We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience resort-like comfort in such a short distance from the metro, and it's - up the hill!”
Review of The Good Life B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Good Life B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Lesmurdie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Experience resort-like comfort in such a short distance from the metro, and it's - up the hill!”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in The Good Life B&B. It is located on Perth hill, which is only 40 minutes drive from the city and very near to the airport. The nearby Kalamunda town (10 min) is rich in culture and history and also offering great treat to your taste buds. The famous Lesmurdie fall is just 5 min away in Moody national park. The whole city of Perth is visible from there and the night view is breathtaking. The host Barry and Cherry are friendly and genuinely interested in making our stay an unforgettable experience. The service was excellent. We stayed in both the rooms they had to offer. Both rooms have attached bath and toilet. The towel rack is actually a heater which is very handy. We especially like the spa in the bathroom/toilet. The rooms look very new and clean. The bigger room is self-contained, spacious and comfortable. The new solid wood furniture give the rooms an luxurious touch. The paintings on the wall are beautiful. The host did not neglect the entertainment aspect, in fact, they have provided excellent quality TV and players, which come with a good-sized music and movie collection. There is a BBQ machine in the patio area, a must-have for aussies lifestyle. The Good Life B&B is strongly recommended for anyone who wants a resort-like comfort up the hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshdya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
92
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Good Life B&B is the best accommodation during the period we traveled from Perth to Albany with another 4 chalets.

We enjoy the entertainment much more than star hotels’ in the rooms like DVDs, bedside novels and daily welcome fruit.

Everything is unbelievable clean and tidy that should present our appreciation to Cherry, a thoughtful Japanese landlady. It is really exceed our expectations.

It is sweet that Barry & Cherry left messages to us everyday that told us the ironed clothes, internet access and clean dishes were ready to use.

The breakfast is impressive since we have chance to have a try the fresh EGG that Cherry is feeding chicken in her backyard.

We enjoyed the small chats with Barry & Cherry to share each other the culture & life. We appreciated they guided us to drive to that wonderful restaurant for dinner, and thanks they gave us suggestions on sightseeing and shopping.

We love the moment we hug for goodbye, it is beyond the service scope from star hotels, isn’t it?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe_liu_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for you kind words Cherry and I enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Jumping straight to what's great about the place...

1. Barry, Cherry and Java. That's two and a half hosts. :) Barry, our english host, Cherry, our japanese host, and Java, our furry host....extremely friendly and accomodating. :)

2. Great range of food stocked in the house for you to help yourself to... for breakfast.. and maybe a late night tea with honeyed bread after a long day of shopping in Perth...

3. Lovely rooms, very well maintained and extremely comfortable. Mixture of Australian comfort and quaint Japanese touches.

4. Huge toilet (for those of you who appreciate it) and from what I can see, the size and the layout allows for wheelchair bound customers too (but I am no expert) and a huge jacuzzi within...

5. Last but not least... there's a huge range of DVDs in the rooms, and a good selection of cable channels for late night surfing. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeewaytheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
A wonderful family we would love to welcome you back at any time, thank you for your kind words in your review.
Kind Regards
Cherry, Barry & Java
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We enjoyed Barry’s and Cherry’s “The Good Life –luxury- B&B” so much while we stayed there for four nights in July 2010! Wonderful beds (we never slept better during that trip!!), getting up when we felt like it, we especially liked the idea of barbequing our breakfast at our leisure. The fridge was always well stocked with all the goodies we could desire and even more!

Having arrived later at night and preparing to go to the International Airport to pick up my lovely partner, I asked Barry where the nearest grocery store was to pick up some crackers and cheese. Without hesitating, Barry went to his kitchen to bring me these items and a bottle of wine to boot – how grand is that for a host!

From Perth, we toured the SW region of WA for ten days, and were on our way back to Perth a couple of days earlier than planned when we had to choose a place to stay. There were no second thoughts about which accommodation we would try first… So we contacted Barry and, much to our delight, “The Good Life” was available for the two nights we needed to stay in Perth prior to departing for Broome!

Barry’s & Cherry’s place is just great! Located in the quiet and leafy suburb of Lesmurdie in the beautiful Perth Hills, we felt like we were in the country. Our stroll to the Lesmurdie Falls, for instance (see picture), located in the nearby Lesmurdie National Park, a short distance from “The Good Life B&B”, was absolutely enjoyable.

And yet, “The Good Life” is also very conveniently connected by major roads to the Perth Airport and to the City; so, no doubt- next time we fly into Perth, we hope to be able to stay at Barry’s and Cherry’s B&B again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohncoolBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Thank you for this excellent review, when we read comments like this in our reviews,. it gives us great pleasure as we know we are doing are job well.
Our guest's happiness and comfort is our priority.

We enjoyed meeting you both and would love to welcome you back to The Good Life in the near future. Best Wishes to both of you and safe travelling.
from Cherry & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I travel extensively on business and mix it with a little pleasure and I choose on accassions to use a B&B because I like meeting with other travellers ouside of business. The good life B&B is simply a cut above the rest. The attention to detail is evident in everything from the furniture and luxurious comfort of the bed to the impeccable cleanliness of the rooms. Having a separate private entrance was a great convenience too. having said that, the Hosts were never far away and only too willing to share a joke or a wine to boot!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVAGOODDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind words you will always be welcome at The Good Life B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale,Lancashire U.K.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

On my first visit to Australia for the occasion of my daughter's wedding,and being an ordained Methodist Minister I was concerned that the ceremony and everything else should be perfect.My first task,however,was choosing accommodation and having searched the web I booked "The Good Life".Not knowing the standard of accommodation I was a little apprehensive!-however,I need not have worried,because the three weeks we spent with Barry and Cherry,were literally the "icing on the cake"!Their B & B has to be the best in Western Australia.The rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished and decorated.The fridge was always stocked and re-stocked by cherry and if there was anything additional we required it was provided,this was not just bed & breakfast but all the comforts of home.We were able to enjoy the garden,and our host and hostess were always on hand to chat and to give guidance as to what was going on in Kalamunda and directions to places of interest locally as well as good knowledge of places to visit further afield.My daughter's marriage to an Australian was a great occasion,but what made it all the more memorable was the most comfortable and luxurious stay with Barry,Cherry and Java,the dog-all in all,definitely the best in the west.
Rev Bill Seville

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind words you will always be welcome at The Good Life B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Have stayed in The Good life Bnb for 5 nights and I must say it’s really a wonderful experience. It’s definitely the best BnB I have been to. During our stay, the hosts, Barry & Cherry were really helpful and friendly. Upon knowing our interest in making marmalade after we have a taste of their homemade marmalade, Barry actually offered to teach us how to make orange marmalade on our 3rd night stay. He even gave us a few jars to bring home after that. On our last night stay, we even had a pizza treat from Barry & Cherry and it was really sweet & thoughtful of them.

We stayed in the family suite as there were 4 of us. The bathroom was really spacious and the kitchen had everything we need. The bedrooms were clean and nice too. It’s really beyond our expectation. Definitely value for money! Our rooms were tidied every morning and if we never ran out of anything as all would be replenished by the time we came back from our day trip.

In conclusion, we have received excellent hospitability from the approachable & lovely hosts who treated us just like friends. The suite was clean and neat with everything we need and maybe even more! Good location too as it’s just a short distance drive from the airport and the perth city. Not to mention, the adorable dog, Java who had made the stay extra pleasant.

Love the place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind words you will always be welcome at The Good Life B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesmurdie
5.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Retreat B & B
Falls Retreat B & B
#3 of 5 in Lesmurdie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.6 mi away
Darlington House
Darlington House
#1 of 1 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Life B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Life B&B

Property: The Good Life B&B
Address: 64 George Rd | Perth Hills, Lesmurdie, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Lesmurdie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lesmurdie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Good Life B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've Found Heaven at The Good Life Bed and Breakfast in the Perth Hills Western Australia. Friendly, big, clean, airy, air-conditioned and extensive accommodation, just what you've been looking for in a B&B. Our facilities are fabulous, go ahead look at our suites. Chiharu San, a native of Japan is your host at The Good Life B&B. You'll love the facilities, you'll enjoy our breakfasts, you'll appreciate the location so close to the international and the domestic airports,only 35 minutes drive to the Perth CBD. Come and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Perth Hills in a B&B that's second to none and smell the roses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Good Life B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing