We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Good Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed here for 3 days and it was a lovely relaxing and friendly place to stay. The owners are very nice and really look after their guests. The residents lounge is comfy and spacious with many books or magazines to look at, a nice place to chill out after a long day's walking or sightseeing.

The food is wonderful in the evening and so is the cooked breakfast in the morning. The ony thing to prevent this from being rated excellent was that our room was rather cramped and the double bed was really 2 singles pushed together. We would definitely stay here again if we could get a more spacious room with a real double bed!

  • Liked — The overall hospitality and food
  • Disliked — Room too cramped and not a real double bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
99
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

This charming hotel as all the ambiance of a rural farmhouse. The owners were delightful and full of local knowledge. The bedrooms quaint and compact.. mind your head as you head to bed.
The superbly cooked evening meal washed down with a delightful bottle of red made a perfect end to a perfect day. Apart from that is a relaxing nightcap in the Oak room with a big roaring log fire just to lull you off to sleep.

We shall certainly return very soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

We happened on this Hotel purely by chance. What a lucky chance. The room was wonderfully characterful and our welcome warm and friendly. I was a little off colour from our long journey and the host was kindness itself with offers of tea etc....
It happened to be our wedding anniversaey and after one look at the mouthwatering menu we decided to celebrate in the hotels restaurant - we couldn't have made a better choice. The food was marvelous (even our typically fussy 13 year old ate every mouthful) and the service exemplary which all went to make our evening very special. And the breakfast - both my son and my husband consider themselves aficionados of the "Full English' and declared it the "Best Ever".

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2005

Ther has definitely been a change in this hotel. I suspect a change of ownership has occurred as reviews from 2 years ago bear no resemblance to the establishment that I experienced. There was an aura of neglect. There was dust everywhere. The whole public area reeked of stale tobacco smoke. The public rooms were dingy. Food was adequate but by no means gourmet. Breakfast was minimal. The outdoor gardens did not deserve the name. There were no flowers that were alive, again that aura of neglect. Our bathroom was in dire need of refurbishment. Our hand held shower diverter did not work. There were stains on the carpet.

The only available TV was in the musty basement and it wasn't working. There was no reading material, no newspapers or games to pass the time in the evening. The people were friendly, but unfortunately this establishment has fallen on hard times.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GeminiDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2005

We spent two nights here while visiting relatives staying in the neighbourhood. We had booked bed and breakfast and in fact the dining room and bistro were closed during our stay and we were the only guests. The welcome and the inside of the hotel were very good, although the outside looked a little neglected, with the garden in particular needing attention. Staff were attentive and very helpful, and the cooked breakfast was excellent. We were a little disconcerted by the negative reviews, but our own experience was positive.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2005

A party of us dined at the Three Cocks recently and were treated to an evening of Fawlty Towers without the laughs. The food was very average and the service shambolic. In other circumstances we might have found this quaint and tolerated it. However, when we found all of our wine had an unpleasant sediment in five of the six glasses poured, we sent it back and did not get a replacement until after we had finished our main course. It was clear they had no intention of replacing it until we pushed the point. The spoilt wine was left in glasses on the table for us to admire for the rest of the evening. When four of our puddings came with cream which was off, we sent these back, only to be told that in the strongest terms, in front of the rest of the dining room, that we obviously didn't know what we were eating and that the cream was fresh. At the end of the meal we were presented with a bill which included the spoiled wine (£18.95) and all the puddings we had sent back. We were then treated to another argument in the bar in front of the rest of the clientele who had missed the one in the restaurant. Being relatively local, but with a party who had come from London to stay in Hay, I was angered and embarassed that we had wasted our time giving this place a chance.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2004

Restaurant food was adequate, but please don't stay here is you intend to stay out any later than 12 am as keys will not be given out.

We attended a party at Baskerville Hall. We were told to phone when we wanted to return to our rooms but at 3am the phone was not answered. We had to wait until 7am to get back into the hotel and were then told that we could only return to our rooms to collect our bags but could not go to bed. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing