We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallard Grange”
Review of Mallard Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mallard Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mallard Grange”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at Mallard Grange in July 2013. We stayed in one of the two outside rooms, which was roomy, very clean and had everything we could have asked for. The breakfast was excellent, although we are not fans of sitting around one table with all the other guests (being anti-social)! Being on a farm, we expected and got, some cow noises during the night, but nothing to keep us awake much. There was no wi-fi in the outside rooms but if needed we could have used the dining room.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are good, although no wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our farmhouse B&B, were we strive to be welcoming, friendly and relaxed. We are very pleased you found your room spacious and comfortable and enjoyed our Taste of Yorkshire Breakfast. Every good wish Maggie and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
258
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful two night stay in this charming B&B. It is perfectly located to explore Nidderdale and the Ripon area and almost opposite the entry to Fountains Abbey.
The house is an amazing, historical farmhouse set away from the road, along a narrow lane. The location is quiet and the large bedroom and lounge were very comfortable.
We were welcomed with tea and biscuits in the lounge, refreshing after a drive to Yorkshire on a pleasantly warm day.
Our room had an enormous bed and a spacious ensuite, with fabulously soft bath towels and good quality toiletries.
Breakfast was substantial with a wide choice of food cooked to order.The home made jam for the toast proved to be delicious. Every effort was made to ensure a comfortable and happy stay. We intend to be back Maggie. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a view over the garden and fields and a view to the side from the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It gives us all a real boost to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we are on the right track as we do try our best to ensure guests are happy and comfortable. Hope to see you again if you come to Nidderdale Show again next year. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
317 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Mallard Grange is a four room B&B located just outside of Ripon down a lane just beyond Fountains Abbey. It is a lovely B&B and has all the necessary amenities. Because we wanted good Internet service, our room was on the upper floor which was reached by a very narrow and twisting staircase. In fairness, Maggie warned us about the staircase and offered to have her son take our heavy suitcases to the room. We titled this review "it is all about Maggie" because she is one of the most outgoing, friendly and enthusiastic B&B owners we have ever met. Since we have been in over 50 different B&Bs over the years we have traveled, I think that says a lot. Maggie could not do more for us. She recommended restaurants and pubs, where to park, what to see. She gave us vouchers to save money on different venues. Breakfast is served family style and you really got to know everyone that was staying at the B&B. In our case, there were two Canadian couples and some South Africans and we had a wonderful time getting to know one another over breakfast. At the end of breakfast, Maggie usually sat down and joined us for a chat. Our room was cleaned while we were having breakfast. It was a fun and leisurely part of each day we stayed. The B&B is a bit quirky but that gives it the personality that it has. If you want to have a real "experience", do not miss Mallard Grange. You will leave knowing the family. It was a very personalized adventure.

Room Tip: If you do not want to climb narrow stairs if you do not want to climb narrow and twisting stairs, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Well D - I really don't know what to say - thank you very much for your kind comments about different aspects of your stay here, although I must stress that it is very much a team effort here and Yorkshire does have a reputation for a warm welcome and genuine hospitality which we do our best to uphold. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B. You are quite right, it is quicky and individual - but with a house over 700 years old I suppose it has to be and anyway I rather like quicky and am delighted you did too. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently stayed at Mallard Grange for 3 nights. For the quality of the accommodation, the standard of the breakfasts, and the convenient location for Fountains Abbey, Ripon and many other attractions in the area I would give this 10 out of 10. But our landlady Maggie was so welcoming, friendly,knowledgeable, helpful and keen to ensure that her guests had an enjoyable stay, that I have to give it an 11. Thank you Maggie. We shall see you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoetPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are so pleased that you found our farmhouse B&B comfortable and conveniently located for your stay. We are in beautiful countryside near Fountains Abbey, but Ripon is less than 3 miles away and there is lots to do and see closeby. Delighted you want to come back and stay here again - the best accolade you could award us, thank you. Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Mallard Grange accommodates 4 couples. We were two of the couples over a 3 day period. We were looking to explore an area we didn’t know, having a particular interest in historic piles and all sorts of gardens. The B&B is just over the main road from Fountains Abbey and in easy reach of many other tourist spots. The landlady Maggie is very friendly and helpful. She gave us great advice on where to go, picked out and booked 3 great restaurants for us and also summoned a cab for us on the last evening. The rooms were large and well appointed, the grub first class and we will certainly return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
You certainly were a lively party of four and delightful house guests! Many thanks for such a positive review of your stay in our farmhouse B&B and we hope you have fond memories of your time in North Yorkshire to take away with you all. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival, we were given a warm welcome by Maggie. Our room was lovely, with a large, comfortable bed, 2 arm chairs, wooden beams, and plenty of space. The en suite was also spacious and our tea tray included wine glasses, a bottle opener, a jar of cookies and bottled water.

Breakfast was super, with local produce, home made preserves and all beautifully cooked. We ate around a large table which allowed us to enjoy chatting with interesting guests from around the world.

Maggie was a fount of knowledge and went out of her way to make sure all the guests had everything they needed to make the most of visiting the surrounding area.

This is a great place to explore Ripon, Harrogate, York or the Yorkshire Dales and we have no hesitation recommending it as a relaxing place to stay. We met Maggie as strangers, but felt we were leaving a friend after 2 nights at Mallard Grange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valLeicestershireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B and that you felt relaxed and comfortable here. Breakfast here is very often a time when guests meet and have a chat and we are pleased you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and chatting to other guests. Once again, many thanks for your very complimentary review and we hope you do come back and visit us again. Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It took all of three seconds to feel at home, cats totally ignored us, maggie made us feel as though we had been friends for years. Our room was very comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Breakfast must be approaching legendary status , not a chance of feeling hungry all day. The team at Mallard Grange are clearly enthusiastic about treating guests as friends. Maggie was concerned that enthusiastic recommendations could raise expectations to an artificial level- this is a working farm and guests are very much in 'the home on the farm' - we only stayed for one night but could not rate maggie and her team highly enough. This is a family home not a corporate chain. The communal breakfast room is a great place (even for introverts as I am) to enjoy the company of a wide range of fellow travellers. We are already looking for a reason to stay again.

Room Tip: Talk to Maggie about your room preferences, we wanted a quiet room and got exactly that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Firstly I am very pleased you really enjoyed your brief stay and secondly that you really got what Mallard Grange is all about and appreciated what we offer here - we value genuine hospitality and friendliness, clean, spacious, comfortable accommodation and a high quality breakfast featuring locally sourced food. Many thanks again and hopefully you will find an excuse to come back again! Every good wish Maggie and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldfield
2.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
6.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,530 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
366 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Grange

Property: Mallard Grange
Address: | Near Fountains Abbey, Aldfield, Ripon HG4 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Aldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mallard Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambling 16th-century listed farmhouse in glorious countryside close to Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal World Heritage Site. Welcoming, relaxed, spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Four en suite double/twin guest rooms, two on the ground floor. Walk, tour or cycle in the stunning scenery of the Dales/Moors and be revived; visit historic houses, beautiful gardens, stop for tea and indulge in a Yorkshire Fat Rascal at Betty's and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mallard Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing