We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George and Dragon Public House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thurton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“MR”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found this pub by chance on route to Lowestoft. They advertise main courses each day for £4.99. The menu for this gave a great choice and we selected Cottage Pie and a Lasagne. The Cottage Pie was delicious and came with perfectly cooked vegetables. The Lasagne was equally good and was accompanied by a fresh generous helping of salad. The service was very friendly and the pub has a lovely old fashioned atmosphere with heavy oak beams.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vayikra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Early evening dinner”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Spur of the moment decision to visit - a quick phone to check they were serving that night - so pleased they were able to fit us in. There was a large party of 30+ guests due in and they suggested we get there as soon as we could so we could be served without delay. Food was lovely and service very good = good decision to try here. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank news12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbish
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub with a great menu”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Good clean pub, normal prices with excellent service, large venue room at the back

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Pub Lunch”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My friend Les was paying a (literally) flying visit to nearby Seething Airfield to enable me to do an aerial photo shoot. I'd previously stopped for morning coffee at The George and Dragon on a classic car run, so it was the logical place for us to take lunch.

We both had the Liver, Onion and Bacon Suet Pudding and were well satisfied by it. To follow we had the excellent home-made ice cream. Liquid refreshment was one of the Green Jack real ales on offer. Service by the landlady was efficient and pleasant.

This pub has joined my list of good local places to revisit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Dragon Public House also viewed

 

Been to The George and Dragon Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing