We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent two for one meal deal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otter Nurseries Restaurant

Otter Nurseries Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Brixton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very popular garden nursery just outside Plymouth by the village of Brixton. Very busy. Has a delightful restaurant serving good meals as well as all day snacks and teas. Worth a Tripadvisor entry.
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,325 helpful votes
“Excellent two for one meal deal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Came here yesterday for lunch. It was heaving, even in January, with the queue out the door. Think it goes on till early February but we stumbled upon a two for one meal deal. We had the excellent beef pie. Huge portion packed with lovely tasty tender beef. Will com again with or without the deal. Also very child friendly. A welcome change in Brixton where a while ago we were refused service in Just Williams in accord with their 'we do not cater for children rule'. Well the answer is Otter Nuseries or the good village pub.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

good food at a good price canteen style seating but the service is great and the portions for the price are very reasonable

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank grebogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back after 5 Years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

wife and I went back to the 'Restaurant' after a disappointing visit 5 years ago, as we had heard it had been re-vamped.

It has improved, the soup was excellent and the venue is improved, with nice waitresses in short skirts, always a bonus.

Still need to have a licence, as we could not buy alcohol, and if your having a Sunday roast, its nice to have a glass of wine. I would say this prohibits it from being a 'Restaurant' and makes it a good 'canteen'

If you want a real garden restaurant, go to Darts Farm down the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jammey_dodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“utterley loverly otter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent food excellent service and good prices. Ideal for a visit just for the food. A good selection of items to choose from and they are all made fresh on the day. The staff are always friendley and helpful.Plenty of parking and the silly steak night are also excellent but you must book to save disappointment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Home made cakes Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every time I go here I have to have a home made cake, especially the scones! Fantastic. The only bugbear is there is always a long queue waiting to be served! When its sunny you can sit in the garden amongst the plants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Nurseries Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Otter Nurseries Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing