We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary and a little shabby but perfectly functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Retreat B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Lesmurdie B&B and Inns
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ordinary and a little shabby but perfectly functional”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed in a room, and not a suite. I would recommend that you get a suite, as the shared bathroom is a bit too cosy for people that dont know each other. I would like to give my special thanks to shower boy who at 4am yawned loudly, and cleared his nose and throat for 15 minutes while in the shower (what felt like) next to my bed.
Breakfast OK ( I dont eat much for breakfast) but all very much living with the hosts. Fine if you like that sort of thing.
My room was not that clean, hair on the carpet and bed, and some sticky label things everywhere, but in fairness my room at home is not that clean either!
Look, I have stayed in a few B & B's and this is not the best. A little overpriced for the rooms, but the location would make the suites better value I imagine.

Room Tip: Book a suite, not a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcIntyre010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you Charlotte for your review. It's a pity that you had disturbed sleep due to another guest using the bathroom early in the morning. This is fortunately a rare occurrence.
Our 2 apartments are very quiet and there's no shared living areas or bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Our stay with Jenette and Peter was wonderful. We were treated like family. Very comfortable accommodation amd breakfast was wonderful. More plesant and helfull hosts would be hard to find.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WendyWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found our bed and breakfast to be tranquil, relaxing and homely. We strive hard to provide a quality experience for all guests from all countries and manage to achieve this most of the time.
Kindest regards,
Jenette & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I read the four reviews before choosing to stay at the Falls Retreat. It is a shame that the friendliness that Jeanette apparently extended to others did not extend to us. She marred our stay before we had even moved in; and if we had not already prepaid we would have gone somewhere else. Peter, on the other hand, was very accommodating. We stayed in the Angel room, which has its own modern bathroom, a bedroom and a sofa bed in the living area. There is also a kitchenette with a small sized fridge. The breakfast part of 'bed and breakfast' were little boxes of cereal. You pay extra if you want a cooked breakfast. The apartment was cool even on the hottest day, and the temperature was around 37 degrees C some of the time. The setting is leafy and pleasant. If you are disabled this is probably not the apartment for you as there are steps. There is free internet, but I found it to be extremely slow.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
These 2 guests arrived unannounced almost 4 hours before advertised check in time. I had been running the B&B single handed and had just farewelled the last guests after being fully booked on Saturday night. The younger woman came into our kitchen without ringing the doorbell and said in an imperious voice "M...... Booking". No other greeting was made.

I commented that their room wasn't clean, check in time was 2.00pm and that I'd been fully booked the night before. We did store their luggage and their apartment was clean when they returned several hours later.

I asked the younger woman how her lunch had been and she just tossed her head and walked off without speaking.For the rest of their stay both of us owners kept well out of the guests way.However we changed linen, emptied bins,swept paths and provided the usual level of service.

The Angel apartment is advertised as "Self Contained" All the websites list this. We provide cooking oil, spices, teas, coffee, sugar and milk as well as packet cereals, which is more than most self contained apartments provide. All of our other 3 accommodation areas are run as bed and breakfast accommodation where breakfasts are provided. People who book Angel usually cook for themselves, preferring not to have breakfasts provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed one night and it was very nice. Our hosts were accommodating to our needs and friendly. Very happy with breakfast and the service was top notch. Only downside was the bed was slightly itchy and the shower was small. Minor in he whole scheme of things

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boyddavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thankk you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the time to post a response about our business. We aim to provide a relaxing, unique hills experience ina very natural setting close to a waterfall and 1800 hectares of national park .In most cases we succeed in achieving this for our guests from all countries.
Kindest regards,
Jenette & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My wife, our son and I spent two nights at Jenette's and Peter's Falls Retreat B&B in Lesmurdie in Perth Hills. Our overall experience can be described as 10/10 because of a few things which are important to us:
1. The location of the B&B is away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Driving into Lesmurdie also offered great views of the city of Perth about 15-20 kms away.
2. Access to adventure trails such as the Bibbulmun track for walking, and the Munda Biddi trail for mountain biking was a breeze as both are within 20 minutes driving distance from Lesmurdie.
3. The B&B offered all the comforts one would expect, and the breakfast was nice and came with Jenette own home-made preparations. Attention to detail in everthing in the suites was impeccable.
4. Then the owners - the most important factor. Jenette and Peter are a lovely couple. having travelled extensively themselves, they understand very well what travellers would expect, and it was just great chatting with them.

In all, a great experience and a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vivekchatrath_spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and wish you happy travelling for your next holiday.
Kindest regards,
Jenette & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2004

I stayed at the Falls B&B prior to moving to Perth from the U.K. Both hosts were extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

They both made me feel very welcome and after a week I felt part of the family, even Rex, the cat had made me feel welcome.

For a short or long stay to the Hills area of Perth, you can't go past the Falls B&B.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you Nicole. We enjoyed assisting you to make the transition to living in Australia. Our best wishes to you.
Kindest regards,
Jenette & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2003

I recently stayed at the Falls Retreat B&B in the hills suburb of Lesmurdie. There are 2 spacious rooms and a lovely garden with a huge 11 metre swimming pool. Apart from the peacefulness of the place, the breakfasts were excellent. I chose the traditional English breakfast but there was also a choice of pancakes and omelettes. Hosts Peter & Jenette are friendly and helpful. Thanks for a really great stay guys.David

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary111, Owner at Falls Retreat B & B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are both so glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts, the ambience of our property and had a relaxing stay whilst you visited Perth.
KInd regards,
Jenette & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesmurdie
5.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
25 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chalets on Stoneville
Chalets on Stoneville
#1 of 1 in Stoneville
8 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Good Life B&B
The Good Life B&B
#1 of 5 in Lesmurdie
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Retreat B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Retreat B & B

Property: Falls Retreat B & B
Address: 45 Falls Rd, Lesmurdie, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Lesmurdie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lesmurdie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Retreat B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaze onto the pool whilst sitting in total comfort in the Lesmurdie unit. A few steps away there's a heated hydrotherapy spa or you might like to share a coffee of read a book on the balcony outside your unit overlooking the valley. Tourism Accredited WA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Retreat B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing