We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkhotel am Soier See
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bad Bayersoien
Reviewed August 3, 2012

An odd mix of African and Bavarian / health resort but comfortable enough with decent food. We were not impressed at being sat at a table with two complete strangers without even being asked beforehand. We were given a room which had building work outside which started at 7am (!) The hotel must have anticipated or received complaints from other guests as the second night earplugs appeared besides our bed ! Despite this we would go back if we were ever in that area again.
The lake is a short walk away and is lovely for swimming in or just relaxing beside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_Bayersoien, Manager at Parkhotel am Soier See, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear guest,

first of all: We have made mistakes and we are sorry.

Sorry about the outside works - but some problems admitted us no delay.

We even have to apologize for the seating arrangement - that is not our usual way. We will check what happened here and we will avoid this mistake in the future.

Thank you very much for letting us know about the problems - we will accuretaly take care of them.

If you ever come back to the Ammergau Alps we hope you will give us a second chance and check the improvements at the Parkhotel.

Sincerly yours

Dr. Fehle-Friedel
and the Parkhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

nice hotel with the alps as a back drop. Evening meal n breakfast were very good. Free wifi and comfortable, functional room.

Set menu on evening, but very nice. its had a make over in lounge and restaurtant since I was last there about 3 yrs ago.

3 courses served in an hour just about right

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here as part of a two day package to attend the Oberammergau Passion Play. We were met at the nearest station and driven to the hotel. After a long journey this was very welcome.
Our greeting at reception was in English and the explanations of meals at the hotel, arrangements for transport to and from Oberammergau were all clear. The next day when I explained that my bedside lamp did not work, my German was good enough and the problem was fixed. Overall teh staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful.
Meals were self service and the hotel insisted on pairing us at a table with another couple who were unknown to us, because of how the package was booked. After two successful attempts for privacy we relented and enjoyed the company.

We had a small suite, which was magnificent. There was a bedroom, sitting room, bathroom with Jacuzzi and a toilet. The sitting room had two balconies giving views over the hotel and the surrounding countryside. The bathroom had a heated floor.
The satellite TV was large and had the usual local channels, CNN and BBC World. We watched the coverage of the football European Champions league matches from Sky in German.
The hotel is situated just outside of a small village near a lake. It is itself extremely picturesque in keeping with the Alpine setting. It is not close to shops, trains, clubs, restaurants or anything else except nature. It is a perfect setting for a relaxing holiday.
A special bus picked us up and took us to and from Oberammergau for the passion play.

We went for a short walk around the area where the hotel was located and found it extremely pleasant, relaxing and scenic. We would go back and stay in this wonderful hotel any time.

The rooms were excellent and the food was superb. Sadly, we could only stay for two nights as by the time we were leaving the next group were arriving.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Park Hotel as a part of a Passion Play package. We could not fault it. On arrival we sat on the terrace and were promptly served by a charming lady who was politeness in itself. We then went for a walk round the lake - a good set up ready for dinner. The restaurant was busy - of course it was full of people attending the Oberammergau Passion play. None the less the service was good, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was exactly what we wanted. After dinner we retired to our room which was a good sized suite and got one of the best night's sleep we have ever had in an hotel. The two breakfasts did not disappoint. A wide range of choice was available and everyhting was well set out. This was a great setting for our visit to Oberammergau and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were staying in an adjacent guest house for the night while on a Great Railway Journey. This hotel/restaurant was the organiser's only failure.
The staff were rude and arrogant. The meal was "Nouvelle Cuisine", i.e. not much on the plate, and served very slowly. Taking two and a half hours to serve a three course dinner with no choice of menu is incompetent, whatever excuse if offered.
The suggestion that this hotel would be used on any trip that my wife and I may consider in future would be sufficient for us to exclude that trip from our consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank eggeddzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I had the misfortune to have to eat in this hotel during a stay in Bad Bayersoien. The staff were rude and arrogant and the food although edible was sparce and took a long time to be served. We did not have a choice therefore the courses could have been served without any delay. I would not want to stay here and we were glad we did not have to eat more that one meal.

Stayed: August 2010
3  Thank Hollliesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I image that Heidi would have visited this place with her Grandfather. The setting is spectacular and the staff was very nice. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the grounds. It is in the countryside so if you're looking for a place to relax and enjoy the scenery, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loujul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Bayersoien
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schillingshof
Hotel Schillingshof
#1 of 12 in Bad Kohlgrub
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landhotel Zum Metzgerwirt
Landhotel Zum Metzgerwirt
#1 of 4 in Bad Bayersoien
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Das Johannesbad Hotel
Das Johannesbad Hotel
#8 of 12 in Bad Kohlgrub
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
57 reviews
9.1 mi away
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
#1 of 5 in Murnau
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Waldruh
Hotel Waldruh
#3 of 12 in Bad Kohlgrub
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel am Soier See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel am Soier See

Address: Am Kurpark 1, 82435 Bad Bayersoien, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Bayersoien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bad Bayersoien
Price Range: $205 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel am Soier See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkhotel am Soier See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing