We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
1 review
“Pricey but nice”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Me and my wife stayed for 1 night at this b+b.
The owners were charming and very attentive. The location is easy to get to but is on a busy and noisy road. If you are a very light sleeper then this may bother you. The property is double-glazed and i didn't find the road noise intrusive late at night.
The property has a nice garden at the back and a lovely lounge with tv/books etc.

We ate at the restaurant that evening. The food is very good but expensive, the starters were around £8-9 which i thought was too much, mains around £15-20. Portion sizes are generous. The wine is nicely priced.
No grumbles about breakfast either, a nice hearty full english.

The Hotel loses marks for the room which was pokey and dark with no tv. It has a certain charm but you can't do anything but sleep in it. Good quality bed and sheets.
At £125 a night i thought it was mean to not supply any biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities or mineral water. And just 2x teabags for you both.
Also, we were supplied with 1 tiny bottle of shower gel for both of us, no bar soap, just a hand dispenser. No extras such as shower cap either. You can ask for more toiletries but it's an inconvenience which you shouldn't have to incurr at those kind of prices.

Overall i would recommend this location but it's not great value for money

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chesslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    33
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
102
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at the Three Cocks for two nights whilst in Wales for a friends wedding in Llangoed Hall. I was a little unsure if the glowing reviews could be true, but after our first night I can honestly say that they only half describe this fantastic hotel.
The moment we entered we were made to feel like family and the hospitality of Roy and Judith was impeccable throughout our 2 night visit. We highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sadlyreturningto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

As a same sex couple visiting from London we were dubious as to what kind of welcome to expect (having read some horror stories about small town hotels). However there was absolutely no need - Roy and Judy welcomed us like friends, they were friendly, engaging and extremely helpful.
We were in the area for a Wedding and the Three Cocks is conveniently located on a main (but not busy) road for easy access to the entire area including Hay on Wye. Much easier to find than some other establishments in the area!
The hotel is decorated to a high standard and is absolutely spotless. The rooms are cosy and despite the lack of a TV more than adequate for a short stay. The bed was THE softest and most comfotable we've ever slept in and we were only able to tear ourselves out of it for the delicious breakfast whipped up for us (included in room rate). The bathrooms are brand new (Judy's rightly very proud!) and strike a perfect balance between modern and traditional.
Two TINY niggles, check out time is 10am which isn't ideal if you've had a heavy night and breakfast finishes at 9:30. Again not always what you want when on a weekend stay - if they could offer some flexibility on this then the Three Cocks would be just perfect!
We will almost certainly reurn to explore the gorgeous surroundings more and will definately be taking our business to Roy & Judy. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
P.s Watch your head on the beam going upstairs - we both managed to bang our heads - and that was sober!

  • Liked — Food, bathrooms and the hosts!
  • Disliked — Same time check out at weekends.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LiamJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, South Wales. U.K.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We unfortunatly only stayed one night, but what a wonderful little gem we found and would most definatly return.
Roy and Judith were perfect hosts, interested in us and other guests, and it was all VERY genuine.
The Hotel was unique, every part seems to have been taken back to its original features, the open inglenook fireplaces the beams and uneven floors and doors, and all done to the best possible standard, the quality of the curtains and bedding in the rooms were the best, the newly refurbished bathrooms complimented the rooms perfectly, and there is also beautiful gardens.
The food was georgous, we had evening meal which would par any top restaurant, and the breakfast tasty and hearty to set you up for the day.
A perfect location for Brecon, Hay on wye or Builth Wells, and very close by the Brecon railway.
If you only like the modern type hotel then this is not for you, but if you love an friendly and cosy atmosphere this IS the place for you. You will not be disappointed!
It is on a busy road but that didn't affect our stay.
Frazer & Helen

  • Liked — Have to say 3, The hosts, the food and the original features
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady-Frazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2008

This place is clean, the food is quite good, and the owners and quite friendly. But it is an old country farmhouse (pokey, creaky, etc.) that is in a very ugly little village, basically in the middle of nowhere. So you don't get either the seclusion of a farmhouse in the middle of the country, or a village b and b in a quaint Welsh village. So you get good service and food in what is basically a stopover hotel on the way to somewhere else. And that makes the 95pound price just too high in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-Super-Mare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I found this hotel listed on Trip Advisor as I wanted a good quality hotel to stay at for my secret engagement celebrations - we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed by Judith & Roy and our night was fantastic. The bathrooms have been completely redecorated and fitted with excellent power showers and the rooms are very comfortable and quirky with lovely antique furniture. The highlight though had to be dinner! It was hard to choose from the mouth-watering menu and to top it all off they had my favourite - sticky toffee pudding which was the best I have ever had. With open fireplaces, a comfortable lounge, nice grounds, a great location for the Brecon Beacons or the Black Mountains this is a must place to stay for the more wanting quest.

  • Liked — Dinner!
  • Disliked — 10am Checkout
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SMARTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We picked this hotel on the basis of availability for a last minute Easter Break, and reviews on Trip Advisor. I cannot recommend it more... it was fabulous. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, and the hotel is spotless.

The restaurant is great - a small but very well thought out and delicious menu. We ate there both nights of our stay, and enjoyed the large portions, fresh produce and great (and very reasonable) wines. Breakfast is good too...

Our room was spacious, and full of character, with a massive comfy bed. We had let the owners know we were off gorge walking (in the snow!!!) and they were happy to lend us towels to take with us, and we returned to find Radox in the bathroom which was much apprecaited as we attempted to defrost from our chilly trip.

Lovely lounge and bar, open fire, and another pub across the road if you fancy some local beers and watching the rugby om TV.

On our way back to London we were discussing what would have made the hotel better - and we couldn't think of anything.

If you want to stay in the area - this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — the great welcome, food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — rubbish weather
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PD1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
434 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
904 reviews
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing