We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Good Life B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Good Life B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Lesmurdie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

All the previous positive reviews were spot on!! We arrived at 3 am due to a flight delay but Cherry greeted us with such empathy that it made us feel like long lost friends!! The family suite was very clean and well appointed. It had a humungous spa tub with separate shower stall. A longer stay would surely have seen us use the BBQ set. Our hosts were truly hospitable and accommodated all our requests. A definite gem of a place!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
92
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LindyLou105
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a friendly welcome and was taken to the room which was enormous with a kitchen area and bathroom with spa bath as well as a shower. Nice views of the town of Perth but close enough to the airport where we had picked up our hire car. The fridge and cupboards were stocked with food and drink. We had chosen a cooked breakfast and had eggs, bacon and sausages in the fridge which we cooked on the BBQ on the patio outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry030, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback, it's great to be appreciated and we will endeavor to keep up our high standards in the future, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights in "The Business Suite", which is the smaller accommodation. It was more than enough space and could easily be called a studio flat. It was spotless.

What really sets The Good Life apart, however are the fantastic innkeepers, Barry and his wife Cherry. They are hospitable without being intrusive and cannot do enough for you. Cherry did a load of laundry for us, and the clothes were cleaned and pressed better than we would have done ourselves! (We are traveling around the world for a year, and this was a great treat for us). Barry took me to visit his chooks and ducks out back, and presented me with fresh eggs for our breakfast. At one point in our visit we had discussed the various merits (or not) of Vegemite (we're not Aussies, so we just don't get it--you can find a video of our yukky taste-test online at "changes in longitude"). Barry and Cherry laughingly presented us with a packet of the stuff as a going-away gift upon checkout. . .uggh! :)

Regarding facilities, the king sized bed was comfortable, with good linens. The bathroom was spacious, with a large shower, plenty of towels and oodles of toiletries. Large flat screen TV with many channels, a DVD player and great selection of DVDs. Wifi included, with fast speeds--a rarity in Australia. Also an outdoor terrace with small table and chairs.

The kitchenette was fantastic. It wasn't large, but it was chock-full of food! Breakfast here is make-your-own, but all the fixings are supplied for you (such as the fresh eggs mentioned above, along with bread, fruit, cereals, yoghurt etc). There is a microwave, toaster, electric kettle and plenty of dishes and cutlery. There were noodle packets, cans of soup, condiments etc, enough for snacks or a simple lunch/dinner. Cherry cleaned and replaced the dishes daily, and replenished the food.

The Good Life sits amidst beautiful gardens and is located in a quiet, elegant neighborhood in the Perth Hills. A short walk will take you to a lookout point where you can see the city of Perth laid out below, with the Indian Ocean in the distance--a great place to see the sunset. We found the location to be a good one. Close enough to the city of Perth--an easy 20-minute drive via a very direct route, yet in a very quiet setting. The national parks, wineries and charming villages of the Perth Hills were right on our doorstep. (A car is necessary when staying in this area).

The Good Life is convenient to the airport, as many have said. But don't just stay here as a quick airport stopover. Stay for a few nights and enjoy this wonderful spot.

One suggestion: the pillows were extra-firm. I would recommend having additional, softer pillows available for the bed for guests to choose their preference.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The name "The Good Life" is truly an understatement. It should be named "The Best Life" or "The Perfect Life" simply because this is probably one of the best homely accommodation you can get in Perth for such a reasonable price.

This is a place for those who embrace their natural surroundings without the hustle and bustle of the city. This place is no doubt far from the city, however with a car, it is only a short half hour drive distance away. The view that you get while driving up the windy roads towards The Good Life is also amazing because you can view the entire city of perth from the hills.

The Good Life's owners Cherry and Barry made us feel comfortable and we kinda felt bad that they had actually waited for us to return every night before switching off the lights in the porch and backyard that leads us to our room. Really very thoughtful and caring of them!!

The cleanliness of the room was also far better than those you can get from hotels. The floor was carpeted in the right places and not the entire floor as I have encountered dirty carpets even in good hotels before. E.g. when you get out of bed and your first steps on the ground is the warm carpet instead of the chilly floor and these are just some of the few steps that Cherry and Barry have taken to ensure your stay is more comfortable.

Breakfast was also wonderful for the variety of food available for us. Although there is no cooked breakfast, rest assure that the breakfast you will get from The Good Life will be on par with those that provide cooked breakfast. The food available for breakfast shall be a surprise for those staying at The Good Life in future.

We stayed at The Good Life for 4 nights and it was simply the best out of the 7 nights that we were in Western Australia. Should we return to Perth, The Good Life, here we come again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dull_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastofeast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our family of 5 adults and 2 children occupied the 2 rooms for one night. Cherry and Barry have thought of everything that you might need or want. The rooms are huge with gorgeously comfortable beds. The towels super fluffy. There is foxtel and satellite on TV. Everything is spotlessly clean, even the patio furniture!

The larder is stocked with such an array of stuff for breakfast, it is unbelievable. They have even provided packets of instant noodles for those craving a little bit of home. My only suggestion would maybe have some plunger coffee rather than the instant ones, but that's really nit picking.

Java their goldie is a beautiful dog. Would be good if he gets a companion.

Location wise, it's just 15 minutes from the airport but totally out of the flight path. So no noise. It's 30min away from the city and 5 minutes away from the Lesmurdie town centre.

I would not stay anywhere else again. The Good Life B and B offers so much more for so much less compared to what is available in the city centre. We hope to visit again soon. Thanks so much Cherry, Barry and Java.

Room Tip: The family room is huge and is handicap friendly - good if you're traveling with elderly folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwwho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stopped here fror 1 night after travelling back from Margaret River prior to flight following morning. Lovely room and very quiet. Lovely location in the hills overlooking Perth City. Only 15 mins. to International Airport. Thank you for looking after us and going out to get us some fish and chips. Would recommend this for stay near the airport or for a longer stay to explore the area. Would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed six nights in the executive suite and were so well looked after by Cherry and Barry.
The suite was very comfortable, peaceful, private and extremely clean with an extensive range of breakfast supplies provided. If there was anything we required it was instantly provided.
When we returned in the evening we would find our room warm and a welcoming light on.
We had a hire car but loved the fact that we could catch a bus into the city from a stop close by, thus avoiding the hassle of driving and finding a park in an unfamiliar city.
We will recommend The Good Life B&B to all our friends and hope to return there again.
It was such a friendly and relaxing atmosphere in which to spend our time in Perth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myramelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry's B, Owner at The Good Life B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at The Good Life and thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Cherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesmurdie
5.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Retreat B & B
Falls Retreat B & B
#3 of 5 in Lesmurdie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.6 mi away
Darlington House
Darlington House
#1 of 1 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Life B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Life B&B

Property: The Good Life B&B
Address: 64 George Rd | Perth Hills, Lesmurdie, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Lesmurdie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lesmurdie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Good Life B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've Found Heaven at The Good Life Bed and Breakfast in the Perth Hills Western Australia. Friendly, big, clean, airy, air-conditioned and extensive accommodation, just what you've been looking for in a B&B. Our facilities are fabulous, go ahead look at our suites. Chiharu San, a native of Japan is your host at The Good Life B&B. You'll love the facilities, you'll enjoy our breakfasts, you'll appreciate the location so close to the international and the domestic airports,only 35 minutes drive to the Perth CBD. Come and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Perth Hills in a B&B that's second to none and smell the roses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Good Life B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing