will be returning as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Spring School holidays with our 3.5 yo Daughter. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom cabin, which was one of four around a central shared BBQ area. The cabin was clean and comfortable and well stocked with a variety of Toys our daughter just loved.

The hosts Farmer Scott and Louise were most hospitable, the 4pm daily feeding time was the highlight of the day with the mad tractor ride. This gave you plenty of time during the day to explore the beautiful Port Stephen's area.

Our daughter keeps talking about her farm holiday a month later and is asking when are we going back, there are other larger cottages on the farm that would suit 2 or three families which we will look at doing next year maybe.

Just a word of warning, take some mosquito repellent, we didn't have any on the first night and were eaten alive (Inside the cabin). We sprayed the next day and weren't bothered again.

All in all a fabulous time was had by daughter and Parents!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed in Cow Cottage with our 2 year old daughter, very clean and tidy with a great fire with all the toys for our daughter to play with. Loved the animals, feeding time and the tractor ride was the highlight of our days there. Chickens and guinea pigs roaming around the place free were just great so nice for a quick break from the bustle of the city.

Room Tip: The smaller cottages would be great for 3 or more families give the great common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiflier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed with the family, 2 year old and 3 months old. I don't know who had more fun, our daughter or the parents. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage which was basic but fine for a short stay and well priced. It has good cooking facilities and a common BBQ area was just outside. We had the chichens right outside our door and enjoyed each morning going to search for eggs in the barn. We looked in the bigger cottages and they are a big step up in style and space. The afternoon feed run was the highlight, with everyone involved in feeding the cows, sheep, goats and even the pig. Note, the gum boots are provided for a reason - you get down and dirty on the afternoon feed run. Our daughter's favourite was riding on the back of farmer Scott's tractor, bouncing around half excited and half scared. We still talk about it 6 months later.

If our daughter has any say we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The four one bedroom cottages all surround a common BBQ area and would be good if you are going with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregandrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Stayed with the family, including 3 children under 7 years from 15th Jan 2011. The kids were never inside, for the 6 days we were there. I think that says a lot in this day & age of the nintendo generation. Stayed in the Casurina cottage, which included 3 bedrooms. We were very comfortable the whole time.
A big thanks to the owners, Louise & Scott, for allowing our city kids access to the vast range of animals, from sun-up to sun-set.
You simply do not get better value holidays like this any more. It is no wonder they have so many repeat visitors. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sooziq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bobs Farm
6.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
7.4 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bays Holiday Park
Bays Holiday Park
#6 of 8 in Anna Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.7 mi away
BIG4 Koala Shores Port Stephens Holiday Park
BIG4 Koala Shores Port Stephens ...
#1 of 1 in Lemon Tree Passage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.6 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Cottage Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Cottage Farmstay

Property: Kookaburra Cottage Farmstay
Address: 564 Marsh Rd, Bobs Farm, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bobs Farm
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bobs Farm
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing