We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Blaise
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very friendly staff”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Becoming a bit of a trip adviser nut and picked this hotel at random after reading the reviews, this little hotel was great, I didn't realize i had past it maybe 200 times on various visits to the region and had often looked at the restaurant next door as it boast a very nice menu and is well worth a visit.

The room we had was on the third floor and although we didn't have any complaints and it was clean and tidy it was easy to see that the first and second floors had been updated lately and the third floor has not. So it looked a little tired, i too do not understand why the have the tv flat to the wall and in the corner, it made no sense to me but as all they had was bbc world news i didn't watch it much as i tend to watch DVDs on the laptop and also the peg the volume so you cant hear much anyway.
Now to the pool, it was great even though i got told off for forcing the gate (honest i don't know my own strength) it was being cleaned although no signs to tell you that but hay i am bristish!!! I could not believe my fiance and me were the only ones using it as the weather was really hot and it was the weekend.

We hadn't booked breakfast but it was well worth the 9 euros and we indulged every morning, fantastic rustic bread and a fine selection of ham, salami and cheese along with all the other usual stuff. Good value for money, would stay again!

Room Tip: as for rooms on the fist 2 floors as they are brighter and have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHHarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean G, Propriétaire at Hotel Rey, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Harry for your nice comment. I have the pleausur to tel every body the second floor have been renovated in February 2013. The entire floor is now brand new. The TV in the corner is now equiped with rotated support scrren, which is giving you the ioportunity to watch BBC in a better position.
I ' m sorry for the swimming pool fence, but this is the type of fence the regulation asked the swimming pool to be equiped. It will remained the same.

The photos has been updated in tripadvisor and in our website.

Looked fowards to wellecome you soon.

Jean Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
48
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel felt a little dated but this was not much of a factor to put anybody 'off' anything. I think it was too early in the season for the swimming pool to be operational but again just a minor factor for our stay.
The reception staff all speak very good English and were very helpful and friendly.
The double-room size was adequate but could have been a little larger if being 'picky'. There was however good storage space for our luggage.
There is plenty of car parking space and nicely out of sight from the main road which all adds to security.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr A n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333666999, Propriétaire at Hotel Rey, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comments.
I just would like to give you more details about our renovation program.
The swimmiong pool is under renovation and should open current june 2012. 12 rooms on the first floor have been renovated in April 2012. . Our breakfast room have been renovated in jANUARY 2011.
10 more parking places have been created in April 2012.
10 rooms will be renovated in beginning 2013.

Folow our news on contact@hotel-rey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A very nice French Inn delivering all they promise with a smile.

I only wish they would put the LCD TV on a swivel mount instead of just screwing it flat on the wall. It is mounted quite high so when you sit at the desk or lay in bed to watch, the colours are off because of the angle.

Great restaurant next door too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Rey for one night stop-over on our journey down to south of France. The service from the front office staff is very friendly and pro-active. We arrived quite late in the evening and they called our mobile to let us know that they are closing for the night and they passed us the code to enter the building.

We already stayed several times in the Hotel and value for money is very solid. This time we were disappointed by the room as it was terribly noisy. We got the room # 209 and it is very badly located next to the elevator. So we had noise till 1am in the morning until the latest guests came back and it restarted at 5.30am in the morning with the first guest starting to leave the hotel. So if you book the Rey make sure not to book the room 209.

We complained at the front office the next morning and they handled our complaint in a very positive way. They apologized for the inconvenience and the offered us a free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnylandolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333666999, Owner at Hotel Rey, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments on Hotel Rey. We are very pleased you're enjoy your stay.
Concerning the 209 room, is not next to the elevator but hotels are still collectif habitation where quietness depends on other people comportment, what give us sometimes hard work.
Of course, we are taking this comment into consideration when time of reneovation is comming to improve teh general quality.
The room 209 will be renovated in April 2012.
We will be pleased to welcome you again.

Jean Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here on our last night before flying back to US from Geneva airport. It's about a 20 min drive to the airport (although we had a terrible time finding the car rental return area). The hotel was pleasant and the staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us to print boarding passes for our very early morning flight. The reception area was very welcoming, nice lounge area with calm music. The room was clean and nice. The beds were incredibly firm feeling, but turned out to be comfortable. Internet connection worked fairly well and was free. The pool was closed, but it looked like a pleasant area to sit and relax. The restaurant next door, though a separate business, is advertised with the hotel. We had a really fabulous dinner there, the waitress patiently translated the French menu for us and made great recommendations. Would definitely recommend eating there. The price for this hotel was extremely reasonable and the staff went way beyond expectations to help us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Had a lovely three days at Hotel Rey. Rooms exceptionally clean, breakfast great value and good selection. A super location to visit Geneva, Annecy and surronding countryside. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Clean hotel with average eighties atmosphere. More of an
motel than a hotel but fine to spend the night. No shower curtains
for the bath-tub and no night receptionist. You get a code to
enter during the night. Keys are then accessable for anybody!!!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Blaise
1.3 mi away
Domaine des Avenieres
Domaine des Avenieres
#1 of 2 in Cruseilles
291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Julien en Genevois Vitam
4.8 mi away
Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Archamps Porte de Geneve
3.1 mi away
L'Ancolie
L'Ancolie
#2 of 2 in Cruseilles
55 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey

Property: Hotel Rey
Address: le Mont Sion, 74350 Saint-Blaise, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Blaise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Blaise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Geneva contryside, next to Archamps, CERN and Annecy. For business, complimentary WIFI, adjacent restaurant and large working space. From Hotel Rey, discover the Haute Savoie ski resorts. For Leisure: tennis, swimming pool on the premises, cinema complex, casino, golf course. Stopover on the way to Saint Jacques de Compostelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey France/Saint-Blaise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing